We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best house in Cuba..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Hilda y Alejandro
Ranked #6 of 699 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best house in Cuba..”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a great time staying with Hilda and Alejandro at their place in La Habana! We couldn't really have asked for anything more. The house is very well located at a short walking distance to the Old Habana, and the personal attention we received from Hilda and Alejandro was absolutely great. They basically organized and booked all the casas particulares in which we stayed during our whole trip allover Cuba. The hospitality I experienced here is one of the best I've ever seen. Highly recommendable!
Muchas gracias!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILDA Y, Propietario at Casa Hilda y Alejandro, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks for your opinion, we hope that after a long journey, you found all well at home, you need to continue to travel to do not waste you speak perfect Spanish, greetings to Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
219
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spent 3 and a half weeks travelling around Cuba and Hilda y Alejandro were our favourite hosts. They welcomed us like family and provided a comfortable, cool room,fully equipped with ensuite bathroom,working shower, tv, air con and fridge (stocked with free water on arrival) and all of this within a few minutes walk of the malecon, Prado and all the attractions of Havana vieja.

Hilda gave us a fantastic orientation on our first morning: she showed us the difference between the currencies,told us which to use when and warned us of popular scams. She also pointed out the best few places to go around the city and gave us her recommendations for the best towns to visit around Cuba before sending us out to explore (after a great chat about Cuban culture and history over our HUGE breakfast! I wish I had brought some of the pineapple jam home) When we returned she had casa recommendations for the next few towns we wanted to visit and gave us addresses and numbers for each. All of the casas that Hilda recommended were great and had lovely, friendly owners too.
Although I was tired on the first night my partner stayed up late talking to the family and had a great chat with Alejandro junior over some rum and a cigar. Alejandro senior went out of his way to try to help us get to a local baseball game (although we never did make it in the end!)

When we returned to Havana at the end of our trip Hilda and Alejandro unfortunately didn't have space for us but happily arranged rooms with the neighbours across the hall and friends just round the corner- also great.
Although we only knew them for a few days it felt like leaving an aunt and uncle's house and we made a quick detour to say goodbye before jumping in our taxi to the airport.

Muchas gracias por todo. Esperamos volver pronto, nuestro español será mejor la próxima vez!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSol83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILDA Y, Propietario at Casa Hilda y Alejandro, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks my friend for such a nice opinion, if you go back to Cuba I promise to take you to a baseball game, we are glad that you have served our help, why we are here, a big hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 1 night in casa Hilda y Alejandro at the end of our holiday. The Transtur bus from Trinidad dropped us of at a Hotel nearby and we could walk to the casa easily. The room was spacious with a very high ceiling and cool. It was nice to talk to Hilda and she gave us good advise on what to visit. We had a great dinner at Dona Eutemia, a small restaurant near the Cathedral (book in advance). Breakfast at the casa was nice, especially the pineapple confiture. To our surprise the price of a taxi to the airport was only 15 CUC.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AriArth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILDA Y, Propietario at Casa Hilda y Alejandro, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion, was a pleasure to have you with us even if only one night. We hope on your next visit to Cuba we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campina Grande, PB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The "Casa" of Hilda and Alejandro is one of the best places to stay in Havana. The room I rented is very comfortable, comparable to a good hotel room. It is a large room, ventilated, quiet, with bathroom. All the comfort I have in my house, had in their house.
The location is hard to beat: next to the Prado, the most important avenue of old Havana. Walking a few meters you can take a bus or taxi to any point in Havana.
The breakfast, prepared by Hilda's, is very, very good: fruit, yogurt, eggs, bread, etc. (the bologna sandwich and pineapple jelly are perfect). Hilda is an excellent cook.
Hilda and Alejandro are wonderful people, and have struggled the way they could to make my stay in your home as comfortable and pleasant as possible. They are very wise, honest and helpful, and always have nice hints of places to visit in Havana (and other cities of Cuba, where they know other Casas owners).
I've been in their house for 20 days, and now Hilda, Alejandro, Alejandro Jr. and Carelia (son and daughter-in-law) are like family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvferreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILDA Y, Propietario at Casa Hilda y Alejandro, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thanks for your opinion, we still talk a lot about you, nights talking and smiling "language errors" with your tour in almendron by Bauta, etc.
We were very pleased your stay in our house, you know that here you have a family you always receive one more, you and your family, say hello to your dad on our behalf, tell him to take good care that there are people who need it, greets also your mom and give her a kiss from us your wife and your little princess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Just one block away from the famous Paseo del Prado, the "Champs Elysees of Havana in the late 50's", this casa is very well situated in the centre of the city.

We couldn't have made a better choice for our first night in a casa particular in Cuba! Hilda and Alejandro gave us a very warm welcome and gave us all the right tips to make our visit in Cuba a real success.

While staying at the casa of Hilda and Alejandro we had a quiet and clean room, a very good breakfast with a lot of fresh fruits and even the dinner with a nice Cuban cigar (Alejandro is to be considered a specialist, a part of all the vendors in the streets of Havana) with a nice glass of Ron is to be recommended.

If we would return to Havana one day, we would not hesitate one second to return to this house.

Tom

Room Tip: If you travel with 2 couples, the neighbor's room is also to be recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomCarlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILDA Y, Propietario at Casa Hilda y Alejandro, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello friend! .... Thanks for your opinion, I am not a specialist in Havana but I love her, just do the maximum because they sit in family, good night spent in your union, recently, in a conversation with Mrs. Delia, you talk about a big nancy all


Alexander and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this Casa and from the first day on we felt like part of the family. Those were our first three nights of our Cuba roundtrip and we could not have imagined a better start for our holidays. Hilda gave us all the information necessary for the next 3 weeks. She helped us organize our roundtrip, gave recommendations and made reservations for us. But more important, she told us everything we needed to know about the cuban life, culture, history, food and prices. In contrast to many other casas Hilda and Alejandro often offered us free juices and coffee without charging any of them.

But also the rest of the family was always welcoming and helpful. Alexandro gave us an introduction into Cuban cigarrs and also explained us how to recognize good ones (a very important information given the large number of people in the streets who wanted to sell us cigars). Hilda and Alexandro's son (also calles Alexandro) helped us pick up our rented car and gave us a tour of Havana on our first day. This way we immediately knew how to get around and got a wonderful overview of the city.

The house is very nice and in a very central location. Hilda and Alexandro only rent out one room, which is large, clean and well furnished. We have to admit though that we enjoyed chatting with the family as much that we barely spent time in our room but rather in the dining room. The house also has a nice patio and a living room but the most comfortable place for us was the dining room.

We warmly recommend this casa and would definitely stay there again.

To make a reservation you can contact them directly:
Phone: (537) 8616385
Phone: (53) 5 343 7376
Mail: rentahabanavieja@gmail.com
Web: www.casahildayalejandro.mex.tl

We hope you´ll enjoy the stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojost47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILDA Y, Propietario at Casa Hilda y Alejandro, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are happy to have felt good about, you have to promise me that on your next trip speak some Spanish and I promise that my English will be better.
Thank you very much for such a nice opinion.
A big hug to both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was staying at casa Hilda with my friend for 2 nights and we felt really like at home there. The family is very, very hospitable and we had great and interesting discussions with Alejandro and hilda. Besides of the very good meals that Hilda cooked for us, I have to mention the very nice colonial building and very central location.
To make it short: we had a great time at Casa Hilda y Alejandro and it felt like a second home :)
Hilda y Alejandro: Muchisimas gracias por su hospitalidad y las conversaciones divertidas que tuvimos!!!!!
Ojalá podamos vernos otra vez ;) ya tengo ganas de volver a Cuba!
un abrazo!
Lars

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eisbaer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILDA Y, Propietario at Casa Hilda y Alejandro, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
When you turn your desire to return to Cuba, here you will have a SILLON waiting for you and a family that is waiting to continue our great conversations,
see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.6 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
2.9 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
5.7 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
5.7 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#14 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Hilda y Alejandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Hilda y Alejandro

Property: Casa Hilda y Alejandro
Address: 12 Morro street | apto 1-A bajos, Carcel y Genios, Havana 10200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 699 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private house Hilda y Alejandro. With our family you will find the safety, privacy and friendly welcome you're looking for in Havana. We're conveniently located steps from the Malecon in Havana Vieja, a short walk from the most important historical sites as well as Vedado and other places of interest. For a great first impression of Havana's timeless charms and lively ambiance, we'd love to be your home away from home in Havana. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing