We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I just love it at Elena's place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Casa Tarajano
Ranked #17 of 706 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have been at Elena's Hostal twice, and for sure it won't be the last. This place is like home, warm, great food, smiles, you feel at easy been there. Elena is a very kind host and besides loving her city Havana a lot, she knows a lot about Havana without doubt. She is ready to help you with anything you ask, references of places to go, things to do, food you would like her to prepare, transportation, rentals, you name it. The apartment is clean, bright, spacious, has a great balcony you can just sit and see the movement of the city at any time, day, afternoon, night, you can relax and dream you wildest dreams. It is very well located, in El Vedado, and at 3 blocks walking distance to the Hotel Nacional, were you can go to read, use the pool, eat, have a drink or two, or just sit at the veranda in from of the malecon and stare and the endless see for hours. I would just recomend this place to anybody traveling to La Havana. Better than a hotel. Her meals are just amazing, I found them testier than any restaurant or paladar. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menshis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena T, Owner at Hostal Casa Tarajano, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Meshis,
I thank you for taking the time to give your opinion about the hostel. I really appreciate this because I know that once holidays are over, there are million of things in our To Do lists. Your comments about the hostel are really flattering :) , I'm very happy to read how much you enjoyed your days here. You know the hostel will always be your home here in Havana.
I'll be looking forward to your third visit to the hostel,
Lots of hugs for you and take care,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 250 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Elena is an excellent host. I can not rate our stay high enough. We arrived into Havana with a very very rough idea on what we were going to visit. Shocked by our lack of planning, within a matter of minutes, she got straight onto the phone and organised our entire trip (both what we MUST visit in Cuba and where we should stry)! We followed her plan to the T and what a wonderful trip we had.

We stayed with her for 5 nights and during that time she organised salsa dancing lessons with a professional dancer and a night joy ride around Havana in one of the old cars. Pretty much just ask and she will be able to organise you anything (cooking classes, spanish lessons, dance lessons, tours of the city...).

Her cook is excellent as well and she introduced us to some delicous local Cuban cusine.

The Elena's home is located in Vedado. Don't let this discourage you, I know its not Havana Vieja, and contuary to what you may hear its actually the best area to stay in Havana. Her home is a 0.50 cuc (50 cents US) collectivo taxi away from Havana Vieja and all of Havana's beautiful old buildings. She is also a stone trow away from the Malecon and the famous Hotel National (which is open to the public and has a great night shows and excellent cocktails.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena T, Owner at Hostal Casa Tarajano, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Nadia,
Thanks a lot for your commentary so full of compliments. I feel very happy because you took profit and enjoyed your holidays trip to the most. Meeting you and helping you to organize your trip was a real pleasure for me. Actually, after looking at your pictures and hearing your comments I knew that the tour we organized was a success. Again, thanks a lot for trusting in my proposals and also for all your politeness towards me.
Sure I will keep you close to my heart.
Kisses,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Second and third time in Elena's, this time with some more time than last time. This woman never disappoints you, perfect host with loads of experiences to share. All has been said about the house and all to be discover with her. She is the Vedado's hidden gem.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baila54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena T, Owner at Hostal Casa Tarajano, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Hey girls!
Thanks a lot for your opinion! You deserve all my attention and is a pleasure for me to help you.
I really hope you can come back next year and visit other regions of Cuba, the dolphins, horses, the ocean and everything else.
Our bright sun and my self we'll be waiting here for you.
Good luck with work.
Kisses and hugs,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is the second time I stay at the Hostal Casa Tarajano and I have to admit I would never stay anywhere else. Elena really takes her guests to heart and is always welcoming and helpful. If you need someone to tell you what to do, see, go, eat, or even plan a trip around the island. She'll do it for you. She's far more informed than any other casa I've been to. She does have a facebook page, twitter account, and her own website. Google Hostal Casa Tarajano! You will not be disappointed. The food is always top notch and the service is spectacular. Even when I traveled around and stayed at other casas in other parts of the country, she would call to see if I was alright and how I was being treated at the casa. Don't hesitate just book! Trust me!

Room Tip: She's got a chef who will prepare a home cooked Cuban meal. Hostal Casa Tarajano can arrange a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salva005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena T, Owner at Hostal Casa Tarajano, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013
Google Translation

Hola cariño, que linda expresión! Me hace sentir feliz!.
Si que me gustaría ser la mamá de muchos jóvenes que vienen a casa, también ellos me dejan sus corazoncitos aquí. Nada más agradable que compartir con todos ustedes. Siempre estaré para ayudar y servir a mis huéspedes, ayudarlos en todo cuanto pueda, pero lo más importante es eso, sembrar amor, cariño y hospitalidad.
Te quiero mucho OMG!!
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Elena for 4 nights in March. Elena's husband collected us from the airport in his awesome 1950s car- a brilliant start to our holiday! The apartment is perfectly located next to Hotel Nacional- so it was easy to find our way home after a day sightseeing and perfect for going for drinks in the evening. There was also a brilliant local restaurant across the road from Elena's house- but we can't remember the name!
Elena's rooms were great considering the price- our room was clean, comfortable, there was a safe which was useful and an air con unit just in case it got too hot. The bathroom was shared, located in between the two rooms, but this didn't seem to cause us any problems. We had breakfast there every morning- I think it would have been difficult to find anything as good for the price in that part of town.... Nancy cooks great eggs! Elena and Orlando helped us get to the bus station for tickets to our next destination too- I think if you needed anything like that they would be able to help!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena T, Owner at Hostal Casa Tarajano, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

I’m so happy to receive this opinion from both of you! Thanks a lot, you are most kind. No doubt you can always count on me. The restaurant you are referring to is ‘Café Laurent’, it is just around the corner and is one of the best we can recommend to our guests.
Thanks a lot again for your opinion.
Hugs,
Elena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Both my partner and I stayed at Casa Tarajano over Christmas. We both had an incredible experience. The place is immaculate and comfortable. Although Elena wasn't there (she did help me set everything up and was very helpful) her friends Maria Eugenia and Nancy took very good care of us and helped us with info about the city, and even helped me with my very limited command of Spanish. Maria Eugenia is honestly one of the nicest people either of us has ever met on our travels and we both wish her very well. Also, breakfast (traditional Cuban) was delicious, and kept us going all morning. The Casa is ideally situated in Vedado and getting around the city is a simple task. Thank you for having us Elena, and thank you for introducing us to the beautiful city of Havana and it's incredible people. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ramon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena T, Owner at Hostal Casa Tarajano, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013
Google Translation

He sentido una gran emoción al leer esta opinión, ver los nombres de mis amigas y colaboradoras en esta pagina ha sido para mí fantástico, a ambas se los he comentado pues merecían este reconocimiento. Sépase que en ellas y en mí también ha quedado un gran cariño hacia ustedes. Esperemos que pronto nos veamos todos en casa. Reciban mi total gratitud y cariño.
Muchas Gracias,
Elena Tarajano Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a great time in Elena´s house. She tooked care of us for 3 days and she made us feel like at home. She gave us very good advices what to do in Havana and she organized for us a salsa lesson. We had so much fun :) The room and bathroom are very clean and spacious. We highly recommend this house. She has also her website where you can contact her. Thank you Elena

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena T, Owner at Hostal Casa Tarajano, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear guests,
Thanks a lot for this wonderful opinion about the Hostel. I'm very happy to read that I was helpful during your stay in Cuba. I also enjoyed with your visit and I would like to ask you to stay in contact.
Know that you can always count with me.
Hugs and best regards
Elena Tarajano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,744 reviews
1.6 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,720 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
4.4 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Tarajano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Tarajano

Address: 21 | Calle 21 #62 esq. M, apto. 6, Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 706 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range: $25 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Tarajano is a nicely placed B&B in Vedado, Havana. We are in the center of the cultural and social hub of the capital, at 5 mins walk from the ocean and 20 mins drive from Old Havana. We count with 2 bedrooms, one with a double-bed and another with two individual beds, each room has direct access to a private bathroom. The rooms also count with AC, exterior windows, fridge, closets, security boxes and TV. We will love to help you organize your trip and to recommend delightful natural and historical places as well as other B&B in other regions of the Island. Along with the care and dedication of Elena, the owner, you will find privacy and a comfortable and familiar atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing