We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveler rating
529
44
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
44
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family suite an outdoor dining area slice of paradise old havana swimming pool beautiful casa restaurants within walking distance taxi ride central havana standard room recommended restaurants lovely pool the entire staff breakfast was amazing beautiful room amazing hosts visit cuba
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 582 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

I stayed here with my mother during the last week of December. We have always wanted to visit Cuba, and believed that we would never see it. We had no idea where to stay, but after a lot of research on Trip Asvisor, we decided to stay with Julia and her wonderful staff at La Rosa de Ortega. It is a beautiful, clean, and scenic B&B. We felt safe, throughout our stay and truly appreciated the efforts of the entire staff.

A delicious breakfast can be had for $7/pp, while lunch is also extremely reasonable. La Heredia is an excellent restaurant, within walking distance. There’s also a nearby WiFi park. I would suggest that you hire a tour guide, if you’d not familiar with Havana. We only toured Havana once, while there, because we both really needed the rest, and we had a perfectly, lovely time.

I’d like to thank Julia, our wonderfully hostess for making us feel so welcome. I’ll see you again, when I return with my husband!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Felice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2019

Felice, you and your mother were so kind and friendly, that we had to make no effort to host you, it was always a pleasure!! We just wait to meet your husband very soon, and don't forget that my staff also love you two!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at La Rosa de Ortega last week while visiting Havana and surroundings. The place was beautiful, clean, welcoming and made our vacation fantastic!

Julia and her staff go above and beyond to make your stay an experience! The breakfasts were delicious, we could order beverages and snacks any time. The accommodations were unique, clean, beautiful and extravagant.

Julia invited us to spend New Years Eve with her and her wonderful family and it was a fun, wonderful night!

They helped us with selecting daily itineraries, calling locations, reserving taxis. We were within walking distance of a wonderful restaurant, called La Fondita, where we had a couple of great dinners and not expensive!

We will definitely consider returning to this place again! Thanks Julia!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ntdbnbadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2019

After so many years, guests have truly become part of our family.
Each time the experience of waiting for the new year with the guests is beautiful, and this 2019, once again I felt privileged like few beings in the world.
Around me was my beautiful large family composed of people I had never seen before, who spoke different languages ​​but we all embraced with emotion, we wished the best things and we did not think for a second what our differences were, we all felt the happiest human beings on the planet.
It's me who has to thank you and your sweet family for staying with us.
A huge hug to you in the distance...we all miss you!
Julia and the rest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019

We stayed here for three nights in December with friends. Our friends booked It based on reviews and it did not disappoint. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Although our friends room in the main building had a problem with the shower temperature and pressure. It was reported but not solved. Our room was located away from the mail building with a small seating area downstairs and wall to wall windows in the bedroom upstairs with a king bed. The mattress was comfortable although a bit firm. The bathroom had a decent size shower with good water pressure and temperature. It included a hairdryer, soap and plenty of towels. The breakfast selection was plentiful with fresh fruit and juice, eggs, bread and plenty of coffee. The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We highly recommend this casa although it’s a bit pricey compared to others. But, you get what you pay for.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2019

Gracias Kathleen!! Your kindness and all the good vibes, happiness and positive energy that the entire group had, made us feel so glad and lucky having guests like you around!!
We wish you all the best in this new year!!
Cheers!! Julia y Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2018

We started and ended our 18 day holiday in Cuba at La Rosa de Ortega. It was a wonderful start after a long haul flight, jet lag, etc. to find ourselves in this beautiful oasis of calm in the suburbs of Havana. (Taxi 10 CUC into town, well worth it!) We arrived to a warm welcome from the staff and Cuba Libres! The staff are a wonderful team, so helpful and really happy to spend time with the visitors and practise their English. The breakfasts are a feast and watch out for George's wonderful homemade cake! The rooms are all uniquely different and the house has much authentic period furniture that takes you back to the 40's and 50's. We left refreshed, ready to take on Cuba and returned after our travels to such a warm welcome from Julia and the staff, we felt like family. I can't recommend this venue highly enough!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beejaysmith5349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2018

Brenda, you and your family are the nicest and kindest people that anybody can imagine!! so, it was all our pleasure to host you, or even more : It was an absolute priviledge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018

We stayed 2 nights with another couple at this casa that is a 15 min drive to Old Havana, and can not say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay there. It is like an oasis to relax and unwind around the poolside. The friendly staff that go out of their way to look after your every need. We really enjoyed having conversations with them to learn more about life in Cuba. The food was delicious and so nice to have it available on sight for more than just breakfast hours. Julia and Silvio have done an amazing job of renovating this property. The common areas and rooms are appointed tastefully with gorgeous antiques.
We loved the old cars in the driveway: were great for pictures!
Julia and Silvio are amazing hosts. We would highly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

Barbara, you and the entire party are the people who makes the difference travelling around!!
Sharing good vibes, strong energy and smiles, I'm sure that not just here, but everybody loved you everywhere you stayed in Cuba.
You are amazing guests!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews