We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La casa Purpura - a real family house”
Review of The Purple House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Purple House
Ranked #173 of 688 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beit Yitzak, HaMerkaz, Israel
1 review
“La casa Purpura - a real family house”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Dr. Alejandro and Sra. Jvette house and had a really good time.
We were 5 people - 2 parents and 3 "children"(ages 20-25). we stayed for 4 days at first and 3 days at the end of the vacation.
Jvette and Alejandro are really really nice! real cuban family that will help you with every thing you need, will give you a tour around the city and answer all you'r qustions.
The house is really clean, the rooms are well equiped, and you have a big living room to stay in you'r spare time.
It is well located next to the "casa la musica" and in a safe neighborhood.
We also ate much of our breakfasts and dinner in the house and it was great and recommended as well.
I will truelly recommend this house to any one no matter couple/alone/family and his age.

Room Tip: all rooms beside 2 have private bathroom, ask for the ones who does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlonShezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    26
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
45
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

3 blocks away from the malecon and in the centre of Habana. Yvette and Alex are wonderful people and they will give you a pleasant stay at there colonial home. The breakfast is delicious and we drink the best cafe con leche ever :-)

We will come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is the best home in Havana! I've been there twice, with friends and also alone- first we where 4 girls around the age of 23 in september 2011, so it was a comfort to stay at a place we felt secure. When i got back for a month alone and with another friend in april 2012 it was taken for granted that we should stay at Casa purpura! So I never been dissapointed. Their motto, we welcome you as a friend and say goodbye as a family is so true! They really give the best service- and help out with whatever you need!! Both Ivette and Alejandro always want you to have the best stay in Havana- and take good care of you! They always give you a smile and look after you! They all talk good english so it's easy to understand and to be understood! Your first day at the house, Alejandro the owner, will offer you to show you the area and old habana. When we were there in september we did not have much time, so this was so important to save the little time we had, and as a local he did show us places we not necessarily would find on our own. Everyday you get a lovely breakfast in the big livingroom with eggs, coffe, juice and fresh fruits. Here you sit right by the balcony so you can hear the neighborhood wake up. Always a sunny morning in this house! After the breakfast it's priceless with a coffe on the balcony and to see over to malecon and all the lovely people.
If you want good cuban dinner, their daughter Daymila can prepare a lovely and big meal for you at the house. So much flavour and it's so good! Daymila is very nice, have a big and lovely smile and talk good english!!

The location is perfect if you like malecon or the night life! You all should experience Malecon in the sunset, then many people- many young people gather by the shore. The house is right by casa de musica, and it's not far to go to old Habana or Vedado's clubs (with taxi to vedado).
They also have alot of tips inn the house of what you can do in the city.

If you should stay in Cuba, you should always try to live in casa particular, not hotel. Its a great way to get to know cuban, the language, the culture and you feel a bit at home when youre not. This family has so big hearts and really take care of your comfort and security! So highly recomended, for all age's but since im young myself- i can highly recomend it you young people- also since its so close to all..

Have a good trip! Buen viaje:)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BentedeNoruega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I can definitely recommend this place in Havana!
Ivette and Alejandro treats you like a family:) Quiet house, delicios food and the best of Havana in walking distance!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We booked a night in La Casa Purpura online before we went to Cuba. We spent a week in Varadero then went to Havana for a night. When we got to La Casa Purpura we found out that they had been trying to reach us to say they didn't have room for us(they had a room but it had no A/C) Alejandro grabbed our bags and off we went to find a Casa for the night. We went about a half a block to another Casa which had an amazing view but no A/C and then he took us to Casa Pablo which was only a block away and that was where we stayed. Part of our original reservation at Casa Purpura icluded breakfast and a walking tour of old town and even though we didn't stay with Yvette & Alejandro they invited us back for breakfast the next day and he took my husband & I on a 2 1/2hour waking tour of old town. He showed us places to go, things to do and even took us into a restaurant and introduced us to the staff and recommended we eat there. We did go back to thet restaurant a few hours later and had a fantastic meal for 10cuc. Yvette and Alejandro are truly beautiful people and went above and beyond to make sure our trip to Havana was a fantastic experience. We did get to see the rooms as well when we went back for breakfast the next day and we would go back for sure. It's a beautiful house and it's in a very central location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danabananaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This casa is in a very good location. 30 sec walk to "casa de la musica". 3 minutes walk to capitolio and ten minutes walk to vieja habana (old havana). Everything is near and the street is very calm. Ivette and Alejandro (the owners) and very nice people. I went there 3 times and never i was disapointed. If you want to have a great contact with a very nice family it's the spot.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Ivette and Alejandro have received us into their house and have treated us like family. La Casa Purpura is a great "casa particular" (bed & breakfast) to stay in the Old Havana. The rooms are very clean and it was well located. There is a common area where the breakfast is served and a completely separate area for the bedrooms. The breakfast was great, they had fresh fruit, eggs, and bread everyday. If you ask they will make the best Cuban food ever. Ivette, went to get us at the hotel we were previously and took us across town to get us installed and give us the best tips about the Havana. We had a great time in Cuba and because we stayed at a casa particular we had the opportunity to experience Havana like a native.
http://www.lacasapurpura.com/

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adetzcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Telegrafo
Hotel Telegrafo
#8 of 79 in Havana
1,248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,564 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terral
Hotel Terral
#7 of 79 in Havana
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aby's Casa in Cuba
Aby's Casa in Cuba
#60 of 688 in Havana
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Central Yard Inn
Central Yard Inn
#32 of 688 in Havana
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple House

Property: The Purple House
Address: San Nicolas #213 apartamento 1 | between Concordia y Virtudes, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 688 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Rent a Colonial House in Havana Center, just 1 street of the famous Salsa Music House, and 3 street of the Malecón Havanero. We include breakfast and a City Tour to visit interesting places in the Old City ¨FREE¨. Our rooms has airconditioner, hot and cold water 24 hr, Minibar, TV, Fan, Window and Independence Entrance. The price for night is 25.00 to 35.00 CUC (depend of the seasson). We help you to plane your trip in our country. We speak English.¨We receive you like guest and we say good bye like family¨. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing