We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Havana”
Review of Melia Habana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Habana
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

As an well-traveled American, I was a little skeptical about our 4-5 star rated hotel in Havana. Well, I must say, we were pleasantly surprised!!!
The Melia Havana is located oceanfront (no beach / just rocky coastline) in one of the best neighborhoods of Havana - Miramontes' - walking distance to the mansions along 5th Avenue. There are other hotels next to it. They all looked very run down (one was a Triton brand).
The hotel was built (or completed) in 1998 and could use a little TLC, but considering the social and political climate in Cuba, the hotel is first-class and opulent. The hotel's website accurately depicts the style / condition of the hotel. You can easily exchange USD to CUC (Cuban Local Currency) at the hotel.
We ate in the restaurant each morning for breakfast and found the usual items for American breakfast (omelet bar, some meats, eggs, fruit, pastries and delicious croissants) along with Cuban breakfast specialties (rice, chick peas, seasoned ground beef) and even some Spanish specialties (blue cheese, chorizo, Serrano ham). One of my favorites became "white National cheese" with quince paste on a croissant!
The restaurant has other dining options: Chinese and Italian restaurants as well as a sandwich café. We only ate one dinner (Chinese) at the hotel because it was our first night and we arrived late. No need to eat at the hotel for dinner because there are many National (government owned) restaurants serving delicious food in some of the opulent, abandoned mansions. We grabbed a jamon/queso baguette at the café one afternoon and it was very good (it even came with piping hot french fries!)
The rooms were nicely appointed - even had current model TVs with access to CNN, the Weather Channel and other random stations! We were in 2121 - VERY NICE and VERY LARGE room with a wrap around ocean-front balcony. As in many other countries, the beds are not big & fluffy. The bathrooms were sparse but had what we needed: 2 wash cloths, 2 hand towels and 2 bath towels - no more / no less. They provide a pull-out-from-wall hairdryer that will do in a pinch (I brought my own travel one with more horsepower!). They did provide shampoo and shower gel, but we chose to use our own and give the hotel's supply to the needy locals that we visited.
The pool is absolutely huge. They have a pool-side towel cabana to check out towels. A nice bar with one side as swim-up. And yummy Mojitos!
We were able to visit the beautifully stunning National Hotel. While impressive and full of rich history (especially if you are impressed by where famous people sleep), I would choose the Melia Havana over it because it is much more modern (large rooms / large bathrooms).
If you ever find yourself lucky enough to visit Cuba, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: 2121 - corner with wrap around balcony 2132 - large with high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank longbeachCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 3,538 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel is rated highly be European visitors to the island just 90 miles off the Florida coast, but it had one glaring fault during my stay in mid-November. Only one of the four small elevators was working the first four days. Finally, a second was in service the final two days. Not good for a Spanish-run hotel.
Otherwise, our stay was comfortable. The room was spacious, the bath large, hot water quickly gushed from the shower head and the beds -- although queens pushed together -- made for a good night's sleep.
The wifi access was reasonably priced, although way to slow at times.
The place was clean and served a large and hardy breakfast from its buffer cafeteria. Especially the chocolate for drizzling over croissants, bananas ...

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Bendercl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I chose the Melia Habana last September for a one-week-long business trip.
The hotel, on the coast and in the Miramar neighborhood, is modern and elegant with a huge marble lobby, perfect for gatherings, and a beautiful swimming pool with tropical gardens. Although not centrally-located, the hotel has a very convenient shuttle service to old Havana.
Following an initial hiccup (the air conditioning in my room was not working), I was able to get a similar ocean-view room on another floor rather quickly, probably because I speak fluent Spanish. My room was very spacious and comfortable and the bed was excellent. Breakfast choices were very good considering that in Cuba one cannot always get the same variety of food generally available in other Caribbean countries.
Staff was courteous, and although professionalism was not constant, it was more than compensated by the well-known Cuban warmth.
The Mojito and the Piña Colada at the lobby bar were delicious! The hotel has a nice choice of restaurants. I tried the Italian one, La Scala, where I was more than pleasantly surprised by their varied menu and their pasta, perfectly cooked al dente and delicious.
Should I have to return to Havana for business or on vacation, I would gladly return to this hotel.
Eleonora Dufault

Room Tip: Ocean-view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eleojac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have done extensive business travel around the world and i was impressed with this hotel from a service perspective.

Pros
- the staff was exceptionally professional, attentive, nice and helpful
- the hotel itself was a cut above the rest in Havana
- everything at the hotel was as promised
- the food and drinks in the hotel were very good
- fast enough wifi internet!!!!!!!! ( which i was told did not exist in Cuba:))
- located in a great neighborhood with a few restaurants and shops close by

Cons
- a slight problem in obtaining the room on time on day 1 of a 3 night stay
- taking the elevators can be risky....my wife was caught in one for 20 minutes

Staying at the Melia Habana was a very good experience. A melia service rep , Yon, ( i hope i have the spelling right) went out of his way to make things right. He and his colleague (Jesus) made follow up calls to us to ensure that all was well. The staff throughout the hotel were up to the task and executed well! I also very much appreciated the staff's efforts to help in either english or french since my spanish is limited.

I recommend this hotel and would return .

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are above the 6 th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioAlejandroF, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your experience with others and for your nice comments about our Professional resort and the service we provide.

I am delighted to read that your visit to Melia Havana was a very good experience that our staff made you feel nice and welcomed . We will keep on working hard to upgrade our quality to meet all our guests expectations.

We will be very happy and pleased to pass your gentle opinions to all and specially to our employes Yoan y Jesus, because comments like yours, motivate them to improve the quality of the services they provide.

We would like to offer our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience resulting from the inappropriate operation of the elevators in our hotel.We kindly confirm you that in the coming weeks this problem will be solved and, that your review about the late check in, has been thoroughly analyzed with the departments involved.
It will be nice if you give us another opportunity to be your hosts again.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Havana once more.

Best regards,


Lixandra Escobar Lòpez

Jefe de Calidad y CAC / Quality Manager & Assistant Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

For those visiting Havana, this property is comfortable and welcoming. The rooms are large, very clean and ours overlooked the sea. The balcony was also very nice. The staff were helpful and friendly, always willing to assist. Our breakfasts were always top notch and the lobby bar provided a nice spot to meet up with friends over a good drink and snacks. While we didn't use the pool, many people were and it was lovely. The power flickered a few times, but always popped right back on within seconds. Not much of an inconvenience at all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank writesabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioAlejandroF, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear client,
We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Staff Wonderful Hotel with others.
I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Habana was great, and that you found our staff friendly and helpful, at all times we are also very pleased to know that our bars and breakfast service options were of your preference.
We will gladly inform our staff about your comments as they will give them confidence to increase the quality of their daily services, as you expected and will be honoured and pleased to greet you personally during your next visit.

Cordially,


Lixandra Escobar Lòpez

Jefe de Calidad y CAC / Quality Manager & Assistant Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Visited here for the first 3 days of our Cuba trip and was a nice place to get started. However, location must be 20 minutes by (free) shuttle bus to Old Havana which I didn't fully appreciate, but I can't blame the hotel for that!

I thought the rooms were nice, large, clean and balcony was an added bonus for a 'city' hotel. Spent a little time at the (exceptionally large) pool which was more than sufficient for a short stay.

Ate in a couple of the restaurants - the Italian and the main a la carte restaurant. Without being completely blown away, it was probably as good as anything else we encountered in Cuba.

Does it live up to a 5* rating? Probably not, but compared to the final Havana hotel I stayed in before flying home, it is like a palace.

Room Tip: If you are only in Havana for a couple of days, probably not the best location to see the rest of Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GerryM0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioAlejandroF, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear client,

We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your experience with others and for your wonderful comments about our Nice Hotel.

I am delighted to read that your visit to Melia Havana was a very good place to begin you trip, and you really liked our clean rooms and exceptionally large swimming pool.

We will keep on working hard to upgrade our quality to meet all our guests expectations.

We will be very happy and pleased to pass your kind remarks to our staff, as comments like yours encourage them to improve and offer the best of themselves.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Havana once more.

Best regards,

Lixandra Escobar Lòpez

Jefe de Calidad y CAC / Quality Manager & Assistant Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

At first sight the hotel looks like a concrete monstrosity, but once you're inside, it is a beautiful place. We arrived straight from the airport, so were tired, hot and stressed, particularly as Virgin Atlantic had lost my wife's luggage (along with that of a number of other passengers on our flight).
Whist the rep on our holiday was no help at all, the concierge at our hotel couldn't be more helpful, repeatedly calling lost luggage for us to find out what was happening. The hotel itself was very nice with very nice large rooms, the lobby piano bar, the buffet breakfast restaurant, and a number of good restaurants and cafés in the hotel. The pool looked good too, but we didn't actually see anyone use it on our trip. We enjoyed the cafe restaurant, which had excellent service from the friendly waiters and also had a good meal at the Italian restaurant which was a more formal service.
First bad point was that a bird smashed into our window at dawn on the first morning. Housekeeping picked the bird up that day, but left the pool of blood on our balcony for the rest of our stay.
The price for WiFi access was ridiculous at 10 cuc per hour, so we didn't bother... Most international hotels have free WiFi these days so it was very annoying that it was so expensive! The only other bad point really is the location... It was on the seafront, but the rocky shoreline was fenced off, and you are a 20 minute Taxi ride from the centre so sightseeing means spending 30 cuc on a round trip to Havana. We did enjoy travelling by classic American cars though, so it wasn't such a bad thing.
Oh, and if you were wondering, my wife didn't get her luggage back until we got home despite repeated promises from Virgin to put it on flights out to us, and it's seemingly impossible to get any compensation out of them too.

Room Tip: We had a very nice view of the sea and the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Top_Starfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
3.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,775 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
4.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Havana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Habana

Address: Ave 3era, e/ 76 y 80 | Miramar Playa, Havana 11300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#2 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#2 Family Hotel in Havana
#3 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $239 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Habana 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Miramar, overlooking the sea, 20 minutes from airport, 5 minutes from Havana Convention Center. 397 rooms, 4 suites, 12 Junior Suites, 98 Royal Service, sea view with balcony, Full bathroom, Air conditioning, Satellite TV, Safe, Minibar, 220 volts. Restaurants: Italian, Oriental Fusion, Grill, cafeteria and Buffets, 5 bars, Swimming pools with children's area, Babysitting service. Sauna, GYM, Massage, WI-FI Internet in all the hotel, Meeting facilities. Live Music. Free shuttle to old Havana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Habana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Habana Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Habana
Melia Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing