We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful museum full of fine art”

National Museum of Fine Arts
Ranked #7 of 235 things to do in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum offers a glimpse of colonial Cuba.
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum full of fine art”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Magnificent works of art helped to fill in our picture of Cuba and Cubans through art work. Because we were on a tour, we saw many of the most famous pieces of art, but would have loved to have more time to amble the galleries to see more. This is a real arts hub for the city. On a return walk, we saw ensembles of high school performers rehearsing for a big teen arts festival that was taking place here after we left.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank karenlj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,244
    503
    159
    20
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
163 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Artwork from the post revolutionary period was incredible!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a tour and were only able to see the period of art following the revolution, due to time restraints. I would recommend spending more than time there. It was a Saturday and not crowded.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“try the restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having drinks in the exquisitely tiled restaurant in the old part of the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes was one of the highlights of our trip. Really friendly staff and beautiful views of Havana from the windows. We only regret we had already eaten when we went. Oh, and the art was impressive too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tamsynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cuban Fine Art Museum”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great museum with no air conditioning, I worry about the art work. I met a group of children working on drawings from the paintings and some drawing Fidel. Magnificent art from Cuban best artist, modern and more. A sad little museum store, with nothing about the works of the museum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenni335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deephaven, Minnesota
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting art history”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The curator that conducted our tour was very proud of their collection and rightfully so. It is an extensive collection of Cuban artist's work. Well worth a visit in a city that has many excellent artists at work today.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Fine Arts also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to National Museum of Fine Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing