We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of NAO Bar Paladar

NAO Bar Paladar
Ranked #69 of 774 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I'd read previous reviews on trip advisor and happened upon this restaurant by chance. If you're in the square where all the second hand book sellers are head down the right hand side of the square and go down the alley towards the sea. Keep looking up and you'll see the sign on the right. Opt to eat upstairs as the atmosphere is lovely and eclectic!
The waiter and bar staff were very professional but very personable too. We had a good range of wine to choose from and they brought out some lovely bread and basil mayonnaise while we were waiting. We opted for blue cheese soup with sultanas which was very rich & tasty and the Tostones. I loved these but I found them so nice I ate them all and as they're quite heavy I ended up unable to finish the fish I'd ordered for my main course. My husband opted for the cuban shredded beef which he enjoyed but he too found it hard to finish as Cuban food can be quite filling.
I wished I'd had another night in Havana to go back and sample a bit more of the menu in such lovely surroundings. We didn't book, there were about three other tables of diners with about 5 tables left so you should be okay mid-week.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melooarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    131
    22
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Definitely a "go back to" restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have been to Nao during each of our visits to Havana and twice during the most recent one. This place never dissappoints. Meals are prepared meticulously and served in an elegant setting. The staff is not only efficient, they are very engaging and responsive. We asked to speak to both, the chef (Braulio) and owner (Gregorio), and they came to our table to get our comments. I have been to a lot of fine restaurants around the world and this was the first time we had this opportunity. We highly recommend the malanga fritters appetizer, lamb ropa vieja and roasted pork, capped by traditional Cuban deserts like cascos de guayaba or shredded coconut in syrup served with cheese, yum!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GracielaAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We tried to get a table in another restaurant but since it was fully booked the owner suggested NAO. We followed his advice and were very pleased to fund a cosy place, with great food!

As some others have already said, try the Tostones, they're great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoaoBaltazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Try the Tostones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Found this place while on our way to El Templete (another fine restaurant) and remembered seeing it here on Tripadvisor. The gentleman at the door was very polite and not pushy and we looked at the menu and decided to visit the next day.
We are glad that we did, wonderful ambience, nicely decorated and with some interesting art work. The staff were charming and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend the "Tostones" appetizer, they were to die for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

On a recent "People to People" tour of Cuba, we were on our own for lunch while exploring the old city in Havana. We stopped in a gift shop and asked the young couple there for directions to a good restaurant. The young woman walked us to NAO Bar Paladar, and it turned out to be the best food we had on the trip. The service was gracious, it was cool inside (in every sense of the word), and it had all the amenities. So go...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyR66N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NAO Bar Paladar also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to NAO Bar Paladar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing