We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Habana Chef "The Best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Lala - CLOSED

Casa Lala
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Caribbean, Mediterranean, Contemporary, Fusion, Cuban
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Habana Chef "The Best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Who would of thought that behind a wall in Vedado lies culinary excellence of international standard; Well we didn't until we found Habana Chef, Oh how we wished they would have been around when we visited 2 years ago. We had dinner or lunch there every day we were in Vedardo.
As most people know, Cuba is not known for its food excellence but Chef Ivan has changed all that, his international experience has cross polinated with Cuban cuisine and he delivers excellent fusion cooking. The wine list is excellent thanks to Sommelier Alejandro teamed with mouth watering food and desserts that is delivered from a kitchen that cares. The wait staff are attentive and very accommodating explaining the menu in detail even when the customer has limited Spanish they are to be commended.
If you are in Havana it is worth the taxi ride or in Vedado the walk to experience something that is unique. Buen provecho

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MadamHooch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    14
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great find in Vedado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

Came here for a wonderful meal on Valentines Day.
Great food, wine and atmosphere.
Very good service and a clean loo to boot.
A real gem in the city. Not sure how long it will be before everyone else finds out how good this place is they deserve to be successful.
Would highly recommend a visit. Probably the best in Havana!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doolallyderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Who Said Romance is Dead?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Our wonderful Casa Mer hosts suggested here, Wilfredo rated it as the best restaurant in Havana! He could be right.
We booked but it on 13th Feb for our 10th anniversary on Valentine's Day-everyone say aaahhh. It was busy but I think we'd have got in anyway. We were offered only a set valentine's menu at 30cuc which is expensive for this type of place-we noticed some Cubans were not eating from this menu but all the foreigners were so I dropped a point for this on Value, I'm learning to be more critical!
Mojitos were superb and they have a decent wine list which is a rarity.
I had a chicken roulade with some unusual imaginative flavours, definitely better than the usual Cuban offerings. I followed with Lobster which had been properly cooked and was tender. Most places serve lobster and assume it's all us foreigners want, it's all Caribbean lobster which is tough and chewy unless perfectly prepared, this was. In fact it's the only place I have found that cooked it perfectly. Desert was chocolate flan, a Cuban favourite, it was well made and a tasty finale to a good romantic meal.
The staff was pleasant and organised and very friendly, some Cubans have learnt to cook since we last came on our Honeymoon 10 years ago!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajscubapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Antigua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marvelous place with excelent food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

The place is surprising, you could never imagine there is going to be a nice small restaurant in a garden area with an open kictchen and a relaxing atmosphere. The menu is written in a huge board and there is a wide choice of local food. The staff is so kind and the service very good. Ivan, the chef partner is amazing and very polite. We had a great time there, and recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“New dining find in Vedado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

When it comes to food, we find it’s always best to ask the locals. When buying jazz festival tickets, we asked for recommendation of a good paladar in Vedado. Little did we know that our scrap of paper with “Habana Chef” written on it would become the most memorable dining experience of our trip to Havana. Our Coco-Taxi pulled up to the street and we thought maybe we’d gotten the address wrong. But behind a hidden garden entrance in Vedado was a beautiful patio with an open kitchen towards the back. The extensive daily lunch menu was written on a chalkboard – everything from lamb, lobster, chicken and pork, to vegetarian. What started as a quick lunch stop became a divine, leisurely, 2 hour lunch. We started with conch in garlic, moved to lobster and tomato salad, then to the leg of lamb. We shared each dish, as we did with all our meals in Cuba, in order to try more of the menu. We finished off with coffee, of course, and fresh lemon sorbet drizzled with vodka. The service, the food, the setting – all wonderful. The restaurant has been open for only 5 months but, if our meal is any indication, it will be around for a long time.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlosYCristina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Lala also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing