We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Rum Rum de la Habana

El Rum Rum de la Habana
Ranked #21 of 765 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

If you're after a fantastic meal in Habana Vieja, look no further than El Rum Rum. I came here for lunch and selected a few dishes from the tapas menu. The food was absolutely delicious, everything had such great flavour and the service was top-notch. Even for international standards you could not fault the service. I ordered garlic prawns (shrimps), octopus, slow-cooked lamb shoulder and a fish dish- complemented by a great mojito with dark rum. Yum!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peterej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Propietario at El Rum Rum de la Habana, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado nos complace saber que su extancia en nuestro restaurant haya sido de su mayor agrado, trabajamos pensando en el cliente, esperamos poder recibirlo nuevamente, un saludo del equipo del Rum Rum de La Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    133
    35
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent place next to the Cathedral”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Next to the Cathedral, right in the same street as "La Bodeguita del Medio", I think El Rum Rum is a much better place to have lunch. Service was excellent, very attentive with us all the time. We ordered the Day Menu, which consisted in a welcome cocktail (Mojito), a soup, a main dish (pork with fried banana) and a dessert. I'm not very keen in tropical desserts but this was quite tasty, it was made with guava and cheese. And all of this food for only 15 CUC per person, which is a really good quality-price relation.

I would totally recommend this place to have lunch if you are visiting Havana Vieja.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank noemiantioquia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little find, great service, great cocktails, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We headed to El Rum Rum on our trip to Havana recently and we loved it. I'd highly recommend you stop by, even if it's just for a small bite to eat and a daiquiri. Easily the best daiquiri in the whole of Havana (including the tasteless, overpriced offerings in El Floridita). We enjoyed it so much, we went back the next night. The staff are attentive without being intrusive, they're good fun if you want to chat and leave you alone if you don't. The food was just delicious, I had the sea food noodles and himself had the chicken and rice. The next night I know I enjoyed the food but can't remember what I had - too much rum I'm afraid- we didn't have deserts but the starters were also delicious, both nights we had the croquettes. The taxis will rip you off here, they seem to think that if you can afford there they will charge you double - but we're still only talking £5- £10 to go about 5 miles so not too bad. There are plenty of locals here that you feel you're taking part in the Havana experience and whilst I've eaten Michelin food in my time, I'd still rate the seafood noodle dish as one of the nicest I've ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Drelliepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos A, Propietario at El Rum Rum de la Habana, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Google Translation
Con un comentario como el suyo de seguro tendremos muchos clientes, muchas gracias por tan elogiadas palabras, trabajamos y nos esforzamos para que clientes como usted se sientan lo mejor posible en nuestro restaurant, esperamos vorverlo a ver una ves mas muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The place has excellent location. For that I expected some real life, good atmosphere, but it was quite deserted both times I was there.
Food seems good, but we did not eat there just tried the local special cocktail that was way too strong.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sng998877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We found this place and knew it was in the top 10 on tripadvisor and I can see why! We stopped here for lunch and had a fab meal. The place is clean and the service was great. My daughter has the meat paella, I had the skewers and my husband had veal. The meals were delicious and the drinks lovely and cold. I would liked to have come here at night but there are so many other places we wanted to see as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ataylor-smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rum Rum de la Habana also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Rum Rum de la Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing