We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

El Chanchullero de Tapas
Ranked #57 of 966 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

The best and cheapest food we could find in Havana! We ate here 3 times. Arrive before 6:30pm otherwise you'll have to queue. The food was great, nice to have salad with meat instead of bread/rice/beans with every meal! The cocktails were ok but for the same price you can get twice as much and they're nicer at a bar a little further down the same street called D'next - Pina colada is the best I've had.
Only downside of this restaurant is the fact they allow smoking.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 23giddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,457)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 340 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2016

This restaurant has really good food and is very cozy. The tapas are very interesting and delicious. Staff is friendly. The place is quite small so large groups will need some luck to get a seat. I would definitely go back.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gabriel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Busy holiday period, queue out of the door. Waited ~45mins - totally worth it. Would recommend the dish with the honey chicken. Really reasonable prices. Delicious food, great atmosphere. Can't recommend it enough!

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank 2abic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

We stopped in for lunch and had the pinapple chicken. A group of nine of us. Food was very good for Cuban food. I would go back. Budget around $10 for lunch and a cold beer.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

The rooftop patio at El Chancullero is the place to be in Old Havava to eat really good vegetarian food, throw back tasty drinks and meet friendly people from around the world. Went twice on my trip and would go again.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank 757micks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chanchullero de Tapas also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Chanchullero de Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing