We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the price the hotel exceeds my expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palacio O'Farrill
Ranked #51 of 79 Hotels in Havana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For the price the hotel exceeds my expectation”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I read other reviews about this hotel before making my reservation. I wanted to avoid rooms without a window. I told my agent to book a room above ground floor (I thought windowless rooms are all on ground floor) but it turned out second floor has windowless rooms too. Our group got one room without window and another with windows looking into court yard. The staff said the hotel was fully booked and they couldn't move me to another room for the night but they would the following day when someone checked out, which they did. The staff are friendly. The security and door men all tried to sell you cigars, but they don't hassle and respect your choice of not dealing with them.

The hardware of the hotel is modest. My bed has a broken mattress on one end. The shower in our room has annoying flow with uneven spray. But that's more or less expected as some other reviewers noted.

Nonetheless I found the hotel is appealing. The building is an old grand solid architecture full of aesthetic details. Just sitting in the court yard is a pleasure. The location is awesome. 10 minutes walk to Capitalio and 10 mins walk to San Francisco SQ. It feels very safe in the neighbourhood.

One thing I feel the hotel is badly missing is a nice lounge. The lounge is dark and hidden and the seats do not seem to be comfortable.

Room Tip: You can always ask the staff to change rooms, not necessarily the front desk. Door men or concierge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    163
    142
    64
    49
See reviews for
60
257
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel with its 100-year old building personifies Old Havana. All hotels in Cuba are owned by the State, so keep your expectations in check. The entrance from the street opens onto a three story atrium surrounded by the rooms. The elevator works, but the door closing sensor does not, so step lively lest you get yourself or your baggage jammed in the door. The floor annunciator indicates 10, but there are only 3 floors in the hotel. There is running water almost all the time, and sometimes, it is even hot. There is a very adequate hot breakfast included with the room. Staff are friendly and competent and most have basic English. The attractions of Old Havana are walking distance, and pedicabs and taxicabs are plentiful for longer trips.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the 07, 08, 09, and 10 tiers, as there is an early rising rooster who lives so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bare_Chested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in late March 2014 as one of 38 rugby club tourists. About 20 were players, usual rugby songs and noise were tolerated with great grace and humour by welcoming and predominantly English speaking staff. The suites are vast but lack toilet facilities expected Internationally but this is Cuba. Lovely central atrium similar to a Moroccan riad and separate air conditioned bar. No pool but good location within old Havana. I would stay there again when next visiting Cuba

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank percy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My father and I stayed here while visiting Havana - and were upgraded. We both had suites! Very spacious and airy and the staff were wonderful. An easy walk to everything which keeps things quiet in the evening. A great experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HJCPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a beautiful and historic building which has been renovated very elegantly. Rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, very clean and adequate bathrooms - a little dark but immediately outside the rooms are lovely comfortable seating areas full of natural light (see pic). Breakfast is adequate, similar standard to other hotels I have stayed in in Cuba (some of the other reviewers I think are not raking into account the difficulties in relation to fresh food supply in Cuba). Staff are extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Location is superb, on the edge of old Havana, so full of life and close to everything but relatively quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrlandesaenMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dymchurch
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was booked out here for my first night in Cuba. I arrived, they were expecting me and the room was clean and comfortable. OK, it was on the first floor and the rooms on this floor don't have windows with nice views, but then that's the way these old mansions were built. They were designed to keep out the heat which is why they open onto a central courtyard or atrium.
I only stayed the one night and was off early the following morning. The bar serves a decent Mojito(at a good price) and nice toasted sarnies. Breakfast is basic and the waiters are backward in coming forward with offers of what's available.
The location is pretty good and it's quiet by Havana standards. Just don't expect the Ritz.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view, ask for a room on an upper floor and be prepared to pay a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solomonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The building is gorgeous and to have breakfast at the courtyard is lovely.
That’s about it.
- The reception smells foul.
- First room we were given didn’t have a single window, at a 4 star hotel!!! turns out ALL rooms on that floor are windowless, and they don’t even think to warn you in advance before booking! They didn’t have anything else for that day but they said they would move us to a room with window the day after.
- We asked for a recommendation for a place to eat and the doorman took us to El Paladar Las Brujas, oh-my-god. The waitresses are dressed as witches (brujas) and it was BY FAR the most expensive meal we’ve had in cuba (40 USD for 2 mains and 2 sodas). So: never ever trust the staff at this hotel.
- The day after we arrived at 5 (check in is at 4) to access our room with a window. Were given the keys to our room only to find all the dirty linen and towels from previous guests still lying around. They sent someone to clean the room and leave clean towels, please see attached pic of the “clean” towel.
- In the first room the hair drier didn’t work, in the second room the main light didn’t work.
- Toilets in the patio area don’t have seats (see pic attached)
- Internet doesn’t allow you to access fb, yahoo, Hotmail or gmail…way to go!
A COMPLETE DISASTER!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spottycloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#21 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#34 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Comendador
Hotel El Comendador
#40 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#42 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio O'Farrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio O'Farrill

Property: Hotel Palacio O'Farrill
Address: Calle Cuba 102 - 108 entre Chacon y Tejadillo, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio O'Farrill 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Palacio O'Farrill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio o`Farrill Hotel Havana
Palacio o Farrill Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing