We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palacio O'Farrill
Nearby Hotels
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$179
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Habana(Havana)
$252
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$241
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$280
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$87
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$443
$278
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
53
168
146
69
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
168
146
69
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel is locatedstayed in this hotel for nightsbeautiful architectureinternet cardrestaurants and barswi ficasa particularmaleconpesofoyer
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 493 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel was as expected, 18th century colonial residence in the middle of Old Havana, I loved it but my wife hated it. It did not help that there was not a window in our room, food was very average even for Cuba and no hot water for 3 days. I would go back but that wont happen.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is charming and a little different from others in Havana old town - it used to be the home the O'Farrills, a merchant family that emigrated to Cuba in the 18th century. The first thing that strikes you when you walk in is the internal courtyard - it feels like it's outside because the glass roof of the hotel is some 3 or 4 storeys above it. This part of the hotel is its main selling point and is really beautiful.

The rooms are quite big and the beds are comfortable, perfect for getting your head down after long days and nights out in Havana! The bathroom is a little dated but everything is spotlessly clean.

As for the food, well this is still a Communist country and they just don't have the same choice of food that you can expect in the West. It consisted of staples such as pineapple, rice, chicken and pork, and whilst it wasn't exactly inspiring it did us just fine. And they give you plenty of what they have. It's more than a little humbling to get a full plate whilst down the street the locals are queuing with their ration books.

The hotel is really well located, slap bang in the middle of the old town. It's handy for Obispo and the Malecon, and we always felt safe, even as darkness fell in the streets outside. The guys on the door are really helpful and will give you directions for anywhere you want to go. Actually, all the staff are brilliant!!

All in all, if you're considering a Havana hotel and are willing to compromise a little on food choices, then you should look at the comfortable, well-located O'Farrill. If you're a bit more fussy and want more 'Westernised' food then you should probably consider more expensive options.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mcampbell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We spent one night a the Palacio O'Farrill having been shipped there from the Hotel Telegrafo (which had no water). Both are 'four star' hotels of the same Cuban hotel group. It was our first night in Havana.

The door staff were very welcoming as were many of the other staff. The receptionist on the other hand made it clear she was very unhappy to be accepting any guests from the Telegrafo and was looking forward to us leaving the next day. Given it was getting late and we didn't have a good idea where we were and what was around us, we exchanged some money at reception. Ignoring the hotel's official posted rate, the receptionist would only exchange at 0.8CUC/Canadian dollar (rather than the 0.96 or so advertised) and would not provide a receipt. Hopefully the money the receptionist pocketed made helped her feel better about the Telegrafo inconveniencing her.

We ended up eating dinner in the hotel and the food was good, as were the staff and the entertainment. We found breakfast equally good too. The choices were limited, but we were happy with what was on offer.

The building itself is spectacular. But from some of the other reviews it sounds like the we got the room they reserve for people they don't like - no windows, low ceilings and an overpowering smell of damp and stale cigar smoke. I don't think either of us slept that night and were glad to be going back to the Telegrafo the next day. Despite its shortcomings, we found the Telegrafo to be many times better than than the Palacio O'Farrill. The location of the hotel was not the best either.

The staff member on reception the next morning was much better. And the doorman told us about the history of the building while we waited for the taxi the Telegrafo sent to bring us back to the hotel.

I rated this hotel one star because the room we had was simply awful and the attitude/behaviour of the receptionist. The Palacio O'Farrill is the worst stay hotel i have ever stayed at and I recommend everyone avoid it.

Room Tip: Staff did say that the rooms on level 2 were better than the others.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank treju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Palacio O'Farrill, the building is beautiful but very tired. Our room was spacious, had a window but overlooking the main street so was VERY noisy. The bathroom was shabby, hot tap on sink didn’t work, toilet seat was disgusting, tiling damaged and bath chipped. All this was tolerable but the staff attitude was not. We too were hounded to buy cigars. Maid almost left a begging letter for a tip. Receptionists someone has correctly described them as ignorante I would say they were rude and very unfriendly too. Breakfast was very poor and staff didn’t want to serve you anyway. The staff all hang around in the big castle like doorway chating with each other and their friends that walk past. Very unprofessional. We had stayed in a beach restort for seven days previous and the staff there were excellent so presumably this isn’t a Cuban thing just an O’Farrill attitude.

Position wasn’t bad but I other hotels were better. I would not recommend hotels near the Parque Central though as you would be plagued to take a taxis, horse carriage or Bicitaxi. The most useful road for tourists is Obispo, find a hotel near here. Shops with windows!! Bars restaurants, little market and money exchange. O’Farrill ripped us off on exchange too, use bank to avoid this happening to you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindtiMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Ok....I don't know what people want on their vacation in Cuba, but I appreciated the hotel's location (which was great), staff (absolutely wonderful), and charm. This hotel is located in a great location to run on the Malecon or take a walk to Obispo Street. It's safe and it is in the community so you can see how real people live, appreciate the street music and excitement, as well as eat at some authentic places. The staff was GREAT!! They gave great recommendation, really looked out for our group, and were the most personable people you would want to meet. The hotel has a free breakfast in the morning that was modest, but adequate. My room was GREAT as well. I had a balcony, large windows and marbled bathroom (1st floor facing the street). When I asked for an iron, the housecleaning woman came to collect my clothes to iron them for me!! During our trip we ended up moving to another hotel in a more ritzy section of Havana with a huge pool and outdoor fountain- and we missed Palacio O'Farrill!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street, or be specific about wanting a window.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superA777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews