We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a "Palace"!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Palacio O'Farrill
Ranked #51 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Somerset
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a "Palace"!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Virgin who we travelled with rate this as one of their top 5 Cuba hotels and so our expectations were high.

We spent 2 nights here, the first was in a small room with no window and an air conditioning unit that sounded like some one was digging up a road in the corner of the room and so could not be left on.

The hotel is built around a central square where the restaurant and bar are, the staff began noisely setting up for breakfast around 6 and so we were woken then. The bathroom was grubby and had a dodgy switch hanging from the back of the mirror.

The next day we asked to be moved to a room with a window and were given a suite (not until about 3.30) which was huge and far more comfortable, though the bathroom was still very tired looking - however this room looked out on to the road and so was unbelievably noisy, so all in all the hotel gave us a complete no-sleeping experience.

Breakfast was included, this was basic and not great. The hotel felt more suitable for a backpacking stop, fine in itself but it was sold to us as a "magnificent hotel" which it sadly is not.

The best thing about the hotel is the location in the old part of Havana close to some great areas to stroll around with some fabulous restaurants and bars very nearby. Havana itself is wonderful and we would love to go back, but NOT to this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere! If you do choose to stay ask for a room with a window, but at the back off the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsP-Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    163
    142
    64
    49
See reviews for
60
257
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Spent 3 nights in November 2011 in Havana's Palacio O'Farril.
Lovely courtyard hosting a restuarant, adorned by greenery and some art for sale, big, modern oil paintings.
Wonderful, friendly, smiling staff, resorceful and willing to help.
Unfortunately our room was less then acceptable. Room 102, big suite with the adjoing lounge room, good size clean bathroom and internal hallway. The problem was awful mould and wetness seeping down the wall in the corner of the bedroom. At night the bed sheets felt moist and after unpacking our clothes in another place , the clothing smelt mouldy.
We tried to keep the windows opened during the day, which is ok as all windows have crates, but in the evening and at night this is not poosible as the noise from the street and the clinking of dishes, music and diners in the reastaurant in the courtyard is quite loud and constant.
So we were at the mercy of old and hard working air conditioning unit, mincing the moudy air around.
The other part of our stay in Havana was in Hotel Parque Central, which was a tiny fraction more expensive, but no comparison in quality, which that tiny fraction bought.
Maybe we wre unlucky with our room, but if you get room 102 in Palacio O'Farrill do not take it.
Everything else about this hotel is delightful, the feel of the old, colonial past, good a la card breakfast, helpful staff, the location, but the room made our experience disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAgnieszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Room was very simple but clean and spacy. Beautifull high ceiling.

The palacio has a marvellous internal patio were you can enjoy a good breakfast. The rooms are plased on the galleries you see from the patio.

Good service and nice restaurant.

Good choice in a city were clean rooms, good service and acceptable food are rare

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilcoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

got to O'Farril sent by Hotel Telgrafo where third floow is completely broken. I am given a room with no windows (there are several) and a very noisy air condition system that could not be turned off. I ask at 2,3 am to be changed to another room (which it happens) but there the temperature is so low i had to sleep wiith my fleece on. IN the morning and after an almost a sleepless night i am also asked to pay for some water i took from the minibar in the first room. Room was simply broken so if you want to sleep literally in a refigerator go to O'Farril where they charge you for broken rooms. Avoid absolutely. very nice in the apparence but once in the room you loose sensation of time and feel claustrofobic.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afrikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Honest breakfast, igienic, huuuge double room with extra single bed, balcony on loud street but with lovely neighbours (Maria). They will help you with finding a casa particular nearby. Decent hotel equipped with power generator, so in case of blackout - quite common - just come back home :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micheloneamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The building, a former sugar merchant's house, is stunning; the location in Vieja is excellent; our room was largely fine (although the enamel on the bath was cracked in several places and there were uncomfortable plastic mattress protectors on the bed underneath otherwise decent sheets). Most visitors seem to be put on the third floor, which is pleasant enough, though the grand living quarters are on the second floor. Our view was over the top of neighbouring houses, which is to be expected in this central location.
Staff. We came across one lovely, very helpful receptionist. The other one, Mariela, is aggressive and rude, and, frankly, seemed to us to be more keen on pocketing a few extra CUCs than providing a service. It was not just with us: we witnessed similar behaviour to an Austrian man who was trying to book an extra night. She basically told him he didn't have time to book online, so pack up and get out of your room now.
When disgusted by her behaviour, we asked to speak to a manager, she shoved a leaflet and a business card in front of us, told us she didn't understand my Spanish, and said write your comments on the website.
That said, when I tracked down the hotel manager who was in the building, she was charming, very helpful and, I hope, will soon deal with this problematic member of staff.
Breakfast. Why oh why do these hotels insist on serving 'American coffee' which is more like dishwater than coffee and decline you an expresso on the menu when they cost a mere 1 national peso just round the corner (there are 24/25 national pesos to a single CUC)?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mersault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

After a very delayed flight from Cancun we ended up arriving at the Palacio O'Farrill at about 2am. Having to wake up the security man and reception staff we were placed in a room that was obviously not prepared nor been cleaned for months, but was conveniently located to the entrance so other patrons weren't disturbed by our arrival. To say the room smelt damp is an understatement, there was a hole in the roof and the bed was wet. Feeling bad enough as it was for waking them on our arrival we had to call staff to move us again to a room. An aggrevated security man moved our belongings to another room which was gorgeous. Funnily enough this room looked well prepared for guests. The air con was on, mini bar unlocked and fresh towels and sheets on the bed. It very much seemed as if this was meant to be our room in the first place. It was a very comfortable stay after a rocky start. One important note however, ensure you double check what has been recorded as consumed from the minibar. On check out we were remembered as the couple that had to be moved, (Still no apology for the intial room and it's condtion) and were surprised to see that all the alcoholic beverages in the fridge were recorded as being taken when we only had water the entire stay! Overall the hotel has beautiful spanish charm, is in a top location and is comfortable. Would we stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vella04062011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#21 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#34 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Comendador
Hotel El Comendador
#40 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#42 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio O'Farrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio O'Farrill

Property: Hotel Palacio O'Farrill
Address: Calle Cuba 102 - 108 entre Chacon y Tejadillo, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio O'Farrill 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Palacio O'Farrill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio o`Farrill Hotel Havana
Palacio o Farrill Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing