We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, modern very well appointed hotel”
Review of Melia Habana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Habana
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This is a beautiful modern hotel. The bedroom was very spacious, very nicely furnished and had everthing that you'd expect at a hotel of this standard. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The buffet breakfast had extensive choice and tasty. We only ate at the Italiena restaurant and that was good. No complaints at all about this hotel - well worth the stay.

The hotel is situated in the "diplomatic area" of Havana and wandering around that area we founda small cafe Amelia (opposite the hotel in the trade centre complex) for a tasty lunch for around 5CUCs. We had also been recommended a restaurant by the same name also close to the hotel but we chose to eat in Old Havana for the evening.

No problems getting into old Havana nor getting back - there is the hotel's bus service or plenty of taxis of every sort ready to take you.

Tip everyone - that's how the Cuba economy now works. Don't complain about it just do it. If you can afford to stay at this hotel you can afford to tip and it sooo benefits the Cuban people.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMN34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lixandra_Escobar, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Dear JMN34:
We felt very glad and flattered when we read your comments.
We would like to thank you once again for your comments and we promise you that we will continue doing our best to satisfy our clients which is our most important goal to achieve.
And remember we will always be at your service to guarantee the best stay ever as you deserve.

Best regards.

Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,454)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 3,454 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2011

The worst experience ever!
where to start?
choice of food at breakfast was very poor, but it was not the worst-
two days there weren't clean glasses, cups, forks .. one day we just had to give up our coffee ..
nearly missed the show Tropicana because there is no iron in the room, after 3 calls to reception and almost 3 hours of waiting we were lucky to get it at the end..
the cocktails in the evening better not to drink, they are not worth the money,but at lunch time they were quite good.
on our last day after 10 minutes of waiting we had to leave the Brazilian restaurant ,apparently it wasn"t working but no one told us,even though few members of staff were there
went to Italian instead where we were fast and efficiently serviced by Marina, and had one of the best steaks in Cuba
and location is as bad as this hotel , only few shuttle buses per day,you need to book your journey to the old town ahead, because it could be full if you decide to go there at last minute.
VERY VERY DISSAPOINTED.

Room Tip: look for somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kral26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lixandra_Escobar, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Dear Kral 26
We have read your coments as well as the suggestions you give us to help us improve the quality of the service at Melia Habana Hotel, which was visited recently by you in Havana, Cuba.

We would like to offer you our deepest apologies for all the inconveniences we might have caused you, since it is very clear to us that we were unable to satisfy all your needs, as we would have liked to.
It is a great pleasure for us to let you know that your opinions and suggestions will always be welcome by us, at the same time we would be very thankful to know that all the inconveniences experienced by you in our hotel are of no obstacle for you to continue being one of the frequent visitors at our Melia Hotels whenever you come to Cuba, either for pleasure or for business matters.

May our deepest apologies get to you in the name of the staff Melia Habana Hotel.

Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

we just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, before we travelled on to Valadero for remaining 10 days.
The hotel was spacious and clean, staff ok, but not friendly hard for them to understand english.
Our room over looked tennis courts and roof to reception, lean out of balcony we could see sea. found toilet paper shampoo ect was not replace, buy your own.
room was big and clean.
we wont go back to this hotel as the dining room food was cold, had microwaves to heat food up, My milky coffee's came Cold, had to microwave it, got fed up of microwaving I stuck to cold drinks and salad n bread. Microwaves was brought in because a lot of complaints.
taxi ride to havana central n old havana, so we went every night to sample hot food at hemmingways hotel, highly reccommended place.
Overall I think this hotel is more for quick buissness trips than holiday hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorjan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The room was very spacious, clean and I had a view of a beach and the tennis courts and also looking towards the city about 8 miles away.
Checking in was an experience as I was booked in as part of a group booking but travelling from another country by different means. So that flumoxed the reception a bit, but it was all a good experience. The foyer was huge and it wasn't easy finding the lift at first, but was assisted with good grace.

The room facilities were A1 and spacious. The shower was hot and roomy, with a good hot and pressurised system. The bed was extremely comfy and I had no problem sleeping at all.

The only snag I could find is the location, but this also proved a bit of a winner in that I thought I would just walk around the local area for a look and ended up walking into central Havana along the whole length of the Malecon. At an easy pace it took about 3 hours.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WartyTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Melia Habana. Rooms are nice, we had a nice view of the ocean, comfortable bed and quiet at night. But the TV is very old. One towel hanger was broken.
During breakfast they don´t clean tables, they just don´t bring you napkins, forks, knives... you have to wait for glasses and dishes. The coffe machines are always out of order. They have 3 of them. One morning, there was no coffee! But NO morning the 3 were working. The food was good.
Soaps, shampoo and toilet paper aren´t replaced.
Pool is very nice, the lobby bar too. The italian restaurant and the buffet restaurant were nice too. Not cheap, neither of them, but Cuba is expensive.
The free shuttle service is good if you book.
hair dryer was not working, I asked for maintenance at reception desk in the morning, as we were leaving for a city tour. We came back and nothing! Complained and the fixed it in half an hour.
Although it´s far from Old Havana, it´s easy to take a taxi and there is a supermarket nearby.
Over all, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lixandra_Escobar, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2011

Dear Olivia

We are deeply sorry for all the inconveniences you had during your stay in our Hotel. It was really frustrating to us to know all the problems you went through right after you departure. For sure we could have done something to change you mind and to make of your stay an unforgettable one, full of nice memories worth to keep forever. We would have felt lucky if we could have been able to meet you before your departure.
We thank you for taking some of your time to let us know about it.
We would like you to take notice of our contact information to let us know if you ever come back to Havana, to give us the opportunity of making of your return a very special occasion.
Best regards
Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

The hotel is modern with well equipped bedrooms and bathrooms. The outdoor pool area looked attractive, and all the staff were helpful and friendly - I include the money changing at reception. The whole place is kept spotless. But the buffet food offered in the main restaurant when we arrived (9.00 pm) was miserable. Luke warm, little choice and small quantity. Breakfast was a considerable improvement and their speciality restaurants appear to be attractive, well served, and to offer good food.
For us the main disappointment was that it was a 20 min. taxi ride to everything that attracted us in Old Havana. There was a shuttle bus but it was not convenient for us especially as its last trip back was at about 7.0 pm. We would have preferred to stay in town.
There was little or nothing to interest us in the immediate area except the Tropicana night club. We found this hugely disappointing. It's a vast area and we were packed like sardines. The show was undeniably colourful and slick, a masterful production. But it is also brash and loud and non-stop, and it does not feature the music of Cuba that we had hoped to hear. The many beautiful girls wear amazing costumes and perform countless dancses perfectly. But it didn't excite quite so much as they all looked about 16 and wore full body stockings. Perhaps I shouldn't have said that!
If you want Cuban music go to Old Havana where it seems there's music being made every 50 yards or so.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lixandra_Escobar, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2011

Dear Mr Ken 77 ,

We already read your comments related to our Buffet Restaurant, and we are looking forward to take the corresponding actions to prevent similar experiences from happening to our future clients. In respect to your comments regarding our shuttle bus service, and the location of the Hotel let us say we are deeply sorry since there is no much we can do about it as you can figure out, mainly about the location of the Hotel; however we have buses at different hours during the day up to 9.00 p.m. and we have taxi service available for the hours in between.
It is great that you had sent all your opinions to us, we are very thankful for that and would like to remind you once again that you can think of us as your home in Havana.
Regards,
Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I had 4 nights in this hotel, traveling with some coworkers for business. I used the SERVICIO REAL, which offers the highest standards. No claim, everything was absolutely perfect. Buffet breakfast was really good, offering services in 9th floor for SR clients (quicker) and basement area (close to the pool). Taxi services always safe and opportune. Night shows were remarkable (it was for San Valentin night ). Staff was very friendly and courteous. Exchange money available in the hotel. From CAD to CUC the exchange rate was .89, it was low considering the CAD is stronger that USD in these days. The only bad point, is the lack of beaches in all the Miramar area. Only rocks and rocks. Pools were beautiful and clean. No towel service when I tried it. Cost $580 CAD for 4 nights and breakfast. The hotel accept Credits Cards except issued in US. Cuba is expensive, above the average for the Caribbean, but deserve to be visited. Varadero is the place to go, rent a car and to visit LA HABANA.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabryhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lixandra_Escobar, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

Dear Mr Fabryhb,

We would like to thank you for your positive comments about our Royal Service and the hotel in general. We are very thankful for the time you have spent.

Unfortunately we have no beaches around since we are a business hotel. Anyway more the 80% of our rooms has see view, that is one of our most attractive added values.

Regarding the item you mentioned about the towel service, we would have appreciated if you had commented us before leaving, in order to take the appropriate measures at that time. Once again thank you for your comments.

You can think of us as your home in Havana and we hope every time you visit the city, you choose Meliá Habana Hotel as the best place to stay at.

Darío Fernández
Director General
Hotel Meliá Habana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.7 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
3.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,720 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,651 reviews
4.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,744 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Habana

Address: Ave 3era, e/ 76 y 80 | Miramar Playa, Havana 11300, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Havana
#2 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#2 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#3 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $220 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Habana 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Miramar, overlooking the sea, 20 minutes from airport, 5 minutes from Havana Convention Center. 397 rooms, 4 suites, 12 Junior Suites, 98 Royal Service, sea view with balcony, Full bathroom, Air conditioning, Satellite TV, Safe, Minibar, 220 volts. Restaurants: Italian, Oriental Fusion, Grill, cafeteria and Buffets, 5 bars, Swimming pools with children's area, Babysitting service. Sauna, GYM, Massage, WI-FI Internet in all the hotel, Meeting facilities. Live Music. Free shuttle to old Havana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Habana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Habana Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Habana
Melia Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing