We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to see is under lots of renovations!”

Gran Teatro de La Habana Alicia Alonso
Ranked #8 of 233 things to do in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice to see is under lots of renovations!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

As I was staying at the Iberostar Parque Central, I was able to walk by every day, and could not help to make tons of pics, every time, that amazing this place is. The exterior architecture is truly impressive. By the time I was there, there were no guided tours, but paying $2 I was able to walk a bit around the place, and mostly saw that the place is really under a lot of work to bring it back to its best days....it will very nice to see how this is after all these efforts, as it is beautiful already as it is now
Performances here are for sure to be spectacular in technical terms, as the Cuban Ballet School is one of the best in the world, and Cubans are really proud of it, so check the calendar for performances during your visit

The construction work of the building we see today began around 1908 and was opened in 1915 with an opera season. It was not until 1985, and at the initiative of the prima ballerina Alicia Alonso, that the building was renamed and became the Great Theatre of Havana

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank malter2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    168
    30
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stunning building”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were lucky enough to see a ballet performance, which was just amazing. The theatre is stunning, and has been refurbished. I would have loved to see backstage, or seen the ballet company in rehearsal, but they do not offer that yet. There is a great atmosphere here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Horse91dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Entertainment at night in Havana”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Check ADAGIO the bar at the corner , they usually have a concert of some sort around 10.30 pm, it is great...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solos82
2 reviews
“Lovely Place!!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I haven't been there in a couple of years but I know the theater has been refurbished and keeps a regular showing schedule. Taking into consideration this place was open back in 1838, I say it looks very good and is well maintained. I remember when I use to take music and dance lessons there, best times of my life...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank solos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Apparently it is still open but I don't know how!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Beautiful building, under a lot of refurbishment, it looks derelict, but according to our guide it is still open for performances. There is a modern bar that is open from 2pm in the bottom right corner, is supposed to have good music, but there was never anyone in there the 4 days I was in Havana. They do have a shedual outside so it maybe worth checkin out who is playing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gran Teatro de La Habana Alicia Alonso also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Gran Teatro de La Habana Alicia Alonso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing