We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very DIRTY!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Bosque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Bosque
Ranked #46 of 78 Hotels in Havana
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very DIRTY!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!!!
Dirty!!!! the room was not cleaned a single time during 3 day stay at this hotel. Everything is falling apart and no one cares....I understand that the country is poor but at least to mop the floor and clean the bathroom IS possible....I am not talking about luxury, this hotel is lacking even basic hygiene standard.
Plus it's quite far from the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voronets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    44
    20
    13
See reviews for
19
33
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Vermont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

After reading reviews, I reserved and stayed at El Bosque my first two nights in Havana. El Bosque is away from the hurly-burly of Habana Vieja and the Vedado, tucked away in the upscale neighborhood of Kohly, just across the Almendares River from the Vedado. The staff was courteous and knowledgable, the room clean, with nice local views from my balcony, and the on-site restaurant fine for breakfast. I never had to wait to use one of the three computers, each in its own private booth, just off the lobby. Never got to use the pool, as I spent most days at my friends' home out in San Augustin, but it looked inviting. In October, the place was very quiet, with only about half the rooms occupied. Although the hotel is a bit down-at-the-heels and in need of a good rehab, nevertheless, it was fine for me, and up to three-star standards. If not pressed for time, it was a pleasant walk to La Rampa and other centers of action in the Vedado, and only a short walk to catch my bus to the western suburbs. The price was very good--for as much as you'd pay for a second- or thrid-rate motel where I live, here in Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eastmagicmountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

Several of the photos shown for this hotel are actually Hotel Kohly, which is about 10 minutes walk away. In particular, all the pool photos are from Hotel Kohly. Hotel El Bosque does not have a pool of its own, but guests here can use the pool at Club Almendares, a short hike down the hill from Hotel El Bosque.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

Note that several of the reviews on this page are for Hotel Kohly, not for Hotel El Bosque. The two hotels are near each other and owned by the same company. I've never stayed at the Hotel Kohly but I heard that it's not good.

I've stayed at the Hotel El Bosque twice, and was pleased both stays. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable (unusual in Cuba!) and the staff was friendly and helpful. They all spoke English. It's close to the Viazul bus station, the neighborhood is quiet and safe, and you're on the river, which is a big tropical park, so you breathe clean air. The prices are reasonable. Best of all, IMHO, it doesn't feel like you're in Havana. It feels like the countryside. Of course, if you want nightlife and jiniteras, this isn't the hotel for you.

My complaints? The outdoor bar had loud music until after midnight, but after that it was as quiet. Also one night the hotel was full and all the phone lines were busy, so I couldn't make a call.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Chapayev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RG7
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a total of 3 nights with my family on an Explore Family tour. The hotel is ok in some ways for a budget hotel. However, it is dirty, the bathrooms were unclean, the room fridges either smelt horrible when they worked & the walls were mouldly. On the plus side the beds were very comfortable & the rooms had air conditioners, which worked to a fashion.

The swimming pool & surrounding areas are nice. The water is very cold at this time of year. The main areas of the hotel are fair. There were noticeably a small number of prostitutes walking the hotel each evening, but this was not a problem.

Take earplugs. The music in the bar blares out every evening until 1am, even though the bar is invariably almost empty. The next door Italian restaurant/snack bar is cheap & the food edible (with the possible exception of what seemed to be deep fried pizzas!). The hotel breakfast is well documented in other reviews!

The hotel s a long way out from Havanna Vieja (30min taxi ride) but the fares are cheap by Western standards. The local area of Kohly is reasonably upmarket & safe.

Explore usually make good value choices on their hotels. The rest of the hotels we stayed in were good or excellent. I assume they chose this hotel because of the swimming pool, as there is not much else to recommend it.

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

It comes down to how much you paid for your trip. I had a good deal so I took it. I only stayed there for 2 days and used the room as a storage for my luggage. Water is cold, bathroom if filthy. The neighborhood is, you can take taxi pirata from the hotel, around 4-5 CUC to get to Central Havana. The city is full of them, they are cheap and safe just make sure to make deal before and always have exact change to give him. There is one taxi pirata outside all the time, it's a red Lada. He has some one working at the hotel so the allow him to be there but he tends to be more expensive.
You can bring outside "visitor" for 20CUC witch you pay to the security.
The exchange rate is very bad, better go to the bank or change it at the airport. You can rent a safety box for 2CUC per day.
The breakfast is good with large selection.
The place is full of regular Cubans that come there to enjoy the pool for small fee. During those 2 days I noticed that night staff (including the night manager) has the tendency to try suck you in to buying them beer, bottle of rum. I don't care about any of that but I just don't like if someone thinks he can take you for a ride.
I will not stay there again only because of the water....I hate cold water.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

Very plain and simple... Its clean and its safe. It serves a buffet style breakfast which is average just as other buffet style meals in Cuba... so in other words it will fill the spot, and even though it is mediocre, you wont get sick from eating it. Coffee is bland, but the 24 hour snack bar makes good espresso and cuban coffee... Say hi to the girls sitting at the snack bar, they are quite friendly. There is a pasta/ pizza place right on site which provides decent and inexpensive food. No beach, only a swimming pool. Taxis are at the front which will take you to old Havana within about 10 minutes. On average it costs 8-10 CUC but if you hail a cab from the street (Panataxi) you may get there for 5 CUC. The Pinar del Rio, los Vinales trip is amazing. You can purchase a tour from reception. Overall the staff is outgoing, although you may come across an odd one that seems a little disgruntled. But I didnt come there for them anyways so it doesnt matter really. I like this place because it is in a residential area and it is not your typical tourist trap type of a resort, more like a condo style apartment building.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — distance to beach
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Swashbuckler416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#40 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.8 mi away
Starfish Montehabana
Starfish Montehabana
#22 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
2.0 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#41 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.4 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Bosque

Property: Hotel El Bosque
Address: 28A e/ 49A y 49C | Reparto Kohly Municipio Playa, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Bosque 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Bosque Hotel
El Bosque Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing