We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people”
Review of The Purple House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Purple House
Ranked #186 of 696 Havana B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Great people”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here in total four nights in November and December 2012. What stands out in this place is not necessarily the rooms, but the nice people you will meet! Alejandro and Ivette are amazing. You will be met by huge smiles and friendliness. They speak well English and helped out with everything from recommendations to practical things. We will stay here next time!

We come as guests, but left as friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hav288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    26
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
44
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed with Alejandro and Ivette for three nights on this trip, and I can say that I would definitely consider them for a repeat visit! :)

The location is very satisfactory, a short walk from the Capitol building and the old city, and just a few blocks from the sea wall. While the streets aren't what most western visitors would be used to, we felt very safe walking around this neighbourhood, both day and night.

They provide a good breakfast of fruit, bread, honey, coffee, juice, and eggs -- more than enough to get you started!

But most of all, both Alejandro and Ivette are great hosts, and the main reason that you should consider this casa for your stay. They were more than friendly -- showing genuine concern for us and our safety, and that we got the best experience of the city during our stay. Alejandro gave us a tour of the immediate area, taking us himself to make sure that we got our bus transfers back to Varadero, and introducing us to a couple of wonderful salsa instructors. They both gave excellent advice on where to eat and walk, and great tips on how to stay out of trouble. :)

The rooms are basic, but adequate. If you're used to heavier bedding, you may want to ask in advance, as they come made up only with sheets and a bed spread. I do like a few blankets, but to be honest, even with the air conditioning on I didn't need them. Since we were only in our room to sleep we were quite content with everything -- fridge, air-con, tv, fan, and hot water. :)

Oh, and a tip -- if you need some time to rest and relax, take a small bag, book and towel and head up to the rooftop of the Central Park hotel -- they have a bar and great swimming pool, with plenty of deck chairs around, and a sweeping view of the city!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReubenJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed four nights in this casa. Rooms and bathroom are quite small, but for Havanna this is probably standard.
What we highly want to point out is the helpfull and charming hosts. Purple house was the best in this during our trip throughout Cuba! Thanks to Alejandro and Ivette.
By the way there is a really good restaurant around the corner with good prices and delicious food (Ale gives the directions). Our favorite place to eat in Havanna
We would go back to casa pupura!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staenziwitieia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed with Alejandro & Ivette twice during our short trip.

Their philosophy is to come as guests and leave as family - something which they achieved for both me & my girlfriend. From the welcome, to the breakfast, to the tour, to the welcome back these guys really couldnt have done anymore... (if there was anymore that needed doing im sure Alejandro would have sorted anyway !)

They are really warm, welcoming, smiley people and definitely enhanced our trip to Cuba; leaving us with v happy memories of Habana. Just from the tour and chatting to them over breakfast / in the evening we learned far more about Cuba than we did throughout the rest of our holiday (and in english too).

The Casa is perfectly placed and they have mutiple rooms - so worked for us touring as a group of 8; and then on the way back just the 2 of us.

Highly recommended. 5 stars. We will be back.

Cheers guys !

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brendan427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I would highly recommend a stay with Alejandro and Ivette; very warm and interesting people, who look after their guests like family! I enjoyed interesting discussions, the freindly atmosphere of their place, and that little something extra that the family give in caring for their guests. As a solo traveler it made such a difference to be staying with Ivette and Alejandro, who both went out of their way to help me out when I had a bit of trouble and things did not go exactly to plan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My entire family have made life long friends with Alejandro. Hey is a true gentleman, with excellent english.

We had Alejandro as a guide for three days, and enjoyed his company all of the time. We had lunch and dinner with him and always had some interesting chats.

You couldn't stay with a more honest and friendly family.

Alejandro is also a doctor, which supports his great intellect.

We plan to go back to Cuba and will definitely meet up with him again.

We didn't stay in his casa but would imagine it is very nice.

If you need anything sorting in Cuba this is your guy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Alejandro, Ivette and the rest of their family really made Havana a particularily good experience. Warm and welcoming people, great information (and tour) of Havana and a beautiful balcony to relax on in the evenings. When I got sick, Alejandro took care of everything as he is a doctor. You never know when that will come in handy! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSvNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
5.4 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Buena Vista
Casa Buena Vista
#112 of 696 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casaverde
Casaverde
#442 of 696 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple House

Property: The Purple House
Address: San Nicolas #213 apartamento 1 | between Concordia y Virtudes, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 696 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Rent a Colonial House in Havana Center, just 1 street of the famous Salsa Music House, and 3 street of the Malecón Havanero. We include breakfast and a City Tour to visit interesting places in the Old City ¨FREE¨. Our rooms has airconditioner, hot and cold water 24 hr, Minibar, TV, Fan, Window and Independence Entrance. The price for night is 25.00 to 35.00 CUC (depend of the seasson). We help you to plane your trip in our country. We speak English.¨We receive you like guest and we say good bye like family¨. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing