We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Havana
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
549
44
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
549
44
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family suite old havana the main house a lovely place to stay central havana large bathroom bed and breakfast visit cuba amazing hosts breakfast was delicious each morning casa particular lovely casa air conditioning fresh fruit recommend this casa julia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cuba was amazing but “La Rosa de Ortega” made the trip even greater*. The house, the staff, and the food was AMAZING. The owners of the house are super professional and welcoming. Every person in this house, from the owners, to all of the staff goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great experience. The host Ana was the best of the best, thank you for making sure everything was great with us. It felt like home, all the staff are great people! You are going to love this place and people. I’m definitely going back soon.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Grissell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvioo473, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Grissell!
We believe that each guest is a precious treasure that we must take care of with love.
It makes us very happy to know that we have fulfilled our goal.
We hope you come back to visit us and send us all your friends!.. ja, ja.. .you promissed!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2019 via mobile

Had the pleasure of four nights at La Rosa de Ortega, my first time in Cuba. Accomodation was superb, I had a stand alone granny flat type unit that was beautifully prepared and thankfully well air conditioned. The staff, especially Ana and Jose Carlos went out of their way to ensure my stay was enjoyable, from organising a three hour classic car tour to recommending bars, sights and experiences. Highly recommended and would love to go back one day. Gracias

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank V981BSkevinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvioo473, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Kevin, thank you very much for staying with us! The privilege of sharing with you was a gift for our staff.
We will all be happy to receive you on another occasion.
Welcome back since this moment!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here on my way to Moscow for a single night and boy oh boy ..For starters they upgraded me on arrival and provided a fantastic room..The views from the casa are spectacular..Breakfast just amazing and the staff simply outstanding..including the owner who stopped by during breakfast to say hello..

One complain the jacuzzi in my room didn’t have hot water..however I would definitely return back with my partner for a longer stay next time..

Until then Muchas Gracias to the entire team out there..you guys are fantastic..

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank dcruzdale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvioo473, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2019

We are just a reflect of our guests!! we just give back a little part of the enormous portions of kindness and happiness you bring up to here!!
Welcome back....!! of course!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days. Was perfect to visit Havana center but not beeing in the fuzz of the city. A taxi will cost you about 10 cuc. Rooms are spacious, clean and have good beds. Swimming pool is perfect to chill after a long day is the city. Nice restaurants are nearby.
Staff are most friendly and helpful!
Would certainly recommend this and come back when visiting Havana again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Erik1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvioo473, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2019

Erick, thanks for your compliments!!
This is the best gift we could ever have...the recognition by our guests.
I will share this beautiful post with all our staff, I know that they make the difference every day.
Thanks again, and welcome back, of course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2019

After staying in a casa on the Malecon we moved because we wanted somewhere with a pool. As soon as we arrived we let like we'd gone back into another time. The main house is beautiful with original tiled floors and lots of antiques. The staff were very friendly, especially Anna, whom we could have a conversation with due to her excellent English.
Once in the gardens it is very private with a pool and a lovely outdoor eating area where breakfast is served (7cuc each) and snacks throughout the day. Snacks and Cuban cocktails were very reasonable; cocktails only 2.50 CUC!
Before we arrived we'd been offered a free upgrade to the 'bungalow suite', which was not actually a bungalow but a two storey self contained property consisting of a very large bathroom and TV and seating downstairs and a large bedroom upstairs. All immaculately clean. It even had its own small garden and rocking chairs.
The pool was great after walking around Havana in the August heat, in fact we were the only ones it it so we well like it was our own.
We also enjoyed walking around the local area as it's not in a tourist spot so you get to se the real Havana. We had been recommended a local Cuban restaurant which we at in twice and was very reasonable.
The staff made us feel welcome from the security staff at night (who enjoyed practising his English) to the gardener who was constantly sweeping outside, and of course Anna who told us where the local cafes/restaurants were.
If we ever visit Havana again we would definitely stay here.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leedsrubysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvioo473, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2019

Gracias !! Karen, this is the deepest thing that comes out from our hearts!!
We work with a lot of passion to give the best to our guests, and it is simply amazing when you, in return, just tell us the most beautiful compliments we can receive.
Welcome back, anytime, for sure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews