We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveler rating
529
44
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
44
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family suite an outdoor dining area slice of paradise old havana swimming pool beautiful casa restaurants within walking distance taxi ride central havana standard room recommended restaurants lovely pool the entire staff breakfast was amazing beautiful room amazing hosts visit cuba
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 582 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2018

We stayed 2 nights with another couple at this casa that is a 15 min drive to Old Havana, and can not say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay there. It is like an oasis to relax and unwind around the poolside. The friendly staff that go out of their way to look after your every need. We really enjoyed having conversations with them to learn more about life in Cuba. The food was delicious and so nice to have it available on sight for more than just breakfast hours. Julia and Silvio have done an amazing job of renovating this property. The common areas and rooms are appointed tastefully with gorgeous antiques.
We loved the old cars in the driveway: were great for pictures!
Julia and Silvio are amazing hosts. We would highly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

Barbara, you and the entire party are the people who makes the difference travelling around!!
Sharing good vibes, strong energy and smiles, I'm sure that not just here, but everybody loved you everywhere you stayed in Cuba.
You are amazing guests!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

We stayed a La Rosa de Ortega in Havana Cuba for a weekend. The hosts were amazing. The property has beautiful rooms each with a separate distinct look. There is a pool and the food that is available was delicious. We look forward to visiting again. We highly recommend visiting Julia and Silvio's property and they showed us a couple of other properties that they have in Central Havana. This vacation proved to be exceptional because of our stay here.

Room tip: All rooms have a different decor but one of them has a small private jacuzzi!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 371elisaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Elisa, it has been all our pleasure to meet you and your kind husband.
We really aprecaite all your compliments, we work hard to please all our guests, and we are really glad when we reach any suceess.
We will be more than happy to host you again very soon.

Julia y Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

Do not hesitate to book this casa particular! 15mn & 10 CUC ($) by taxi to the center of La Havana.A little Paradise, clean, quiet, gorgeous, lovely employees taking care of you and the house. Always available for any assistance you may need, just try and you won't regret!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Nathalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2018
Google Translation

Muchas gracias a ustedes por quedarse con nosotros!! Yo voy a compartir esta preciosa nota con todos acá!! Para nosotros, este es el impulso que nos ayuda a seguir el camino, que a veces puede ser muy difícil!!
Reciba toda nuestra gratitud y un fuerte abrazo!!!
Las esperamos con los brazos abiertos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

We booked the casa for a few days as the first adress after arrival. It was the perfect choice. We had a very clean family room with recent airco.

Yes the casa is way more expensive. Yes you have to travel to the center with a taxi which is not alsways available or able to locate the casa upon return. Yes it is strange to have wrecked cars in front of your door...
.
But the comfort that you have from a very friendly team, a nice pool to relax in, some of the finest food we had in Cuba with great cocktails at affordable prices. And all that from busy and noisy Havana is a real plus. (Believe me we also stayed in the centre).

Coming back to the Rosa was really coming home.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomV747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

COMING HOME!!!! This is the most beautiful compliment that we have ever received!!!
Gracias, Tom!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Let me explain..before I even touch on how beautiful the place was and the amazing Cuba Libres and breakfasts, let me mention that we ran out of money before our trip was over (don't ask..my husband spent on cigars and we ended up having to wire American cash via western union) That being said, Julia and the folks at La Rosa could not have been more helpful! They had no issue with the fact that we had to go into town and get money and pay them later. They felt so bad for us, Julia started giving me some of the money back! she was afraid we'd end up hungry & homeless at the airport. I loved this place! We did one night in old Havana and two nights here. Beautiful room, beautiful setting, the breakfasts were incredible and I'm in love with their cuba libres. If you go, tell Julia we made it back safe with our bellies full!!!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank TaraTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Hola Tara!!! your review is just like you : powerfull, smiling and kind!!
We really apreciate your support, specially in this moment when we are missing all our american friends !
It was a true pleasure to meet you and your husband: You both are such a special people!!
Thanks from the bottom of our hearts.
Julia y Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews