We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's real perfect place to stay in Habana”
Review of Melia Habana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Habana
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2014

It's real perfect place to stay in Habana. This hotel rates number two in the city. I did not stay at first but this one is very good. Pool lobby room breakfast etc. I liked all of them. Strait shuttle bus to old city free. Just like it.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sergio_Constansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano S, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Realestateagent C:

Thank you for posting your wonderful review of our Meliá Habana. This is very beneficial for us because other travelers thus acquire a good reference about our Hotel the one you considered "a perfect place to stay in Havana."

It's was a pleasure to verify that you fully enjoyed our pool, lobby, rooms, breakfast, etc. and I hope you will repeat your stay on your next visit. You will always be welcome here!.

Thankfully, I hope to greet you soon in this, your home in Havana!

Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 3,491 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very good in comparison with the rest, most impressed with the breakfast buffet, the cafeteria also has a really good snacking menu, and the sports bar had a really big projector, which was a must, since I was there during the world cup..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano S, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Sr. Alex B:

Con placer hemos comprobado mediante la lectura de su magnífica opinión sobre nuestro Meliá Habana, que Ud. nos cataloga como un hotel muy bueno y que está positivamente impresionado con nuestras ofertas y servicio.

Le agradezco mucho la gentileza de publicar sus comentarios, pues para nosotros es muy importante que otros viajeros reciban de primera mano los detalles que refiere acerca de las características de nuestro desayuno buffet, el menú de la cafetería y las facilidades del sport bar, donde nuestros clientes tienen la posibilidad de vivir importantes momentos, como le sucedió a usted con la Copa del Mundo.

Espero poder tener el gusto de saludarlo personalmente durante su próxima estancia en nuestro Hotel, que ojalá sea muy pronto...!

Atentamente,

Stefano Sturni
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

This is a delightful hotel, lovely lobby, check in was efficient and friendly. Currency exchange was easy. Room was very spacious, with big bathroom, TV, safe etc.
The breakfast buffet was well stocked and fresh. A good start to the day when touring.
The one thing that bothered me was the evening I went to the dinner buffet. I was followed from my table and shouted at in front of other diners that I hadn't left a tip. A tip for what exactly? It was a buffet so I served myself. I am by no means a bad tipper in any country, and as a former hotel manager I know the business. I was so embarrassed and quite angry at the time. Out of embarrassment I left more of a tip than I should have.
I can't say if it would stop me from returning to this hotel, and if I were to recommend this hotel, it would be with some caveats.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
6  Thank BigPauly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoSturni, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear BigPauly,
Thank you for posting your review about your stay at the Meliá Habana!
Honestly it has been a pleasure to verify your appreciated the beauty of its facilities, good reception and currency exchange, as well as the spaciousness of the rooms and the positive features of our breakfast buffet.
It is very unfortunate incident describing about the dinner and while we could not detect the name of the person, I guarantee that you have analyzed deeply with all staff in the restaurant and have implemented the appropriate measures to prevent a repeat of such a situation in the future.

I'm so sorry you has had to face this difficult time and I fully understand his disgust, but I hope that we can perhaps provide a second chance at that compensate your outweigh the negative effects of the bad attitude of an employee and it would demonstrate that our workforce is attentive and friendly and works with the main objective to get the full satisfaction of all its customers.

Hoping to welcoming you personally on your next stay, thank you again for posting your review and remain at your disposal to serve you when I can.
Best regards,

Stefano SturnI
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

After having arrived from the not-so-great Melia Varadero we were expecting more of the same, and I was wrong!
Room
We were given a sea view room with a balcony, well worth the view with some rum! The room as very ample with some sofas and more than enough for two people. As well as the bathroom. As for the cleanliness, everyday teh room was spotless!
Service
The service is what you expect from a Melia, happy staff,helpful and efficient! When we arrived a bell man helped us with our bags and with great conversation as well! I was impressed after having having experienced a service that did not really care about the guest. You really notice the change from a beach to the capital city!
Food
We only tried the breakfast which was a very extensive buffet with all kind of options, even smoked salmon! (not very common in Cuba) . The juice bar is really good with about 6 different juices, all freshly made.
Common areas
The hotel provides with all kind of shops for any immediate needs, including a house of habanos which is great for buying real habanos.
Location
Perhaps the only con it has if you go there as a tourist since its located at Miramar where is the embassies are located. The Habana vieja is around 15-20 minutes away but at least the hotel fixes this by offering free shuttles for the guest, like 5 a day. Coming handy and saving yourself a few bucks.
Bottom Line
If its one of the options you have its good to consider it! Although for me next time perhaps I would look for an hotel closer to the downtown!

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are the best for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlonsoFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoSturni, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Alfonso, de México:

Muchísimas gracias por compartir sus positivas impresiones sobre su estancia en nuestro Meliá Habana con los muchísimos usuarios de este importante sitio web.

Gracias por destacar que aquí se brinda "el servicio que usted espera" con un personal feliz, servicial y eficiente!! Sin dudas trasladaremos su opinión a todo el staff, que obviamente se sentirá estimulado al verificar que consigue el objetivo de trabajo por el cual se esfuerza diariamente.

Ha sido un gusto leer su opinión detallada acerca de la impecable limpieza de nuestras habitaciones y la belleza de las vistas, así como la calificación muy favorable de nuestros desayunos y demás servicios que brindamos.

Aún cuando al parecer usted ha decidido que, a pesar de nuestro servicio gratuito de buses hacia y desde el casco histórico de la ciudad, en su próxima visita a La Habana se hospedará en un hotel más cercano al "centro", nosotros estamos muy complacidos con su visita y su comentario y le reiteramos nuestra total disposición para recibirlo de nuevo y atenderle tal y como le gusta.

¡Hasta pronto!

Atentamente,

Stefano Sturni
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I and my wife arrived the hotel after midnight, check in was fast and it took us just a few minutes to get our key. The room was spacious as expected and generally clean. Some lamps in the room and the bath were in white light which did not compliment the room ambience. There was no complimentary bottle water in the room which most hotels offer. Views from the balcony was great, because this is a corner room, we were able to watch sunset at sea and sunrise on land. Foods at the restaurants are generally good, buffet breakfast offered good variety of fruits and juices. The free shuttle bus to and from Havana old town was most convenient to guests. We stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the pool which at some time was very congested, we cannot even get 2 poolside benches during one of our pool visits. Afternoon piano performances at the lobby bar were great although the grand piano needs some tune up. I am over happy with my stay and will come back when opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Seaview room is your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FrederickLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoSturni, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Mr. Frederick:

We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel with others.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Habana was as good as you expected and will be honoured and pleased to greet you personally during your next visit.

Cordially,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed there for few nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel was opened in 1998 but if you look at the building it looks much older. It is well maintained though.

We had the Level room so I cannot comment on the breakfast in the main restaurant but the one served in the Level bar was ok. Decent selection of food though the vegetables seemed to be lacking colours and taste - remember, this is Cuba and they do have problems with supply of some products so that was not a surprise to us.

We ate as well at the hotel Italian and Asian restaurant - both with very good food and service (previous veggie comment applies here as well).

Swimming pool is large and you can easily find a quiet spot if you need to.

Even though the hotel is located about 20 minutes ride from the Habana Vieja the hotel complimentary shuttle is very convenient. Remember that it leaves on the spot so don't be late.

The only drawback would be a little problem during the checkout: we booked a room with GBP rate confirmed and used UK credit card. At the hotel they take a pre-authorization on your card in USD, which seemed ok. But then when they actually charge the card they first use a different GBP exchange rate to the one available when you exchange cash (even at their own reception desk!) and then still charge you in USD with another exchange rate which includes commission for paying in dollars! If I had known that before checking-in I would simply bring cash not to be charged twice for the same operation...

Overall, very good hotel and definitely our choice for the next trip to Havana.

Room Tip: if possible, get the Level rooms - you get better room views, free WiFi and some other perks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoSturni, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Andre:

I would like to thank you first, for taking the time to report your feedback on Trip Advisor about that stay you really enjoyed at the Meliá Habana Hotel.

Thank you for mentioning the quality of food and service in our restaurants (although is true that we do have problems with supply of some products) and thank you for qualified us as a "very good hotel". Such comments are the best award we can receive from our customers.

Sorry for the incident that you referred in relation with money exchange but the USD is penalized in Cuba as well as Solways IDISO confirm the reservations in euros and here we use CUC... We sincerely apologize for this.

You will be welcome again, when you get back to Meliá Habana, your own election for next trip to this city!

Warmest regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We enjoyed staying for a week.Everything fine.Thank you! We made a tour of the town,spending some time at Havana Club beach and pool.It was gourgeos.The food and wine are very good,variety of them,very good service all over.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vasile D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanoSturni, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Vasile from Canada,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to report your feedback on Trip Advisor after your stay at the Meliá Habana Hotel.

Thank you for mentioning that "everything was fine... very good service all over". Such comments are the best award we may receive from our customers.

We hope to see you soon back in our resort.

Warmest regards from the Meliá Habana!!

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
3.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,744 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,662 reviews
4.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,783 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Habana

Address: Ave 3era, e/ 76 y 80 | Miramar Playa, Havana 11300, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#2 Family Hotel in Havana
#2 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#3 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $275 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Habana 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Miramar, overlooking the sea, 20 minutes from airport, 5 minutes from Havana Convention Center. 397 rooms, 4 suites, 12 Junior Suites, 98 Royal Service, sea view with balcony, Full bathroom, Air conditioning, Satellite TV, Safe, Minibar, 220 volts. Restaurants: Italian, Oriental Fusion, Grill, cafeteria and Buffets, 5 bars, Swimming pools with children's area, Babysitting service. Sauna, GYM, Massage, WI-FI Internet in all the hotel, Meeting facilities. Live Music. Free shuttle to old Havana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Habana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Habana Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Habana
Melia Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing