We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience! We loved it”
Review of The Purple House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Purple House
Ranked #174 of 690 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mo i Rana, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best experience! We loved it”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were 7 ladies staying for 10 days in february 2013.
We stayed in the new house no 211 and truely enjoyed our stay. Mrs Yvettes guided us around Havana and she and Dr. Alejandro gave us good advice, mrs Yvettes father too.
The house is located within walking distance of the city`s heart and was nice and clean with friendly service. All rooms were nice I would love to see the roof terrace finished as it was under construction when we were there

I would really like to come back again! It feels like I made friends for life
I can highly recomend La casa purpura

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    26
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
45
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Hefa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We are a couple and stayed in the Purple House for a total of 5 nights during our stay in Cuba, 04/2013. Alejandro and Ivette gave our stay a great touch with their enthusiasm, advices, help and conversations during our stay. Alejandro is the best tourist guide !
Breakfast is good , the room is clean and has everything you need.
The location is great, next to the Malecon and Habana Vieha. Everything is within walking distance. The neighbourhood is safety, colourful and lively.We used at late hours the balcony.
Without hesitation we recommend this casa to our friends if they need a warm and friendly place to stay in Habana.
Peter & Rodica

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Dr Alejandro and Yvette are the best of hosts (Dr. Alejandro's father is great too).
We traveled all over Cuba, but on our 4 days at the Purple House we learned more, and laughed even more, than anywhere else.
The Purple House is close to the true heart of Havana, and Dr. Alejandro knows all the great sights and sounds to let you really feel it.
Also, be sure to take his advise for great places to eat!!

What a wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notodden, Norway
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My sister and I went to Havana in feb 2010, and had a fantastic stay at this casa. The location of the casa was perfect, and the people who owns the place are lovely and helpfull. We have recomended this place to every person we know are traveling to Cuba, and we will keep on doing that.. Keep up the good work Ivette and Alejandro!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been there twice with some friends, always enjoyed our stay. Ivette and Alejandro treat us as part of their family. Clean house, big rooms, hot water. 2 minutes walking from "la Casa de la Musica" and few minutes walking from the "Havana vieja". For sure when we return to Cuba we will stay here again!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sami Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Mrs. Ivette and Dr. Alejandro will welcome you in their nice and tidy house with plenty of space. Good access to bathroom facilities. The house has a central location in San Nicolas street, close to the Casa de la Musica. (We went there to see the locals (in all ages) dance for their lives during a hefty salsa concert, great fun!)

Alejandro is very service-minded and will tell you all you need to know, in good English, about this lovely city and country! We stayed there for all together four nights during Easter, having a good time. We even came back after have visited the cities of Trinidad and Cienfuegos.

Room Tip: If you choose one of the inner rooms you can probably leave the air condition off, cause there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Purple House during a March bike trip to Cuba. We were warmly welcomed by Dr. Alejandro, his wife Ivette and Ivette's parents who ensured our stay was comfortable, relaxing and a true Cuban experience.

Alejandro and Ivette's parents live in the house and are wonderful caretakers at the house. We enjoyed their company very much.

Breakfasts were excellent and included fresh fruit and breads, juices and coffee. Conversations around the breakfast table were wonderful- discussing the Cuban lifestyle, sports and current events. This is a great location and a wonderful home to learn more about Cuba!

The rooms are well laid out and clean, with fridges and private bathrooms. This casa’s main room is available for guests to watch daily activity on the street (you can even see down the street to the ocean). We enjoyed taking coffee out to the balcony and watching Havana pass by.

This is a great place to stay if you are looking for a clean, friendly introduction to Cuban culture, hospitality and life. We had a very good experience and met great friends at the Purple House. We look forward to staying with Dr. Alejandro and Mrs. Ivette again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terral
Hotel Terral
#10 of 79 in Havana
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aby's Casa in Cuba
Aby's Casa in Cuba
#56 of 690 in Havana
92 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Colonial 1861
La Colonial 1861
#13 of 690 in Havana
401 reviews
5.4 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple House

Property: The Purple House
Address: San Nicolas #213 apartamento 1 | between Concordia y Virtudes, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 690 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Rent a Colonial House in Havana Center, just 1 street of the famous Salsa Music House, and 3 street of the Malecón Havanero. We include breakfast and a City Tour to visit interesting places in the Old City ¨FREE¨. Our rooms has airconditioner, hot and cold water 24 hr, Minibar, TV, Fan, Window and Independence Entrance. The price for night is 25.00 to 35.00 CUC (depend of the seasson). We help you to plane your trip in our country. We speak English.¨We receive you like guest and we say good bye like family¨. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing