We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saratoga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Saratoga
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Now this is a nice hotel. It has a lot of history, although in its present incarnation I believe it dates only from 2005. My room was five-star in every respect. The bathroom was large and done out in green tiles, and there was a vast array of larger than usual bottles of liquids of various hues. Face washers, and loofahs, which I'd not seen before. The air conditioner was very efficient, perhaps too efficient as after turning the temperature up to 21 or 22 it remained around 18. So partway through each night I would turn it off.

The mezzanine bar and restaurants were straight out of an Agatha Christie classic, and I wouldn't have been at all surprised to bump into Hercule Poirot or Miss Marple. The food was very nice, except the tiramisu at dinner was rather ordinary and a bit dry. There was a pianist playing a grand piano on the mezzanine, and another in the ground floor restaurant.

There's a nice rooftop pool where drinks and food can be ordered, with panoramic views over the city, including the huge Capitol building directly opposite.

It's conveniently located, although many of the streets in the area are very dark and threatening at night.

We stayed here four nights all up, and I was disappointed to discover that one day while we were out, my suitcase had been forced open and the contents rummaged through. Nothing was taken (there was nothing valuable in it), but the experience left rather an unpleasant taste. Management seemed to take the matter seriously and promised an investigation, but I received no apology.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrahamWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    536
    194
    68
    32
See reviews for
166
694
51
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Recently stayed at the Hotel Saratoga in Havana. Perfect location, lovely old feel to the building but still modern with free wi-fi an unexpected bonus. Room excellent and staff generally couldnt do enough for you, the only exception being the lady we saw at check in who seemed distracted by something other than checking us in. Would stay again if I was in Havana

Room Tip: try and avoid a room facing the front if you like a lie in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here seven nights, as part of a group tour. It is a very nice hotel, with a few flaws.
First, the location couldn't be better, next to the Capitol and within walking distance to all of old Havana. You can walk the streets anytime without fear and everyone is friendly. Second, the staff is friendly and incredibly helpful, especially the concierge who recommended restaurants and made reservations, checked with tourist sites to see if they were open (some close randomly we discovered), purchased symphony/Flaminco concert tickets for us. The doorman also arranged a taxi to take out us out and back to Jose Fuster's studio, an afternoon trip.
The flaws: We were first assigned a very bleak, dank room, with very small windows and a musty smell. We realized we couldn't even spend one night in the room and protested. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with high ceilings and balconies, so the hotel does have nice rooms and if you don't like what you are given, you should ask for other options.
The bathroom was huge and well stocked with goodies. But the shower was a trickle at best and changed temperature constantly. And you couldn't take a bath because there was only a trickle of cold water in the tub faucet; just hot water which stayed very hot for a long time, despite the cold sides of the porcelain tub.
Food service, when ordering on the beautiful roof patio or mezzanine bar, is very very very slow. You can't expect to grab a "quick" bite at noon, say, and head out again for another adventure. You have to plan at least 90 minutes since it takes a long time for food to arrive.
The breakfast--a nice large selection the first few days from eggs to pastries to antipasto. But it was the same day after day, which got tiresome after staying there 7 nights, although you could always find plenty to eat.
That said, I'd stay there again, especially for the location and terrific staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vatravelingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed in the Saratoga Hotel for 3 nights during our recent trip to Cuba. The hotel is one of the best in Havana, fantastic location with lovely appointed rooms with ensuite bathrooms with power showers. The best thing about the Saratoga is the rooftop pool and terrace with its spectacular views over the Capitol building. The main drawback is the reception staff, who don't really seem to care!

Room Tip: We had a patio room, which had no natural light or view but at least was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent 3 nights here on our visit to Cuba. The hotel is right in the middle of old Havana. It you want to see the sights in this City, DO NOT stay in new havana. You are miles away from the original city and all it has to offer.The hotel had all the amenities you'd need, and free wifi, which is a bonus. Cuba has very rudimentary internet so make the most of it here!

Good breakfasts, and comfy beds

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philbarford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights as part of a twin centre package. The Saratoga proved to be a great base and perfectly positioned for exploring Old Havana. Our room could not be faulted for comfort and cleanliness. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Retreating to the roof top pool area after a day of exploring was a great way to relax although on our 2nd day we were disappointed to find it was booked for a private party from 3pm onwards (no warning of this was given when we checked in the day before). The restaurant and bars were expensive but this proved not to be a problem as there are plenty of great places to eat and drink in close proximity.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is definitely 5 star with historic rooms and if you ask for a room on the 3rdth floor and above, you'll have a great view of Fraternity Square (traffic is noisy in the morning, but it didn't matter!) The hotel is very clean and the housekeeping staff are friendly. The large rooms have that "back in time" feeling with large windows and beautiful furniture with lots of character. The front desk staff was available to exchange $$ at any time. Yes, they were a little indifferent, but go with the flow and enjoy this wonderful country. The food is good both in the restaurant and the mezzanine bar (with piano music every night), but I recommend you ask the doorman for walkable, reasonably-priced paladars where you can eat and support local Cubans! The hotel is only 3 blocks away from the Floridita Bar - the place where Hemingway frequented - a must visit to see the place, get your picture taken with his statue and listen to the music! You're also 2 blocks away from where owners of vintage cars will allow you to have your picture taken in their car for 1 CUC! Back to the hotel --- the rooftop bar will give you a great view of the city at night. One note - Cuban coffee is very strong, so ask for Cafe Americana. Even at that you may want to add hot water. There is no decaf in Cuba (except at the Nacional Hotel).

Room Tip: If you don't mind traffic noise in the morning, ask for a room overlooking Fraternity Plaza. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hilthd2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
1300.8 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1317.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
70.9 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratoga

Property: Hotel Saratoga
Address: Prado 603 esquina Dragones | Old Havana, Havana 10200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#7 Family Hotel in Havana
#9 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Saratoga 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saratoga best pool roof top view in Havana, 5 star Luxury, 96 rooms and WIFI free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saratoga Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing