We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're lucky enough to stay here ...”
Review of Vista al Prado

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista al Prado
Ranked #95 of 730 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you are lucky enough to stay here when you arrive in Havana, you'll have a perfect introduction.This Casa is a great first stop for anyone arriving not only in Havana, but also Cuba.

The room is what you'd expect -basic yet comfortable and spotlessly clean. The location is excellent - you are never far from anything, breakfast is plentiful if you choose to eat there.

The best thing about this Casa is Frederico and Yamelis - welcoming, friendly and relaxed, they will help you with absolutely anything and it is never any trouble. It's like spending time with old friends. And, if you are like us and haven't made plans, they can link you in with network of other casas - (we stayed with 3 of their contacts - Vinales and Camaguey - and they were both fantastic!! We also stayed with a friend in Havana just accross the road and breakfasted at Frederico's :) )

I loved staying here - it is a friendly, super clean and accommodating casa. I strongly recommend sending Frederico an email - fllanes@gmail.com

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FleurHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 120 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

The best place ever to stay in Havana Cuba. Nice, clean, economic and the best thing is the surrounding you will enjoy. Thank you very much, next time I will contact you.The owner of this place is very gentile and helpful person I've ever meet.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chucki71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed with Frederico and Yamelis for 3 night. Really great hosts, good breakfast and so much needed coffee.
The house is really close to everything really, Malecon and the old city. The room and bathroom clean, kind hosts. They speak English and they helped us plan the rest of our trip with valuable information. Its a bit noisy, but we had no problem with sleeping. It was actually funny to be woken up by the rooster singing in the city center.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InczeZsuzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I recommend la casa de Federico from the bottom of my heart! He is a perfect host, knows everything about the city and speaks english! The casa is perfectly situated in centro de Havanna! We had a really good time. Wouldnt be the same without all the tipps of Federico!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fayus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Vista al Prado for 6 nights in December 2013. Federico and Yanet are a lovely couple, both of them speak excellent English and have a very thorough knowledge of everything there is to do in Havana. This casa is a third floor apartment (access via stairs) located just moments away from the Malecon sea wall, the Prado and museums. There are two guest rooms - we stayed in the room with the double bed and the desk. There is a good air-conditioner, a clean and private bathroom, and a refrigerator stocked with bottled water (can be purchased at a very reasonable price). The apartment has a light and bright living/dining area and a small balcony. The noise levels are as you would expect in the city, but not too bad – buses, people talking in the distance and occasionally the neighbour’s rooster (he was well behaved and did not crow before 7:30am, haha!).

Federico and Yanet cook a lovely breakfast each morning (at a time that suits the guest). The breakfast includes eggs, a variety of fresh fruit, fresh juice, warm bread and tea/coffee (that lovely Cubita coffee). Breakfast is not rushed, you can take your time and enjoy the sun streaming through the open windows. The price is very reasonable. One evening, our hosts cooked an amazing dinner for all 4 casa guests. The dinner was one of the best we had in Havana – pork, salad, beans, rice, plantain chips. There was so much food, dinner could have fed 8 guests! Some Cuban cakes were also served for dessert – very sweet and delicious.

Federico put us in contact with people for journeys outside Havana – we took a lovely day trip to the Soroa waterfall and the stunning Vinales area. He also gave us restaurant recommendations and invaluable advice to avoid street scams and potential rip-offs. A laundry service was also provided (at a very very good price!).

While not in the centre of Old Havana, the casa is only a 10 minute walk to lively Obispo Street and a 15 minute stroll to the lovely Plaza Vieja. If you need to travel further, taxis seem to be available on the street at any time of the day and night. Casa Vista al Prado is very close to the tourist-friendly Castropol restaurant (5 minute walk, on the Malecon).....we loved the seafood and the malanga fritters. It is also a few steps away from a cute little bar called Prado 12. At this bar we met the nicest/funniest bar manager in town (Diego)....let’s just say he is very “generous” with the rum! The bar also has 2 good bands playing in the afternoons/evenings.

We would recommend Vista al Prado to other travelers and we would stay there again. The only very small negative (no outlook from the bedroom window - typical of apartment dwellings in the city) is overshadowed by the MANY POSITIVE features (generosity of the hosts, cleanliness, location, meals etc).

Thanks Federico and Yanet for helping to make our holiday in Havana a fantastic one!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ric_and_Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Located just a few steps from the Malecon, 10 minutes from the Capitolio and 20 minutes from Old Havana, the apartment is close to all the major sites. Situated on the third floor, (no elevator), it has 2 big clean bedrooms for rent to guests, each with private bathroom. It can be noisy at time with street traffic, and with the air conditioner which was very loud in our room, so if you are sensitive to noise, ear plugs are a good idea.
The owners are very friendly and helpful. We had many interesting conversations with Yanet, a delightful young women. They serve an excellent breakfast with a very good coffee.
Good restaurants near the casa:
-Castropol on the Malecon.
-El Nardo in front of the Capitolio.
-El Chanchullero: excellent mojitos and fresh food on Brasil Street between Bernaza and Cristo.
Very fast internet: WIFI
-At Parke Central Hotel, 10 cuc for 60 minutes, you buy a card at the business center and it debit the time on the card each time you use it.
Bus tickets:
-Next to Parque Central Hotel, look for the blue hotel Télégrafo, you can buy your bus tickets in advance at the same price as at the terminal. Very convenient as the buses fill up quickly in high season.( VIAZUL).
You can contact Federico the owner directly on his cell or Email him to reserve:
(535) 264 6917
fllanes@gmail.com

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank madyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had an awesome stay at federico's. It's situated really close to the Parc Central where the busses leave for the city tours and the beach. There are two really good restaurants within 10 mins walk as well!

The hosts made us feel really at home and had we got to taste their awesome Mojito's! The room was very clean, and we got new towels without asking. Breakfast is more then enough with fresh juices in the morning and plenty of fruit, and of course the eggs that were fried/scrambled or boiled on demand :) and the night we had dinner there it seemed as if Federico just wouldn't stop putting meat on the BBQ!

They were really helpful to give us directions or to instruct us on what were the best places to see.

We couldn't have been more lucky with this choice of casa!!

Federico and Yanet, Thank you very much for the awesome stay !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DennisandTatiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 81 in Havana
3,807 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 81 in Havana
3,560 reviews
1.6 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 81 in Havana
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista al Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista al Prado

Address: Carcel 156 | E/Prado y San Lazaro. Havana Vieja, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 730 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing