We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Havana Casa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Malecon Habana
Ranked #2 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Havana Casa”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed in dozens of casas over the years throughout Cuba and this is, without doubt, as fine a casa in Cuba. It has everything needed for a pleasant stay...clean, safe, convenient and comfortable. Unlike many casa in Havana this neighborhood is quiet at night so you can get good night sleep. As has already been mentioned the view is awesome. But most of all Alain and Lety are fantastic hosts. I will be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caoslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    40
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
352
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Alain came to collect me from another nearby casa, helping me with my bag and making me feel welcome into his home. The house is right on the malecon, with a really spectacular view. My room was good, clean, nicely decorated with a good shower. There is a shared kitchen where you can eat breakfast with other guests whilst taking in the view. Breakfast was really very good - the only time I was served bacon in the whole time I was in Cuba! I asked for a juice in the even and they made me one up and didnt charge anything for it, which was nice of them. They don't speak a huge amount of English but certainly enough to get by so it's no problem if, like me, you speak little Spanish. I would absolutely stay here again. Note that the reason I give 4 for location despite it being fantastically located on be malecon, is that it's a 20 minute walk to havana vieja - no big problem but do be prepared for a walk or taxi ride into the touristy area. Alain arranged a taxi for me to the airport at a good price and i'm sure They can help you with any other needs. Thanks Alain and Lety.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Good, clean and quiet room, bathroom, shower, food and excellent location ( close to sea and center) and an excellent view!

Friendly and English speaking hosts.

We would definetly book this accomodation again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegianvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Ahhh...we already miss our "home" in La Habana!

Casa Malecon Habana is the perfect location with views of all the action at the Malecon and the beautiful bay. We enjoyed delicious (and huge!) breakfasts, would spend whole days exploring the city on foot, and then have a great nights sleep in our air conditioned room. The house itself is super clean and has a great vibe. We felt incredibly safe walking around the neighborhood at all hours. Alain is an awesome host & friend; he gave us lots of advice, set us up with taxi drivers, and arranged our stay in Vinales as well. He even lent us a guide book after I left my iphone (where I had downloaded our guide) in a taxi after arriving from the airport. The taxi driver miraculously returned my phone the next day! Only in Cuba ;)

We feel extremely lucky to have found what we believe to be the best place to stay in Habana and cannot wait to go back!! Muchas gracias Alain~ nos vemos pronto!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxCR023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Look no further for the perfect place to stay in Havana. But act quickly, this place is always booked and it’s only been around for five months. Once the secret gets out, you will have a hard time getting a room.
I would say the best thing about this casa particular is the location but there are too many things competing for this title. The view is amazing, right on the water. You wake up to a warm ocean breeze and the sound of the waves crashing on seawall along the Malecon. Local kids play in the shallow, protected waters along the wall and I regret not dipping my toes in at least once. Next time I’ll definitely pack water shoes.
Your host Allain will cater to your every need. He knows the best restaurants and beaches and can make arrangements for a private car. It’s like having a personal concierge just down the hall. Allain made sure we had a place to stay in Vinales and arranged for a car to the airport. He even woke up at 3 a.m. to make sure we didn’t miss our flight!
And make sure you eat breakfast here. It comes with hot, strong Cuban coffee and freshly squeezed fruit juice for only five bucks. You won’t find a better deal in Havana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This casa is in a newly renovated modern apartment with panoramic views of the Malecon, Havana and the sea. It is on the 5th floor but there is a lift and you are given your own front door key to come and go as you please.Fantastic breakfast of ham & eggs, fruit ,toast, juice & coffee,they do not serve dinner but there is a wonderful restaurant almost next door called The Gastropol. Comfortable room with clean en-suite bathroom and a relaxing lounge for guests to use. Alain & Leti are a young energetic couple always ready to help in any way they can, a really nice stay can fully recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAsiaphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Casa Malecon is on the 5 th floor of a restored 6 story building on the Malecon with easy access by elevator. The casa itself has just been renovated with 3 large bright bedrooms with private baths & fridges, shared livingroom & diningroom. Great views from all rooms.

We had originally wanted a casa in the centre of Habana Vieja but were so glad we found Casa Malecon. After long days exploring the city it was great to relax with ocean breezes & beautiful views. Easy walking distance to all the plazas & museums so we could return & then take off again. We stayed 3 nights, went backpacking 3 weeks then returned for 2 nights. An optional, full breakfast was served each morning. So much we would skip lunch. A great restaurant & some lunch spots just a few doors away.

Alain & Lety are the perfect hosts. A delightful couple who enjoy practicing their english & helping us with spanish. They helped us trip plan, made reservations at other casas. We were leaving at 5 AM & Alain insisted on getting up to make us coffee & check on the cab.

A truly wonderful experience & new friends we will have forever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staslee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.8 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,245 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#14 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
5.6 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Malecon Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Malecon Habana

Property: Casa Malecon Habana
Address: Malecon #59, e/ Carcel y Genio,Centro habana, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 260 Specialty Lodging in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The easiest way is to stay in a "Particular House", smalls Break and Bresfast habited by real families ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing