We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Melia Habana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melia Habana
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed at the Melia Habana February 22 - 29. The hotel is outside Havana's historic area but has a free shuttle that runs several times a day into the heart of the city. The hotel is only a block away from Havana's embassy area which is a great place to go for walks amongst the old mansions now mostly restored as embassies.

The room was very comfortable and clean with a newer flat-screen TV and huge balcony. There was wireless throughout the hotel including the rooms. The hotel has 3 restaurants - a casual place that's open 24 hours, an Italian restaurant and a fusion restaurant that does a decent job with specialties such as sushi. I ate at all 3 and they were good by Cuban standards.

This is a good hotel that won't disappoint.

This is a good hotel and people won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger I think and have bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beijingres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 3,490 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the Melia for 6 nights and found the hotel impressive at first but a little tired by the end. The lobby is, as written by others, huge and impressive with a good bar. There is large pool which was only half open when we there, as the smaller half was being maintained, however the pool is so big it really was not a problem.

The rooms were large and well maintained, but remember this is cuba! that means that this is 3 star hotel in europe, resources are thin on the ground in cuba.

there is a free shuttle into havana that runs all day and was really useful.

food in the hotel was really surprisingly good as was the overall service.

Negatives were:
1) The shuttle runs to the fort in havana in the evenings, but gets there with only the canon ceremony in mind so you are kind of rushed to take advantage of this.
2) The hotel is kind of "open air" with an atrium though the middle of the rooms, this meant a lot of birds, there was a lot of bird poo on our balcony which had we had children with us would have been very upsetting
3) there was a noticeable amount of prostitution in the hotel, this was funny at first but disconcerting by the end and a little uncomfortable, I actually spoke to the manager about this as I did not know if this was normal cuba :) he claimed that it wasn't and that actually the restaurants downstairs were not part of the hotel, this is an iffy judgement as these restaurants were charged to our room bill and are in the same building!

The hotel is in a good area of cuba, havana, maybe even the best area as this is the diplomatic end with all the embassies and the diplomatic residencies.

I would stay there again but not for the same length of time.

Room Tip: Try to get on the top three floors (7, 8, and 9) as the rooms were of a higher standard and the corr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank istanbultrip059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario Alejandro F, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Mr Istanbultrip059


Dear Mr Istanbultrip059

We apreciate your comments about our hotel reganding rooms, swimming pool and food. About comments, we have already checked with each area responsible and his staff. Regarding others, we are deeply surprised since we are used to getting via web or through surveys, clients negative opinions about about the hard and continuous work made by the security department of the hotel.

We are very much sorry if these inconveniences have clouded your opinion of your stay in here, our hotel.

We hope you back Cuba, and Meliá Hotel´s.

Best regarding


Darío Fernández


Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

cant understand how this hotel is recommended for 2012 on trip advisor. have just come back from a stay there and was really very disappointed with the place. room decor is tired; scuff marks on walls, general sense of low to bad maintenance; very poor food; badly ventilated main restaurant so smell from buffet breakfast permeates the whole space; very far away from central havana; little to offer in itself; huge atrium style lobby not at all inviting and very cold; there are so many other options in havana that i cant understand how this ranks number 3;

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelleralways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario Alejandro F, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Mr Travelleralways

We are deeply sorry about your image of our hotel. We would have really appreciated if you would have told us about your problems while in here because we are concerned about some of your complaints whisch are really new for us. Some of them, like the location of the hotel and the lack of warmth at the lobby area, we keep on working every day for you all to feel very comfortable, this is shown with the free buses going to old Havana several times a day. Regarding the lobby, we have redecorated all over the place. We hope these complaints don´t stop your coming to our Melia Hotels

Best regarding

Darío Fernández

Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Then the Melia is probably as good as you will get in Havana. We spent two nights there as our 11 day tour started. It is getting a little tired but has all the comforts of home, including internet which is expensive and patchy. You might find your luggage boys will try to sell you an access card, we did and it worked for a time, so no complaints there. Close to the Melia is a supermarket, a great place to stock up on supplies that will be virtually impossible to purchase once you leave the capital. The only downside to the Melia is that it is a fair distance from the Old City and the night spots.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BarbaraaAnneMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dario Alejandro F, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Dear Mr Bimbadeen,



We really apreciatte your comments about your stay in Havana, in particular, our Hotel.

We are aware we should work harder for the maintenance of the hotel and we know it is not enougth yet.

We have checked all your comments with our staff so that they never happen again

About de position of the hotel, we have a free bus going to the center of the city several times Day.

We just have to invite you again to your home in Havana, our Hotel.

Best regards

Darío Fernández

Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Great Hotel that deserves all the money spent. If only the location was nearer the city center it would have been the best hotel ever stayed! Viva Cuba

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErichMarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lixandra_Escobar, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Mr Erich Marta
We appreciate a lot all your excellent comments about the hotel, the staff and our service.
We are very thankful to know you will recommend us with all your friends

Best regarding

Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel in Sep 2009, while visiting Havana.
Hotel doesn't have a beach and maybe isn't very beautiful from outside but standard is very high! We were welcomed with delicious drinks and and food in restaurant(which looks very posh) is simple the best !!!It's worth going there just for meal;)
Rooms are very nice as well..
I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: get room on south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lixandra_Escobar, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Mrs Anna G

We felt very glad and flattered when we read your comments.
We have received many notes from different members of our staff showing how thankful they are for such beautiful comments on their job performance and effort.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments and we promise you that we will continue doing our best to satisfy our clients which is our most important goal to achieve.
Best regards


Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We have booked this hotel through a week package with another place to finish our week in Varadero. The hotel is indeed, as other travellers wrote, far from Havana Vieja. We arrived early afternoon and our room wasn't ready yet. We had a lunch in the italian restaurant while waiting for our room. Very good meal, good service but rather slow. And a handwritten bill was handed to us at the end. We wondered how much of the invoice goes to the hotel and how much stays with the personnel.
When we were given our rooms, we found out a comfortable and large room, on the street side, 4th floor. Noisy at all times, but bearable. The bathroom floor seemed dirty but after asking the room service lady to have it cleaned, we found out the marble floor was like acid etched, as if some cleaning solution had been dropped on it.
Beds were very comfortable, linens were clean, but bath towels were more like large hand towels. Our maid at a time explained to us she had to stop working to get a surgery, when we asked for some cleaning. Poor lady! We found out later she did not in fact.
Later in our stay we ate at the buffet (brazilian) and did not ask for the price when ordering coffee. We were astounded to find out our meal cost us 6 to 7 CUC and the coffees cost us 4 CUC each. Our advice is to go to the small shopping center next to the hotel where you can get a decent cup of coffee for 0,50 CUC. Another option is to cross the street and go to a small restaurant by the name of Amelia, in the office building across, where we had a good lunch and coffee for much cheaper than at the hotel.
The pool seems very nice, and clean. We did not use it though.

Room Tip: Avoid those on the street front or west side, they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lixandra_Escobar, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Pierre B
we would like to thank you for devoting some of your time to read this letter and most of all for sending your opinions to us, by means of which you work together with the staff of Meliá Habana Hotel to offer the best service to our clients.

We already read your comments related to our Italiant Restaurant and rooms, we are looking forward to take the corresponding actions to prevent similar experiences from happening to our future clients.
It is great that you had sent all your opinions to us, we are very thankful for that and would like to remind you once again that you can think of us as your home in Havana.
Regards,

Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
3.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,744 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,662 reviews
4.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,781 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Habana

Address: Ave 3era, e/ 76 y 80 | Miramar Playa, Havana 11300, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#2 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#2 Family Hotel in Havana
#3 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $277 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Habana 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Miramar, overlooking the sea, 20 minutes from airport, 5 minutes from Havana Convention Center. 397 rooms, 4 suites, 12 Junior Suites, 98 Royal Service, sea view with balcony, Full bathroom, Air conditioning, Satellite TV, Safe, Minibar, 220 volts. Restaurants: Italian, Oriental Fusion, Grill, cafeteria and Buffets, 5 bars, Swimming pools with children's area, Babysitting service. Sauna, GYM, Massage, WI-FI Internet in all the hotel, Meeting facilities. Live Music. Free shuttle to old Havana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Habana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Habana Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Habana
Melia Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing