We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be Missed”

National Museum of Fine Arts
Ranked #7 of 239 things to do in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum offers a glimpse of colonial Cuba.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Besides being housed in a spectacular building the art collection is outstanding with excellent pictures from artists from all over the world. The modern art gallery is housed in a separate modern building but it has a wonderful display of works. Allow a minimum of four hours if you want to see both galleries.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,261
    509
    160
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great view of modern art”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

they have a good spectrum of work from different eras on display and especially the modern section gives great insight into the Cuban mind set.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank trippertrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Must go!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Honestly, I had no intention to visit this museum but am so happy that I went. What a spectacular collection of Cuban and latin art. I particularly loved the more modern, political work. Take a few hours out of your day and check it out. You won't be disappointed!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely exhibition”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of the most exciting exhibitions of modern art I have ever seen. A shame we see so little of Cuban art in Europe, so much talent and creativity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 473RedRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Much to think about…”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

An absolutely beautiful building, considering some aspects of the surrounding neighborhood, caught our attention after exiting the Granma memorial. I recognized it as the art museum, from the many Trip Advisor posts, so off we went. We are by no means experienced art observers having seen few examples of World art, so, with this in mind we entered the first gallery which was pre/post revolution Cuban art. Hmmm……lots of very interesting representations of similar topics. As an educator, I try to expose my young students to different art forms and styles through the use of different types of media. I was very pleased to see so many varied uses of materials and methods involving acrylics, metals, paper, inks, etc. I/we found the “mixed media” representations particularly eye catching, as a result of how different materials/media were incorporated. Very, very impressive! On the other hand we did not expect to see such dark narratives in the work, and, I must say, this really “threw us for a loop”. Many examples of art involved female subjects, with particular reference to their genitalia presented in an, oh, mmm, unflattering, and quite frankly, ghastly view. Some of the works were, for our sensibilities, horrific. We freely admit that we were not expecting these types of images, so they definitely shocked us! One piece, in particular, was very disturbing as it portrayed an erect full body christ-like figure with machetes piercing its body. Much too much for our sensibilities. We chose not to continue our tour as the christ-like image soured us. Visitors with religious sensibilities be warned! Regardless of our impressions of the images represented, we would definitely recommend visiting this museum. The overall quality of the art, despite the subject matter, is excellent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to National Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing