We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The building is the star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Raquel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Raquel
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Havana
holland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The building is the star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at either end of our Cuba tour. (Have to note that at the time the streets were being excavated as part of on-going renovations, making access difficlut). Otherwise it is in a very good location for Vieja Havana, everything in easy walking distance - two blocks to car rental and to Plaza Vieja. The art deco interiors are amazing. Bar staff very attentive. Roof garden pleasant and cooling (but not its view over decaying rooftops) Rooms OK as long as you don't get an interior facing one. 3rd floor rooms were good. Breakfast buffet mediocre

Room Tip: On first floor the high numbers like #109 have no window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sciat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    312
    143
    60
    29
See reviews for
89
384
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

As per many of the other reviews on this hotel - the actual building is stunning, Hanoi at the bar is fantastic, the staff in general were OK & that is where it ends. Our timing was obviously not great with all the streets being ripped up - but this didn't change things at the hotel. Our room was grimy - sheets on the beds had seen better days & unless you showered very early there was no hot water. The breakfast is dreadful - have never seen anything like it before - not sure if the items on offer were leftovers from dinner!! On our 2nd morning we had an early tour pickup so were downstairs at 7am when the breakfast service is due to start & ready to have a quick breakfast & leave - at 7.15 we went back upstairs to get our bags ready to leave & when we came back down they still weren't ready - no bread, not much available to eat - not that it looks appealing anyway!! After complaining about this we were then told we had a free dinner at the hotel - after eating the breakfast we did not even consider trying dinner! We were also never told about the roof top terrace which we would have liked to have known about. The location is great - right in the heart of the old town, but I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Londra, Regno Unito
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights from the 29th of June. The hotel has a perfect location in the centre of Old Havana, the staff is efficient and friendly , for breakfast you find a good selection of international and local foods..and the building is breathtaking. I can't imagine a better base to visit Havana.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fedartuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were booked for 3 nights at this hotel but stayed only for 1 as the A/C did not work and it was very hot! It was a bad timing for us both for the A/C but also for all the street work around the entire hotel. The streets were completely ripped off, and construction was super loud. This said, the hotel itself is very beautiful, an authentic colonial Cuban hotel. It was also very clean and the staff was super nice. The breakfast was ok.

For all of the hotels in Old Havana, it is best to book before your arrival with an agency. This will make you save at least 40 CUC per night. I reserved the hotel via Cuba Travel Network, and they are amazingly efficient and helpful. When we add to change hotel because of the A/C problem, we simply walked in their office in Old Havana and it took them no more than 10 minutes to switch us to a different hotel at no extra cost. This kind of service and efficiency is rare in Cuba.

Also, while Old Havana is so interesting, it is true that all of the roadwork can be quite a challenge for walking on the streets. You have to be careful not to fall in holes, etc. We were lucky it did not rain when we were there, but I cannot imagine the disaster it must be when it does!!

Room Tip: When making the reservation, I always asked for a non-smoking room with windows and that is what we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmmoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a great hotel, nice rooms, very friendly and helpful staff (look for Helen, who's the dining room supervisor, she has great suggestions on where to go for live music and dancing). The architecture is spectacular. I found it a bit expensive, even with the 3+ night deal, it came to almost $90 USD a night, breakfast included, but the breakfast was so terrible I either ate toast and jam or just skipped it and went out.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony which is awesome you may get some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

After a great Virgin Atlantic flight we touched down in an overcast but hot Havana. Having waited forever at the baggage carousel I decided I hated Havana already! Once re-bagged we quickly met the lady from Captivating Cuba who showed us to our taxi. We were on our way. Within 1/2 hour we were at out hotel feeling exceedingly grubby, crumpled and tired. The road in Vieja Habana was undergoing some utilities improvement work (ie covered in holes, pipes and wires) so the driver gamely dragged our 2 heavy cases to a grey, anonymous building, up some steep steps and in to: Art Deco paradise. See to believe. We had an amazing tall ceiling (and tall doored) room. Room 201, and like all guest rooms was named after a person in the old testament, except I can't remember. (Note to self take a notebook on next hols). We had a small balcony overlooking the street and the apartments across the road. Nice to watch the daily/nightly parade of everyday life go by. The hotel was originally a bank, owed by a Jew with amazing taste. Perhaps there is more on Google out there about Raquel's origins? There was no pool, but a lovely roof terrace overlooking our neighbours, and old Havana. We discovered the source of the crowing cock we would hear at odd times - one neighbour kept his chickens on HIS rooftop. We were a bit more swanky across the road, with swinging wooden seats, lovely coffee if ever a waiter bothered to ascend, and the most amazing stained glass atrium arched over the 3 floors, riad style. We had a lovely maid who did good towel art and left us flowers. Reception was helpful. You can't really expect super efficiency - everyone is paid the same and some just do work more than others. We loved our 2 days here though. As we sat waiting for our taxi transfer to Vinales, much as I was looking forward to some rural tranquillity, I wished we had had more time to explore Havana. It was really just a start!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window. I believe some don't have them. Our room was at the front and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 133liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The architecture is magnificent and the location very good for enjoying all that is best in Old Havana. Our room was basic but very clean, light and spacious, with a good bathroom, though some other guests apparently had rooms without any windows.
However our experience was of the place was spoiled by a disastrous dinner on our final night there. We knew that food tends to be much better in family restaurants than in hotels, and we only ate there because we had been offered a complementary dinner at check-in. How we wish they hadn't! The choice of food was very limited ( choice of two main courses, only ice cream for desert). We had fish, which was virtually raw and covered in chopped mint, which was completely inedible. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area, this hotel should simply stop offering dinner altogether and make their guests much happier.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms without windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BournemouthGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
2.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
6.1 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#21 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
5.8 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
3.2 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raquel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raquel

Property: Hotel Raquel
Address: Calle Amargura 103 esquina a San Ignacio, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Raquel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would emphasize that the services offered are FREE gym and sauna for guests staying at our hotel It is also good to note that hotel guests are entitled to free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Raquel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raquel Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing