We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget your flipflops for the shower”
Review of Hotel Vedado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vedado
Ranked #68 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Vermont
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Don't forget your flipflops for the shower”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Debated between two stars and one star. Tough call but since I really did have fun there, I gave it a two. As other reviews say, nearly everything doesn't work and you definitely don't want to walk barefoot anywhere. The front desk is grump city. Every day no matter who was working. When they couldn't change Canadian money (don't bring American as it has a 10% discount everywhere) which was most of the time, they just turned around and ignored the request. The rest of the staff was largely nonexistent as the maintenance demonstrates. Do check your toilet, shower, and air conditioner before accepting a room. Many don't work at all. I read bad reviews of the breakfasts, but they custom cook omelets and have lots of fruit so it worked fine for me. Which is more than I can say for the elevators and the air conditioners,

What saved the place from a one star rating was the bar staff. Everyone was super nice. All spoke good English if that matters to you. Good bands at the bar every night (as elsewhere throughout Havana) and we just couldn't avoid having fun. Also, very near the Nacional and the waterfront. So hey, I've been in far worse. I wouldn't pick this one though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vermontman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    94
    236
    143
    189
See reviews for
94
235
75
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Great Britain
Level Contributor
576 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having stayed previously in the Vedado some years ago on several occasions, the hotel was clean and basic,,, which was OK as I was paying only £20 per night B&B. But now it costs a lot more... but facilities and standards have not risen to justify the higher costs. For similar or less money you could now stay in a nearby private "casa particular" for a far better standard of accommodation.

The hotel has an excellent location, within easy walking distance of the Vedado neighbourhood, the Malecon, and not too far from Old Havana.

For a similar price, the nearby St John's hotel, run by the same company, offers a better bet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamRead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Here is what I saw:

Grumpy front desk,
Rude bellboy,
No maintenance in years,
No working phone to make local calls,
Windows in the room have holes so the hot outside air would creep in,
Terrible tasteless restaurant food,
Toilets dust work,
Bathrooms are dirty,
Elevator slow and half of them didn't work.

That day we went there the taxi diver that dropped us there asked the group why we were staying in what he considered the worst hotel in Havana. I though he was overreacting but no, I was so disgusted I got a phone book and moved to a much better hotel not far from it. When I checked out the front desk girl was not surprised nor concerned when I told her that I was leaving this shameful hotel. In fact she didn't really cared. And that's the problem with this hotel, nobody cares about it.

Out of the 9 people group of visitors from US, Bolivia, Colombia, panama, UK and Caiman island, non were please with the place and they were all dissatisfied.

Avoid at all costs!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Panamanian_viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

Bergen, Norge
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Every hotel in Cuba has a travelling agency owned by the government. We ordered this hotel when we stayed in Varadero. We where told that this was an average hotel, but the prices where double up this first weekend in august because of a carneval in Havana. We paid 146 CUC for one night.

When we arrived at the hotel, nobody had heard about the carneval. The room was in a really poor shape. The TV wasn't working, the aircondition was very noisy, it was old, small and dirty. We didn't want to sleep there, so we tried to get our money back - without any luck.

Just for fun we went to the nice hotel Habana Libre which is a landmark in the area, and the price was lower than we had paid. A bad feeling. We also checked other hotels on the Internet, but the prices was not doubled because of a carneval.... What a joy!

Well, back to Hotel Vedado: It gives a good impression in the lobby, but the rooms are crap. For that price you can get the best luxus hotels in town. There is a swimming pool here, but it's very small and crowded. The bar has food and drinks and the people are nice. That is why the hotel get's two stars not only one. Anyhow, the rooms are so ugly that you can't get the thought out of your head: "You've been tricked!".

By the way; after we had asked about 10-15 persons (including the police) about the carnival which had doubled the hotel price, finally someone had heard about it, but then it was over (at 1 o'clock in the morning).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aloba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

recently stayed 8 days at vedado. (by the way, the picture of the hotel on their web site is Not the vedado.) overall, would rate the service good and facilites average or below by US standards.
hot water, air cond worked. water pressure low. maid service excellent. had problems with tv and asked desk to replace cable, which never happened. plenty of road noise outside our room.
pool nice. plenty of nice restaurants close by. hotel restaurant breakfast nondescript (no spoons)
at $60 per night, a decent value.

Room Tip: nothing on front of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dljr60
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Havana is emerging. The Vedado is a simple hotel. Terrazo floors, beds have a few springs sticking out, bathroom ok. Never hot water, kind of warm. Good A/C in the room with satelite TV from the USA. Including ESPN :) Breakfast is ok. We always use vouchers from USA so we have never had check in issues. Just realize you are in a different part of the world. Check in can be slow. Price is lower than other hotels in this class. The bonus is that there are restaurants nearby. The sea is also just a few blocks away. This is a place where you sleep. Not a hotel where you want to enjoy the room. They have been renovating the upper floors. I had a renovated room on my last trip and it was a significant improvement. There are other hotels in Havana that I prefer but the Vedado is ok. If you leave a tip for house keeping they will take good care of your room. and they will use your towels to make a heart on the bed to show their appreciation.

Room Tip: try to good a renovated room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dljr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I spent two nights here as part of a conference. Hotel was booked by organizers. The best you can say is that it is cheap. We arrived at 11:30 at night and the rooms were not ready. Finally got a room at 1 am (we had to be up at 5 am next morning). We got the worst room int he hotel. Hot, noisy and dirty (it was in the old wing). No hot water. When I ran the water in the sink, a leak in the pipes flooded the floor. The bathroom was dirty and the fittings rusty. No soap or shampoo, no toilet paper. For the second night we were moved to a room in the newer part. A bit cleaner and the AC worked, but still no hot water. The breakfast is included but it is not very good either. Colleagues who arrived with us moved tot he St. John's hotel, for the second night which they said was marginally better. By the way, the staff are also rude.

Room Tip: Under no circumstances take a room in the older part (elevator near the pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdmontonDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#44 of 79 in Havana
229 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#42 of 79 in Havana
229 reviews
3.8 mi away
Be Live Havana City Copacabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Tropicoco Hotel
Tropicoco Hotel
#59 of 79 in Havana
620 reviews
4.3 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 79 in Havana
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vedado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vedado

Property: Hotel Vedado
Address: Calle O e/ 23 y 25 | Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vedado 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complex is located in the Vedado area, 25 km from Jose Marti International Airport. Only 200 meters from Havana seafront and close to La Rampa, a major artery of the city that agglomerated different ministries, banks, galleries, shops, craft fairs, Night Centres, Restaurants, Airlines Offices, etc. It has 291 rooms. It has two restaurants to the open letter from 12 am to 12 pm, and two restaurants open buffet (breakfast and dinner) from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm. It also has a cafeteria open 24 hours and two lobby bar also 24 hours. It has two pools with snack bar, open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 pm, a gym with sauna and massage service (11:00 a.m. to 8:00 pm), Medical Services and Business Center serviced and WIFI INTERNET. Also has a Tourism bureau for selling excursions, and two souvenir shops. Do not have service for the disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Vedado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedado Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing