We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of our holiday - amazing!!”
Review of El Templete

El Templete
Ranked #167 of 798 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Templete is a bayside restaurant. This restaurant is named ofter neighboring landmark built in 1928 that marks the spot where the settlement of San Cristóbal de la habana was founded in 1519. Originally opened sometimes between 1928 and 1931, it was the second restaurant in the city to have this name, and soon became the favorite of sailors, ahip captains and port pilots. Known since the 1950s as ¨The house of shellfish and international cuisine¨it was famous for its lobsters, shrimps, prawn, clams and delicious paellas, served while customers took in the splendid view of Havana.Today, El Templete revives its seafering tradition in the same atmosphere and continues serving delicious dishes prepared by its excellent Spanish Chef.Past and present come togetherto offer us first-class service and a wide variety of dishes to choose from.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday - amazing!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Visited El Templete for lunch with my husband on 28th August. It was on our list of places to go in Havana after seeing it in the Lonely Planet Cuba book (described as "the best seafood in Havana" - and they weren't wrong!). Ideally located close to Plaza de Armas and on the Malecon - you can enjoy a nice view of the waterfront while enjoying wonderful food. The restaurant itself was very nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly.
There was a covered terrace area to eat on outside but we chose to eat inside to get a brief respite from the Havana heat (glorious sunshine and VERY warm!). I liked the interior - a stylish restaurant but with a relaxed armosphere.

We had the calamari and the ham/shrimp croquettes as starters - both were delicious and the portion of calamari was huge! I did not expect that, especially for the price. We had the broth with lobster and shrimp for two as our main course and it was amazing - the best seafood I've eaten in a long time. It was by far the best meal of our holiday in Cuba!

Our meal cost 64 convertible pesos including drinks and service charge so approx £42. Yes, this was a dear meal by Cuban standards but I'd have expected to pay far more if it had been anywhere else! I thought it was very good value as the food was excellent and portions were very large. I only wish we had been in Havana longer so we could have gone back!

Can't recommend highly enough. Will definitely go again when we go back to Havana (and thats a must!).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HaloScotgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Templete, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Sir
The restaurant management appreciates your opinion about El Templete. It is a pleasure for us that you took the time to write a long positive assessment of our restaurant. We are pleased that you are satisfied with our services and to share your experiences with other website visitors. We hope that on your next visit to Cuba you try to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    230
    87
    45
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food in Havana.. Never thought that'll happen”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This place makes food in all other restaurants in Havana tase like cat food.. I would eat there even if it was in Paris or London. Slightly more expensive but well worth it. Try the Calamari and steak for two. Caesar salad was also good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank k z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Public Relations Manager at El Templete, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Customer:
Thank you for your positive comments and for sharing with Tripadvisor site visitors. We are pleased to have been satisfied with our services.
Hopefully a prompt return
Restaurant Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great grilled seafood”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

It is a nice stroll from Plaza de Armas and on the Malecon. We had a mixed grill of seafood. It was done in a simple way - natural flavor and perfectly cooked - the potatos and onions that come with it also tasted delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Public Relations Manager at El Templete, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Customer:
We want to thank you for posting on the site Tripadvisor about our restaurant. For us it is a pleasure to have satisfied visitors who share their views on the site with all visitors.
Thanks again
Restaurant PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Fantastic seafood and lemonade. Very stylish restaurant on the seafront. We all enjoyed our food. It's a top-endish restaurant and its reflected in the prices.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Public Relations Manager at El Templete, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Sir:
We are pleased that you have decided to publish your positive reviews on the site and decide to share it with other visitors. For us it is a pleasure to have satisfied customers. We hope to see you always in our lounge.
Regards,
Marisol Vento Gort
Públic Relations of the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good fish restaurant”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice meal in this restaurant. The staff were very nice, the food very good. The view over the water and proximity to the tourist centre and sights was also a positive. The road is reasonably busy along the water front. The portion size was far too big though. We wish we hadn't ordered starters and mains.

Helpful?
Thank Phikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comercialrestaurante, Public Relations Manager at El Templete, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Customer:
Our restaurant wants to thank your positive comments. It is a pleasure to have satisfied visitors who choose to share their views on the site. We are pleased that you felt well during your visit.
Regards,
Marisol Vento Gort
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Templete also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Templete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing