We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hotel in Old Havana”
Review of Hotel Los Frailes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Los Frailes
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Havana
dljr60
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“a nice hotel in Old Havana”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times. The theme is of Monks. I believe it was once housing for Catholic Monks. The staff is very good. Their kindness and quality if service exceeds many of the hotels in Cuba. The rooms are reasonably clean. Air con is very strong. Satelite TV from USA. The room is more comfortable than other hotels in Havana. The setting is quiet because you are on streets that have no cars inside old Havana. There a many restaurants in the area. I enjoy staying in old Havana to enjoy it charm and historic feel. Breakfast is located just down the street. There is a bar in the hotel. A little pricy but a nice hotel in Old Havana.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dljr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Frailes, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Dljr60

Thanks a lot for being with us so many times, and express good opinions about our Hotel , you´ll be welcome as many times as you want to come.

We hope to see you soon !!!!!!!!!!!!

Los Frailes Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    199
    103
    36
    32
See reviews for
65
233
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

stayed in this hotel for two nights, using it as a base to discover old Havana. The first time in Cuba with my body still getting used to plus 30C temperatures and high humidity, I was looking for a near-by base while trying to reach the maximum old Havana has to offer. Also, was looking for a place to help imagination ease into another époque. Succeeded on both accounts. Rooms preserve period features, even in show room. Staff were very helpful and non-imposing. Located on a quite street is minutes away from the museum on city history, hotel Amos mundos and many other treasures of mercaderes, obrapia, officious streets and many more. Taxis are a 2 minute walk to the San francisco de Asis square! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Worth selecting a room with a balcony - these offer beautiful views on San Francisco de Asis monaste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frailescomercial, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Frailes, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Sotola,

It is a real pleasure for us to hear how good was your experience in our beautiful country, and specially in our hotel.

Also we want to thank you for your nice comments about us

Come Back soon!!!

Los Frailes Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hotel Los Frailes is beautifully done. The original features of the buliding are gorgeous. I loved it. Set in the heart of Habana Vieja it really is in a fantastic location. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful, even when we came back in the very wee small hours! Breakfast was included and is served across the street at a little open air cafe. The only problem we had was there was no water a few times during the day. We always had water in the morning and it came back on in the evening so we were not too fussed. We discovered that it's a common occurence in Havana in general so not to worry. The only issue we had was the air conditioning could be noisy sometimes, however it was not a big problem. I would use this hotel agains should I be lucky enough to revisit lovely Habana :o)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebsieDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frailescomercial, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Frailes, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hello From Los Frailes,

We are so happy to hear your impressions of the hotel.

We are always in disposition to make the best for our guests and your comments are so nice, and we now are implementing a system trying to have water during all day.

We hope to see you again soon in our Hotel,

Best regards,

Los Frailes Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Los Frailes is a lovely little hotel in the historic city centre of Havana. The hotel is very charming, which is underlined by the staff, which are dressed in monks' robes. There's a bar and a little lounge area on the ground floor. The rooms are very spacious and most of them are facing the little street with a nice little balcony.
Breakfast is served in a venue round the corner and not really worth mentioning here.
The location is perfect, as most of the sights can be reached on foot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frailescomercial, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Frailes, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Friend!

We are so happy to hear your opinion and most because they are so good.

We hope to see you again soon here, since you are already part of our family.

Best regards !

Team Los Frailes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Staff is friendly and helpful. Location is great. Better than most other hotels as there is no traffic noise, no bother from locals trying to sell you cigars or any other unwanted deals. Restaurant next door for breakfast is the best, La Marina.
Excellent food with great price and service. Bank on the corner.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CherylandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frailescomercial, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Frailes, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear guest !!

It is so good to hear things so nice about us,

We are always in disposition to do our best for our guests

Best regards.

Los frailes Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

right in the center of things, very clean and comfortable, great old building, nice atmosphere.
the rooms without the windows are not a problem, the junior suits are amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank Amir_TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frailescomercial, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Frailes, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Hello from Los Frailes,

It s a real pleasure for us to know your opinion about us,

Thanks a lot for your comments.

Best regards,

Los Frailes Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Los Frailes is on the walking tour of Havana, as it is themed around friars. We had 2 nights there. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious, my only critisums were no windows in the room(Which they obviously cannot help) but this was disconcerting and the room was very dark. Because the rooms are around a courtyard you can hear everything including the ringing of the reception phone.

I would recommend though because of the location and staff. Breakfast was on the corner of the road in a small cafe and was very good

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Debbiedoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#14 of 79 in Havana
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Tejadillo
Hotel del Tejadillo
#40 of 79 in Havana
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#25 of 79 in Havana
732 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
0.2 mi away
Armadores de Santander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Frailes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Frailes

Property: Hotel Los Frailes
Address: Teniente Rey No 8 | Between Oficios y Mercaderes, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Frailes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Los Frailes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Los Frailes Havana
Hostal Los Frailes Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing