We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
74
3
0
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
3
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cuba libre home away from home would stay here again ydalgo julio host verdado paladars balcony furniture taxis
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 80 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed at Ydalgo's beautiful penthouse for four nights during our stay in April. Breakfast was amazing, the bed was comfortable and the house was so beautifully decorated. We would highly recommend this place!

Room tip: Any room is perfect.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SR8786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at this casa for 4 nights during our 2 week trip to Cuba. This is not like any other casa we stayed at - it is actually more like a hotel than a casa. And this is what makes it a bit difficult to rate. The standard is very good, but the personal service that you get in other casas was lacking. No advice on what to do or where to go or anything else for that matter. There is staff at the house at most times, friendly, but not really helpful and the owner was almost never there.
So - it`s not really a casa and not really a hotel either.

The house is amazing with 3 rooms, a living room and a lovely terrace with great views. We stayed in the suite which is very big, has 2 private terraces and a bathroom. The bed is really comfortable! The breakfast is very good and served outside on the terrace. They do not offer lunch, but can cook you dinner upon request (20 cus per person), but we did not eat at the casa.
There are chairs, sunbeds and even a small "pool" or jacuzzi outside. However, the pool was not very clean and the sunbeds did were not very comfortable.

The house is located in a very quite neighbourhood in vedado - a taxi to the centre is about 5 minutes and 5 cucs. There are several restaurants, banks, small supermarkets and large hotels in walking distance from the house. We went to the hotel nacional nearby to use the internet, cadeca and pool. You pay 18 cus per person to use the pool all day also including food/drinks for 13 cucs.

All in all - this was a good place to stay in Habana, a bit expensive, but totally worth it - as long as you do not expect the friendly service of a normal casa.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank siribol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at Artedel the first part of our trip and we absolutely loved it! It is a luxury place with all the amenities and really stands out compared to other homes in Cuba. We decided to rent out the entire home for privacy and that worked well for us. It gave us access to all parts of the home and a visitor couldn’t go wrong choosing any room. The place is in a safe, quiet part of Vedado and only a $5 CUC taxi ride from Old Havana. The owner had set up an airport pickup and the driver was there waiting for us with our names on a sign. After a thirty minute ride we were welcomed to the penthouse by Manuel and Ydalgo with some great mojitos!! The pictures on their website show how beautiful the place is and the creativeness of its owners. We had breakfast there every morning and it was the best way to start off the day. The fruit was always fresh and we couldn’t get enough of the natural homemade juices.

The place is spotless, very clean and no dust in sight. The beds were very comfortable and hot water for showers always worked. There is a full kitchen if a guest wanted to cook as well a nice dining area for having a romantic dinner. The views of Havana from the outdoor area are truly stunning and a great place to relax and take photos. The owners have also provided guests with an informative binder in each room giving tips on how to truly enjoy Havana.

What is great is that the owners live nearby so you can always get in contact with them if needed. We really liked how they gave us our privacy, yet at the same time would check on us to make sure everything was going well. There is a Cadeca nearby, about a 10 minute walk and across the street from La Copelia ice cream. Do not hesitate to book this home, we would return in a heartbeat. Thanks again Ydlago, Manuel and Jorge!

-Yonas

Room tip: Can't go wrong with any room, but the Master suite is worth every single CUC!
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbreeze2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Artedel Penthouse is just gorgeous, and so are the hosts. We stayed for 3 nights at the start of our trip to Cuba and another 2 nights at the end. The location is great, a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood but only 5mins by taxi from all the excitement of the old town. We had a lovely breakfast on the terrace each morning and a delicious dinner several times.

Room tip: We loved the luxury of our own private terrace in the master suite.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snailys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had searched high and low for a classy, relaxed and affordable place to stay in Havana for 4 days of our honeymoon, and am pleased to say the Artedel surpassed our hopes. It was one of the few places I've genuinely been sad to leave upon departure!

Basically the description on cubaguesthouse.com is completely accurate: the suite is gorgeous, with massive balcony, great modern finishings. The other room we stayed in was also tasteful and pleasant to stay in. The whole property has a phenomenal view over Vedado, the Malecon and towards Centro Habana. There is a lovely cool mini-pool to read or relax in. Ydalgo and his support team which included Manuel, were delightful and as helpful as possible, arranging an early breakfast and a late massage with no fuss! The shared spaces are layed out in such a way that you can comfortably choose whether to socialise or not. I will definitely come back here when I return to Havana, which I hope to as it's an amazing and unique city.

This sort of place is not to be missed. Visiting from the UK, we are picky travellers and we adored it!

Room tip: Suite is worth the extra 20-30 CUC
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moonman1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews