We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here!”
Review of The Purple House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Purple House
Ranked #169 of 711 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I can definitely recommend this place in Havana!
Ivette and Alejandro treats you like a family:) Quiet house, delicios food and the best of Havana in walking distance!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 137 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

We booked a night in La Casa Purpura online before we went to Cuba. We spent a week in Varadero then went to Havana for a night. When we got to La Casa Purpura we found out that they had been trying to reach us to say they didn't have room for us(they had a room but it had no A/C) Alejandro grabbed our bags and off we went to find a Casa for the night. We went about a half a block to another Casa which had an amazing view but no A/C and then he took us to Casa Pablo which was only a block away and that was where we stayed. Part of our original reservation at Casa Purpura icluded breakfast and a walking tour of old town and even though we didn't stay with Yvette & Alejandro they invited us back for breakfast the next day and he took my husband & I on a 2 1/2hour waking tour of old town. He showed us places to go, things to do and even took us into a restaurant and introduced us to the staff and recommended we eat there. We did go back to thet restaurant a few hours later and had a fantastic meal for 10cuc. Yvette and Alejandro are truly beautiful people and went above and beyond to make sure our trip to Havana was a fantastic experience. We did get to see the rooms as well when we went back for breakfast the next day and we would go back for sure. It's a beautiful house and it's in a very central location.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danabananaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This casa is in a very good location. 30 sec walk to "casa de la musica". 3 minutes walk to capitolio and ten minutes walk to vieja habana (old havana). Everything is near and the street is very calm. Ivette and Alejandro (the owners) and very nice people. I went there 3 times and never i was disapointed. If you want to have a great contact with a very nice family it's the spot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabriel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Ivette and Alejandro have received us into their house and have treated us like family. La Casa Purpura is a great "casa particular" (bed & breakfast) to stay in the Old Havana. The rooms are very clean and it was well located. There is a common area where the breakfast is served and a completely separate area for the bedrooms. The breakfast was great, they had fresh fruit, eggs, and bread everyday. If you ask they will make the best Cuban food ever. Ivette, went to get us at the hotel we were previously and took us across town to get us installed and give us the best tips about the Havana. We had a great time in Cuba and because we stayed at a casa particular we had the opportunity to experience Havana like a native.
http://www.lacasapurpura.com/

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adetzcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MARIAROCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
5.4 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
2.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,744 reviews
5.1 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple House

Address: San Nicolas #213 apartamento 1 | between Concordia y Virtudes, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 711 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Rent a Colonial House in Havana Center, just 1 street of the famous Salsa Music House, and 3 street of the Malecón Havanero. We include breakfast and a City Tour to visit interesting places in the Old City ¨FREE¨. Our rooms has airconditioner, hot and cold water 24 hr, Minibar, TV, Fan, Window and Independence Entrance. The price for night is 25.00 to 35.00 CUC (depend of the seasson). We help you to plane your trip in our country. We speak English.¨We receive you like guest and we say good bye like family¨. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing