We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Terral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Terral
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were lucky enough to get the best room in the hotel (the corner Junior suite). This meant panoramic views of the Malecon and the amazing sunrises and sunsets.
All the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We ate breakfast in the hotel, and this was plentiful, varied and freshly prepared.
Huge bed, sun loungers on the terrace, table and chairs outside, and a sofa and another table and chairs within the room. Very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vwbeetle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    175
    67
    15
    13
See reviews for
50
260
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Loved it! I spotted this hotel on my last visit to Cuba in 2012. Went in for a drink at the lobby bar and decided I needed to stay here on my next visit.

Absolutely amazing place. I would definitely recommend.

Please note that there is a small restaurant and bar in the lobby. The food was amazing and fresh. Try the grilled lobster, octopus, shrimp and vegetable dish with a side of rice with onions and raisin. Absolutely delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shells345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port au Prince
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

simply brilliant! Very big comfy and moderns room, with a terrific view over the Malecon. We spent at El Terral our first nights in Habana and then we went back there for our last days before leaving. We booked online it was a very great deal! Add the included Breakfast a-la-carte and efficient and friendly staff ,, what else ?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarilenaAlberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked the roof terrace & were not disappointed, very spacious terrace & internal floor space, laying in bed all you could see was the sea!!
Great food at great prices, especially for fish lovers with the added bonus of room service at no extra charge. A short & enjoyable walk along the malecon to Prada St & then straight down to Old Town, would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshaw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had two rooms, one of the suites with terrace on the top floor and a room on the third floor. By Cuban standards this was a great hotel, very good staff, good food (although I found the evening better than breakfast) and the best cocktails we had during our two week stay. The rooms were spacious and in some ways I did prefer the layout, bathroom etc of the third floor room but the terrace is a real bonus.

We organised all our trip except casas through Cuba Travel network who I found extremely good, they seemed to have better choice of rooms than other tour operators, They organised our car hire which we picked up just along the road at Hotel Deauville and also our taxi from the airport sending not only the driver but a Cuba Travel network rep to welcome us, English speaking, a real unexpected bonus.

As we other reviews reception organised a drive around the city with Eduardo. We also went to the excellent Restaurant Migles just round the corner (turn right out of the hotel, turn first right and then walk two blocks and it is on the right). A Cuban Swedish place which sounds strange but go with it, the food is excellent, the whole place is cool and owned by a Swedish film director. we went twice.

The walk to the old town is fine, we found our way through the back streets it takes 15-20 mins. It was very safe although slightly off putting if you have just arrived in Havana for the first time but you soon get into the swing of things.

Room Tip: go for one of the two suites with terrace if free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Woodster2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here in July 2013. We were a group of three couples and were put in three rooms on the first floor. The rooms were spacious with a little terrace overlooking the sea and Malecon. We were told that the hotel is government owned, and it is quite modern and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful, although it seems they work very long hours (although they did not complain). The beds were comfortable.

The hotel is not in the old town but you can walk there, and taxis stop right outside so overall a good location. There is a variety of taxis including some lovely old cars.

The mojitos and other cocktails in Cuba are very cheap and our barmen very attentive. Some nights we were enjoying ourselves so much that we even stayed for dinner. The dining area is quite small and also facing the Malecon, so we could pop over and take photos of the beautiful sunset.

Breakfasts were included and you could pretty much have what you wanted. We tried a few dishes - mostly seafood - which were plentiful and interesting. Our group would have liked to see a few more spices added for flavour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xcellentadvenurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This small hotel s good if you do not want t be in one of the larger luxury chains on the edge of old Havana. You get great service, good cleanliness and we had a very large suite room. It is hat little bit further a walk to some attractions but I think its worth it.

Breakfast was great - chorizo and poached eggs with decent bread with a fresh fruit salad.

Step out onto your balcony at dawn and watch the lovers on the malecon on after a big night out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
5.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
2.2 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
5.1 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terral

Property: Hotel Terral
Address: Malecon | Malecon Esquina a Lealtad, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terral 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terral Hotel is the first hotel of the Habaguanex s.A. Company located in Malecon Habanero. It is described as an urban hotel, modern and avant-garde design. The decoration of the building was conducted by a group of Cuban artisans, using black wood as primary and predominant element. Environments have been recreated with motifs of nature and movement; boxes of lights with images of mangroves, rivers funds, fish lamps and more, make the lobby space undoubtedly unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Terral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing