We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stayin with Great people!!”
Review of La Colonial 1861

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Colonial 1861
Ranked #14 of 686 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stayin with Great people!!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at La Colonial for 5nights in May.
Just after I came inside, I was really surprised that the place is very 'Stylish'.
(The owner has a great sense of interior!!)

The room is not very big, but very clean and has a hot shower and cozy bed.

The location is not very central of the main area for the tourists, and I worried about it
just after arraived, but I even enjoyed it. You can go to the central by 'Share taxi'.
It's cool classic car and share it with Cuban local people. (It's so cheap!)
I could see the local life there, and I loved to take that taxi everyday.
(It's very easy to get the taxi. Armand, the owner will show you how to get it)

The most wonderful thing for this place is the owner couple. They are just so beautiful and have warm heart. I had great time with them and I really loved to sit with them at the terrace!!

They also have cute dogs and cat (name is Kawaii!!).

This is my favorite place in Cuba and I'm sure that I'm coming back!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seiko2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear friend Seiko

We mish you...and Kawaii too!!! He looks beautifull now and he always remember us to you.
Thank you so much to you....you are a really nice person and we know that we always have a friend in Japan.

Muchos besos de toda la familia!!

Thay & Armando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    34
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
77
190
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I did quite a bit of research before selecting La Colonial 1861 and I couldn't have made a better decision. The service we received was like staying with old friends. Armando and his family made our trip to Havana forever memorable. We really got to experience real Cuba. Our driver Fran was amazing and although he didn't speak much English and us not much Spanish, he showed us wonderful sights on a trip to vinales and we had the most amazing meal for a minimal amount of money. Armando's wife and mother-in-law made us excellent food.
I didn't want to leave and would not hesitate in recommending to stay here to anyone. Stay here and really experience all that Havana has to offer under the excellent guidance of Armando. So friendly, helpful and welcoming and really good value for money. The resident kitten is adorable. Can't remember his name except that it means "nice" in Japanese. Thank you La Colonial 1861. The big hotels could learn a lot from you. Rebekka and Mark x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bekky1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Rebekka and Mark

Thank you much!!!! Your review is very importat for us. We are very happy to know that you feel good with us and with our friend Frank too!! He is studing english right now...so next time it will be easier for both. Kawaii (our little cat) is right now with us....he is sleeping, very lazy!!!
We wish to see you again one day!!!

Muchos besos y abrazos de todo la familia!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

What I love about casas is that you get to know the people in casas. It's more than just a place to stay like a cold hotel. Thaymara & Armando are interesting people once you get to know them. Armando has lots of cool life stories and he knows so much about traveling in Cuba .I cant tell you if it is the best casa in Havana or not , and we all have different expectations and judgements. But la colonial 1861 is the one for me. The deep talk I had with Armando was inspiring. And everybody was just very nice. I definitely will go back again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear friend Roy

Thank you so much for your review about us. We hope to see you soon in La Habana... I would like to talk more with you about life and dreams. You are a great person and we wish you all the best!!!

Un fuerte abrazo!!!

Thay & Armando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

La Colonial 1861 is the most beautiful casa I stayed during my trip in Cuba. I stayed here for 6 nights. The house is very beautiful and the room is spacious. The owner Armando is very nice and friendly. He speaks perfect English. He also have great connections and knowledge about Cuban art, cigar, and politics. For those who are interested in being a traveler not just a tourist, you can get a lot of useful information from Armando. He has a good tastes in selecting places to go in Havana (for restaurants, bars, clubs, and art). The place is well located and is walkable to a real Cuban neighborhood. It is also convenient to go to old town or new Havana by taxi. Overall, a nice and comfortable place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I-Wen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear I-Wen

Thank you so much for everything!!! We enjoy a lot with you in La Colonial 1861...we attach your beautifull pics in our facebook. And we hope to see you soon in La Habana!! You must to organized atrip around Cuba!

Muchos besos!!!

Thay & Armando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in La Colonial 1861 in early April for 2 nights and another night at the end of our fantastic travel in cuba before flying back again. Thay and Armando own a very nice cuban style house in beautiful Vedado quarter in Havanna. Taking some steps only from their home, you are allready facing the famous Malecón at the Waterfront of Havanna, where you may see the wonderful spindrift of the sea and hundereds of the famous old cars from the early last century ... and not to forget the wonderful dinners we had in one of the stylish cuban restaurants, which are in walking distance from their house, that played relaxing lounge music in the warm early summer nights ...

La Colonial 1861 offers four nice, clean and comfortable rooms. Although they are a little bit dark, as there is no window beside the small opening to the corridor, we felt very cosy. Breakfast was served in the spacious entrance with nice furniture and lots of modern art. It includes a large variety of carribean fruits, which not only Swiss use to enjoy very much. And if you travel by rental car - which we did - Armando offers also a parking for your car.

But the best is the hosts themselves. We were truly greatful for their kindness and practical help (as their indications for restaurants, car drivers, tipps for sight-seeing and, and, and). Armando even accompanied us to the police station after an incident we had, to help with translation from Spanish to English - thank you very much for this ... you saved our holliday!!! We will definitely come back to your place again, hopefuly for a longer time, and would absolutely recommend this place to everyone who is visiting to Havanna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgesDornach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Georges and Irene

Thank you so much for your review. We feel very happy that you enjoy your cuban trip and we hope to see you again in La Habana. It was really for us too to share a few days with you.
You always have a place in Cuba and a friends too.

Un fuerte abrazo

Armando & Thay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Thank you so much for our lovely stay in Havana. Although only a short stay, we were made to feel really welcome. The house is gorgeous and rooms really comfortable. The area is a great place to stay too. You can get to Havana Vieja in about 15 mins in a taxi or take your time and soak up the atmosphere as you walk along the Malacon (it was particularly spectacular to walk along as the storm rolled in).

Armando was super helpful in helping to arrange other accommodation in Cuba and airport transfers. Get in early, this place books up fast and with reason.

Hopefully we'll be back again...soon!

Gillian and Jason x

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank gillyhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Gillian and Jason

Thank you so much for your review. It was very nice to share with you a few days in La Habana...but we´ll be waiting for you again, next time you must stay longer in La Colonial 1861.

Un fuerte abrazo de

Thay & Armando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This casa is unlike any other. It is in a beautiful old building and the rooms are akin to a 4-star hotel with colonial design. They have tons of character and are extremely clean. The food is good, and the hosts are laid back. The location is not the greatest; but you are near the Malecon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfrie009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThayArmando, Propietario at La Colonial 1861, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear friend,

Thank you so much for your review about La Colonial 1861. We feel very happy that you enjoy with us and we hope next time in La Habana you can come back again here. We are working hard so when we recibe a review like yours is something very important for us.

Un fuerte abrazo!!

Thay & Armando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.0 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,300 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,599 reviews
2.8 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 79 in Havana
991 reviews
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Havana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colonial 1861? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colonial 1861

Property: La Colonial 1861
Address: Street 10 #60 Between/ 3st y 5st, Havana 02000, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 686 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Colonial 1861 offers our guests the experience of staying in an authentic colonial house. Our house is located in the central neighborhood of El Vedado with the amenities of a boutique hotel and the charm of a private home. La Colonial was built in 1861 and maintains its original structure and mosaic floors. The roof was built with French tiles and our rooms have high ceilings with exposed wooden beams. Beautiful wrought-iron trellis sorround the well in the patio. The decoration includes furniture from different ages and styles as well as pieces of art by Cuban artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your La Colonial 1861 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing