We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service, good prices”
Review of Restaurante Mangle Rojo - CLOSED

Restaurante Mangle Rojo
Price range: $4 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Nice place, quiet and reserved, where you can taste various dishes of international cuisine,mangrove-scented broils, Italian pizzas, stews ...Our authentic flavors delight the most demanding and the combination of colors and shapes make each dish a true piece of art esfímero. The more appetizing it is not only excellent cuisine, generous portions and great cocktails, but the friendly and familiar treatment, you can feel yourself as one of the family.Lugar agradable, tranquilo y reservado, donde podrá degustar variados platillos de la cocina internacional, horneados al aroma del mangle, pizzas italianas, estofados...Nuestros auténticos sabores complacen el paladar más exigente y la combinación de colores y formas hacen de cada plato una verdadera pieza de arte esfímero. No obstante lo más apetitoso no es solo la excelente cocina, los abundantes platos o excelentes cócteles, sino el trato amigable y familiar, que lo harán sentir desde el primer momento como uno más de la familia.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had several good meals at Mangle Rojo. They have good salads, pizzas and sandwiches for lunch or dinner. They also have a nice selection of upscale choices--seafood, pork, chicken and steak. Their black beans and rice were the best we had in Cuba. The service is friendly and helpful. You can sit outside on the patio or indoors in the air conditioned dining room. We loved the pizza oven crackers and dip before dinner. My lobster dinner was delicious. Don't miss this great spot. It was a highlight of our time in Havana.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JESS1CAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idania C, Gerente at Restaurante Mangle Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thanks, it is very important for us to receive favorable reviews from our customers, we hope you visit us again and so to surprise your palate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

This restaurant is the best place to eat in the east of Havana, perfectly chosen and desingned menu offers a fusion between the cuban and contemporary food, the environment is extremely friendly and the service is really professional, I have the oportunity to meet the Chef as well as the owners of the place and they are Knowledgeable of what they are doing.after eating in this place you feel like you have to try the whole menu before eating somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank asigabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Pizza is delicious and real italian style! As i remember prices for a pizza are CUC 5,- to 8,-. The service is also excellent - the waiters speak english (one of them german as well), the cook speaks english as well and has a good knowledge! The furnishing is luxury and comfortable! Best-value! Although not in the city-center of Havana, a visit to Guanabacoa (one of the 15 municipalities of the city) is worth it! I highly recommend it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Birgit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idania C, Propietario at Restaurante Mangle Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Hello, How are you? Your comment made us very happy. Thank you. The guests are our priority. Your critic have much value for us. We hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had the pleasure of dining here for several breakfasts and dinners during our stay in Havana. Everything was delicious. Definitely try a pizza from the outdoor pizza oven. Breakfast included fresh fruit and juice, delicious coffee and made to order egg dishes. For dinner there is traditional Cuban fare as well as seafood and pasta. There is an outdoor bar and the mojitos are fantastic! The waiters are so friendly and attentive. You can dine on the patio and enjoy the breeze and the music, or indoor seating for a more formal setting. Don't miss an opportunity to have a meal here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank brenda874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idania C, Propietario at Restaurante Mangle Rojo, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you very much for his criticism, is for us a pleasure it's been a good time in our restaurant. We hope that when you return to Cuba to visit us again and recommend us to their friends who visit the island. Know that we will always work for you to enjoy with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The resturaunt's outdoor feel set the tone for many fine meals. Everything on the menu i tried from the salads and pizzas to the seafood was deliciously prepared and presented in an appetizing manner. The best part of the resturaunt are the waiters. Not only were they friendly but they seemed to anticipate my every need. Anytime that i'm Havana i will go there to enjoy a great atmosphere, good food and great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Mangle Rojo also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing