We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice big hotel, in a very nice part of the city, a little far from all the action .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Habana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Habana
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice big hotel, in a very nice part of the city, a little far from all the action .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The Melia Havana has a beautiful facility. It is well built and the rooms are ample and clean. This hotel is located in Havana's fanciest neighbourhood . It is an extremely safe area as many embassies are in the immediate vicinity, located in the expansive mansions of the old Cuban aristocracy. Getting downtown will cost you about $10-$15. The all inclusive breakfast buffet is quite good although the a la carte restaurant and cafe are just so so.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canibal319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario Alejandro F, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Mr Canibal319

With great pleasure we receive your short and objective comments about your stay in our hotel.
Thank you is the small word that we can say, because we always take your opinions as goals to meet. It is all a commitment.
Remaining that just because of the location we have, a free bus is part of our services facilitating our guests can go and back to Havana center.
We hope to continue choosing Cuba and Melia on your next trip.
Regarding

Darío Fernández

Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,447
    1,191
    378
    96
    62
See reviews for
631
1,431
139
361
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This beatiful hotel is luxorious and has all the little things that help the guest to have a real delicious experience. All the areas of the hotel from the lobby to the restaurants, the rooms and the pool are fantastic. The service is also remarkable. The hotel has a beautiful sight of the ocean and is not very far from the Old Havana (downtown). If you like luxury while you discover a magic and exotic place like Havana is, you should choose the Melia.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view. And a cab from this hotel to downtown should cost no more than 6 CUC, be caref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco Adolfo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel itself was more than I had anticipated. This was our first trip to Cuba and I was told not to expect much, from other people. You have to remeber we are not in North America where our standards are higher. The hotel lobby was spacious and air conditioned. We arrived on one of those inexpensive Sunwing Charters where we left Calgary at 8;30 P.M., flew all night and arrived at Veradero airport around 4:00 A.M. Bus ride into Havana we arrived at the Melia around 7:30. VERY tired due to the TWO SCREAMING babies that were seated directly behind us on the plane, making it impossible to catch a nap. We were aware that check in was not until 3:00. Spoke to Yelina at reception as we only wanted to store our luggage. She checked the computer and said that at the moment no rooms were available. As we expected. She said the housekeeping staff did not arrive until 9:00 and she would see what she could do. We explored the hotel. The pool area is very lovely. We found it to be well maintained. Sat in the lobby until a bit after nine, trying not to fall asleep. At 9:15 we thought we'd see and to our surprise, our room was ready!!! Many thanks for that. Didn't even retrieve our luggage, went up and fell asleep. Plenty of hot water and pressure, room was spacious and clean. Of course a safe was provided. The restaurants were of a reasonable quality. No meals were included in our plan. The worst rip off we encountered was the breakfast buffet. Lots of beverages, but the other selections were not very good. This was also the most expensive meal at 15.00. Needless to say, didn't go back. The Italian offering I felt was quite good. I would recommend the pizza. Nice assortment of breads. Only went to the fusion once and it was acceptable. Didn't charge too much to the room, used the minibar more. Keept a genaral tally in my head. When we checked out, the bill was quite a bit more than I had anticipated. Running quickly down and doing mental additions, it didn't tally. Asked for a calculator. She grabbed the bill back and said 'did you get a towel from the pool?' Just about as fast as we said no, she had a new bill printed out that was 30.00 cheaper. When I read the first bill there was nothing on it besides minibarres and rest. so I'm not sure what happened . The 30.00 extra seemed to me to be a bit of a scam. Should have asked to keep a copy of the first to compare with the second but didn't. The minbar bill(s) seemed to be inflated, but there again I wasn't keeping close track and after the first day, they quit leaving chits in the roon when they restocked. To us, all of the front staff seemed friendly enough. We exchanged all of our money there. The rates were reasonable and it was easier than finding a bank. We booked tours and got info through Sunwing so we did not utilize a lot of services from the Hotel. Alll in all it was good and I would recommend and possibly return.

Room Tip: I would'nt pay extra for an ocean view as they all have partial ocean views. All rooms are aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calaltaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario Alejandro F, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Mr calaltaca

It is a great honour choosing us for your holiday in Cuba, and let us knows your experiences, it helps.
It draws our attention the detailed description about the services enjoyed and thus everything related to your account's room and we want to mention that all the prices of the minibar products are exposed just above it, so our guests can check and have no doubts about what they consumed.
In another hand, the price of the buffet in the breakfast restaurant is not more than the established and we really sorry any inconvenience this might cause.
Thank you for your comments, inviting you to enjoy this destination in another occasion.


Darío Fernández

Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

OK so you're going to Havana then stay in Havana! This has a great pool but is 20 minutes outside the main tourist attractions of Havana. You'll need a taxi or use their free shuttle bus to get into Havana. If you can live with that journey out then it is OK as a base.

If the weather is fine, for about 20 CuC, instead of using a taxi or the shuttle back, have one of the classic cars drive you back and you get to tick that box also.

The rooms are tourist class rooms...comfortable and clean but not luxurious. Electronic room safes are also there.

The breakfast rooms has a mix of foods but the hot buffet is best avoided. Go for the pastries or omelettes. The coffee is also pretty average.

Overall, it served its purpose as a base bu I would have preferred to be closer to old Havana.

There is a gym and it seems to have 6 cardio machines, a weight stack and some free weights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHBPCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario Alejandro F, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Mr BHBPCP

Thank you for choosing Cuba as a destiny for your holidays and specially which just 20 minutes drive our hotel. Mentioning that we are located in a business and resident area from center. That is the reason why we provide our guests a free shuttle bus service to and from the old city at different times during the day.
We appreciate a lot, all your points of view about the different services and facilities in the hotel and we want to invite you to enjoy Cuba as a destiny once again and Melia Hotels.

Regarding
Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I went back on a trip to visit family so I stayed close by in the Miramar neighborhood where I grew up. We had a rental car so it took us less than 20 minutes to get to "Old Havana" and other points of interest. The hotel has a shuttle bus that leaves at different times during the day and early evening and picks you up where it drops you off. The food at the hotel was o.k., nothing to brag about. Brunch was included and it was good with many foods to choose. The room was large, very clean and it had an ocean view. The bar is very large and relaxing. Drinks are a little expensive and small.

WARNING: If you buy any CDs from the musicians playing at the hotel restaurants, make sure that it is a working copy! We bought one and since we did not have a CD player with us we did not check it until we returned home and found out it was blank!

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors.....there may be a premium included, but if there is a large convention/ p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkerbellisima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario Alejandro F, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Sra tinlerbellisima

Choosing us to spend your holiday in Cuba fills us of proud and to know that your stay has covered your expectations was the best way to do honour to this vote of confidence that you gave us.
With great pleasure we received all the positive opinions you sent us concerning the hotel and the different services that we have, as well as the submitted recommendations.
We have already taken note regarding to the CDs, if you send us an address we can compensate with a new disk, the problem which it had with the previous one.
Once more thank you and do not hesitate to return to Cuba and Melia hotels with it.


Darío Fernández

Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here at the end of our trip to Cuba, as a kind of stopover before flying back from Havana. At the beginning of the trip, we stayed in an excellent casa in Havana, and I'm glad we did it that way round, as if we'd stayed here at the beginning, it wouldn't have been as enjoyable. However, for our purposes, it was absolutely fine. Some reviews have commented on the location being far out of the centre, which is true, but actually having seen a lot of central Havana at the beginning of our holiday, I enjoyed exploring the Miramar district this hotel is in, and a 15min walk away we found an excellent restaurant (thanks to our Lonely Planet guide) with some of the best food I ate in Cuba, as well as a few bars with some outside music. Also, the hotel put on a free shuttle bus to the centre, so it didn't cost anything to go and do some souvenir shopping on our last day.

Having come from an average resort in Varadero, this hotel seemed of an excellent standard, particularly for Cuba. The room was really nice, and there were even some English channels on the TV. A shame you couldn't make a cup of tea or coffee but I guess you end up paying for the extras at a 5* hotel.

The pool is beautiful, a bit too cold for me, but it was a windy day that we used it. We ate in the cafeteria and it was pretty decent food, and not too overpriced. Breakfast was fantastic - so much variety and of a really good standard.

They let us store our luggage on the last day and use the bus into the centre even though we only stayed one night and had checked out. So it suited our purposes perfectly. If I was holidaying in Havana, I wouldn't choose it, but for some luxury on the last night before flying home it was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario Alejandro F, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear EmmaW

Thank you for choosing Cuba as a destiny for your holidays, to know about our culture and history along the island, also for choosing our hotel to spend your last days in Cuba before getting back home.
We appreciate your comments about all our services and restaurants and also the time to send them to us
We only want to invite you to continue choosing Meliá resorts to enjoy your holidays.
Thank you.

Regarding
Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We chose Cuba as our honeymoon destination & we are very pleased with the decision we made.
The trip started in Havana at the Melia Havana hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted with a welcome card from the diretor of the hotel & then we were taken to a welcome cocktail at the bar where all the amenities of the hotel as well as all the things we could do in Havana were explained. Grettel, our host was super nice & helpful in explaining how to get around Havana & recommending the things we could do, we were given a map of the city & free bus tickets courtesy of the hotel. Oh! at the bar we were given free mojitos which were delicious!! Then we were taken to our room which was a corner room with a spectacular view of the ocean, there was a bottle of champagne & a box of chocolates for us as well as another welcome card. The bathroom also had very nice amenities such as bath salts etc. Our room in general was very comfortable, we had a king size bed facing the beautiful view of the ocean, a plasma tv (which is quite good for Cuba standards). We were also given 2 free hours of internet that we could use directly in our room (also great for Cuba standards). There were his&hers slippers for us which was a very nice touch. In general we felt very pampered & each night we received a different gift from our host. For example on the second night there was a bottle of Havana Club Rum (yummy!). Food is also quite good in this hotel, we tried the japanese restaurant & we also loved the breakfast buffet. the pool although we only used it once is very nice and long.
In general we were very pleased with our room & all the attention we received, we thank Grettel for her hospitality and we highly recommend staying at Melia Havana.

Room Tip: Corner room facing the ocean, you´ll have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pau_gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
4.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Habana

Property: Melia Habana
Address: Ave 3era, e/ 76 y 80 | Miramar.Playa, Havana 11300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#2 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#2 Family Hotel in Havana
#3 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Habana 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Miramar, overlooking the sea, 20 minutes from airport, 5 minutes from Havana Convention Center. 397 rooms, 4 suites, 12 Junior Suites, 98 Royal Service, sea view with balcony, Full bathroom, Air conditioning, Satellite TV, Safe, Minibar, 220 volts. Restaurants: Italian, Oriental Fusion, Grill, cafeteria and Buffets, 5 bars, Swimming pools with children's area, Babysitting service. Sauna, GYM, Massage, WI-FI Internet in all the hotel, Meeting facilities. Live Music. Free shuttle to old Havana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Melia Habana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Habana Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Habana
Melia Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing