We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view”
Review of Hotel Terral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Terral
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

The room we stayed in on the third floor was spacious and well fitted out, although slightly worn. The view out onto the ocean is fantastic and it's great being able to step right out onto the Malecon.

The a la carte breakfast menu is extensive and the food was decent. We also ate in the restaurant one evening and the quality of ingredients was good.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank buffalox8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    179
    67
    15
    14
See reviews for
51
267
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel in Havana, right on the shore, towards the end of the Malecon. Bit of a walk to get into the old centre of Havana, but if you don't mind the trek or are a fan of taxis, horse and cart or other transport you can get about easily enough. The staff were very helpful and the room was huge. The map we were given by the hotel wasn't really much use as it wasn't marked on it and if you want to eat out in the evenings don't expect much choice in the area. Local beers are good and cheaper than imports obviously. Mossies not a problem here either and artisans market on Obispo very good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
231 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our room was spacious and comfortable. It overlooked the sea. There was international TV. No problem with the plumbing. The hotel food was extremely good. The staff were pleasant and the waiter hugged us when we left.

A small problem with the rooms - the lights switches have a tendency to fall off the walls. On the main road, there was some street noise, but no real problem. It is far enough out of the old town to make a rather tedious walk after the first few times. The hotel is small and has limited common parts.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the Malecon and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel has all the right ingredients to be really good, a great location which is only just outside of the very busy central area of old Havana (this makes a welcome haven), wonderful views over the Gulf and it has a modern and stylish feel that starts as you view it from the outside. The rooms are clean, large and well presented, although there are signs of damp and excessive wear and tear owing to poor/cheap build quality.

However it drastically lets itself with cheap tourist tricks designed to extract extra Pesos at every available opportunity. This is prevalent in Old Havana but your hotel should be a haven from this.

If you offer a welcome drink, then serve it or present a menu of welcome drinks, do not supply a Mojito and then charge your newly arrived guests for it, claiming that this is not the welcome drink! Whilst this may seem trivial, we stayed here at the start and the end of our trip and on both occasions, the same trick was tried, to which we were wise the second time, much to the disappointment of the waiter.

Also, every time we sat in the bar area we were offered a menu and recommended their favourite dish, which on the three occasions we did this always happened to be the same dish which was the most expensive on the menu.

On the two occasions we ate in Terral, the food was good and the breakfasts were okay, not comparable to other places we stayed in but a good range and well presented.

Apart from the final day we stayed when the waiter suddenly decided to crudely write a service charge on our bill, whilst stood next to us, in a different colour pen to the rest of the bill, and then was extremely rude when my wife questioned what this service charge that had never been on any other bill was.

These little tricks put a bad slant on what was a good stay in Terral and we are really not sure why they are trying to extract extra money from their guests. All this does is annoy people like us and, when we return to Cuba, we will not be returning to Terral which is sad.

The exchange rate is much better at the airport or in one of the Cadecas in Old Havana for reference.

When in Old Havana, be aware that despite many people telling you to come to a cigar or salsa festival, there probably is no such thing!

Room Tip: We had room 303 and it was very nice. All the rooms have good views but suffer from road noise, tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richnkirst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We decided to give ourselves a treat at the end of our holiday in Cuba, which had involved staying everywhere in Casas. This hotel has a great setting on the Malecon and the rooms are spacious with very comfortable beds (compared to some of the ones we had elsewhere in Cuba!). However, we were very disappointed with the standard of breakfast and the service at breakfast, which was poor (especially compared to the Casas). The coffee was unrecognisable compared to coffee we had elsewhere in Cuba as it was so watery and weak. Our breakfast waiter was brusque. Butter was rancid and fruit salad not good. One person was left to wait a long time whilst the rest of us ate. We had lunch there and the waiting service then was good so I think it was just one individual who was less than enthusiastic. The hotel is looking ropey re: wear and tear and damp patches on the ceilings of bedrooms and bathrooms but everything is very clean. If you want an hotel with a good location and view, I would recommend, but for value for money get a casa in Havana.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Strandy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed at the Terral for three nights to explore Havana before moving on to Varadero. Our second floor room was very spacious and well appointed with a view over the sea.
Even though we arrived quite late in the evening there was a good selection of food available at the bar.
Old Havana is an interesting and easy walk taking about 15 minutes. The staff were very friendly and went seemed to be genuinely interested in helping us make the best of our time in Havana.
For what we wanted it was ideal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Comfortable modern hotel, large rooms facing sea, great breakfasts and only 12 minute stroll to old town. Best of all were the staff. Helpful and friendly without being over familiar. Although I didn't mention it, on my birthday I was taken into the bar and offered any bottle I wanted to take and on that day I think that every member of staff made it a point to wish me a happy birthday. What else can I say?

Room Tip: All rooms face sea but higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
5.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,245 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
5.0 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#14 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terral

Property: Hotel Terral
Address: Malecon | Malecon Esquina a Lealtad, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terral 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terral Hotel is the first hotel of the Habaguanex s.A. Company located in Malecon Habanero. It is described as an urban hotel, modern and avant-garde design. The decoration of the building was conducted by a group of Cuban artisans, using black wood as primary and predominant element. Environments have been recreated with motifs of nature and movement; boxes of lights with images of mangroves, rivers funds, fish lamps and more, make the lobby space undoubtedly unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Terral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing