We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Havana!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista al Prado

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista al Prado
Ranked #56 of 690 Havana B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place in Havana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the best place to stay in Havana: clean, spacious and comfortable rooms with aircon, central location and best breakfast ever. The owner Federico will make you feel like at home, and will give you all the information you need! He can make also your dinner and best mojitos ever!

I will definitely recommend this place to anybody who wants to have a good time in Havana and meet the locals! It is a 5* casa particular!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anto_Seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Federico, who owns Vista al Prado, is the perfect, friendly host to go with this spacious, well located, well decorated and welcoming casa. The location is perfect, by foot it is 30 seconds from the Malecon, 10 minutes from the Capitolio Nacional and 20 minutes from Habana Vieja, and although the flat is up a few flights of stairs this gives it a great view onto the Prado from the lovely balcony. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, both with en suite bathroom, shower, a fully functioning air conditioning unit and one with a fridge. Federico and his girlfriend are great hosts and they were perfectly happy to answer questions about Cuba, point us in the direction of conveniences and attractions and even take us along to a local nightclub (which was great as we were the only tourists there!). The food was delicious and plentiful but note that it does come at an extra, but very reasonable, price. All in all it was the perfect place for us as a group of students and I would highly recommend organising your accommodation through Federico's friend Leo, who runs casaparticularcuba.org as he was extremely helpful at organising our trip on the go from Cuba.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Federico makes you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The casa is comfortable, clean, has amazing views of Havana, and is very reasonable, making it the perfect place to stay. During the trip we stayed at six different casas and Federico's was by far my favourite. The food was the best out of all of them, and the suppers were so good, that we chose to eat in some nights instead of going out. The location is great just a 5 to 10 minute walk from the heart of centro Havana. There are bars and restaurants near by and a beautiful stretch of sea about 100m away, which is vibrant at night. Federico speaks very clear English and was always helpful. I cannot stress how much I recommend this to anyone wanting a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fern T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

me and my hasbant spent there a few days at June of 2013. very clean casa, exelent location just a few minutes walking from the Havana center, all the turistic attractions and the beautiful old town.Frederico speaks very good english and he is the most helpful. He can give you advice about you all vacations (where to eat, how to go anywere, what to avoid). He and his friend Leo, organized our trip from the minute we arrived there. you should try his breakfast too!!!
thank you for everything hope to see you again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This casa is the best out of our whole Cuba trip! So great that we decided to come back for more.

With some cities you travel with car or public transport but Havana is really a city where you would want to walk around and absorb the local way of life. This casa offers us the best start - perfect location. Situated right at the middle of centro Havana and old Havana, we can waive around the streets and walk EVERYWHERE.

We stayed in 3 different casas in our trip- Federico makes the best breakfast - hands down. We miss his incredible fresh papaya juice - so yummy. If you have the chance, ask him to prepare you a dinner. Portion is HUGE so you probably won't finish it but food is SUPERB! Much better value than most restaurants in town.

Federico and Janet are very friendly and accommodating. We had great conversations and learnt so much from them - from the Cuba way of life to the best art gallery in town. :)

Thanks for making our experience a special one! If we are returning to Havana, that's where we will be staying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truth_ip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed at this Casa for the best part of three weeks and I couldn't have been happier. Frederick and Janet are young,vibrant hosts who are both welcoming and accommodating.

If you are travelling around Cuba, Frederico can help and advise you book the best places to stay. If you want to have a great meal and the best Mojitos on the whole island this is the place.

By the time I left I felt I was leaving two old friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papi-londres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This casa is located in one of the BEST parts of Havana and we had a blast staying here. Federico's breakfast included eggs, fresh baked rolls, fresh juice and very powerful "cuban style" coffee which really helped get us moving in the morning. What a great experience!

Travelers Tip: We've found that the best bargaining tactic while in Havana is the "walk-away" negotiating technique. For example, to get 2 people a taxi to the airport walk by the nearest group of taxi drivers and tell them you'll pay $10CUC for the trip (total for 2 people). They will surely shake their head in disgust and at this point you should start to walk away and await their counter offer. We used this tactic throughout our trip to Cuba and it helped us save a lot of $ in what can otherwise be a pretty expensive place to visit. Never accept the first stated price as the final price... they'll usually accept something 30-50% below their first offer.

Room Tip: We slept in both rooms during different points in our trip and they were both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zander213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
1300.9 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
70.9 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
5.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
0.7 mi away
Casaverde
Casaverde
#236 of 690 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Buena Vista
Casa Buena Vista
#107 of 690 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista al Prado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista al Prado

Property: Vista al Prado
Address: Carcel 156 | E/Prado y San Lazaro. Havana Vieja, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 690 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing