We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Havana
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
549
44
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
549
44
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old havana the main house a lovely place to stay central havana large bathroom bed and breakfast visit cuba amazing hosts breakfast was delicious each morning casa particular lovely casa air conditioning fresh fruit recommend this casa julia bottega
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 602 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2016

I truly recommend this casa for the beauty of the place, the calm and the wonderful staff.

Everything was just perfect with our stay at La Rosa de Ortega.

Warm welcome, peacefull garden, beautiful pool.

Lots of choice for the breakfast.

Hot water isn't a problem what is very appreciated when you travelling in Cuba. Nice air conditonning too and room splotless!

The bed was very confortable and all the amenties was like at the hotel.

Book and enjoy your stay at La Rosa de Ortega.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zazabelle-QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2016

Thanks you for comming!! I'm sure that you liked our place because you are a perfect guest!! All our Staff is so grateful for your kind comments, we will be glad if you decide to come back anytime!!
All the best.

Julia y Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016

As frequent globetrotters and often times travel writers with familiarity with very ‘high-end’ accommodations, we chose La Rosa D’Ortega for our first visit to Cuba based upon its location, reviews, and general ambience via a website. We arrived as guests and, after ten days, departed as friends with several of our hosts.

We cannot say enough about the ‘hearts’ that flow from those who helped make our stay one of our life-time favorites. La Rosa D’Ortega is magical on many levels; from the structure itself, the well-appointed rooms and the security, to the soul-filled laughter that resonates from the common areas.

After a long day touring La Habana, returning to La Casa felt more like coming home to family rather than just a place to rest. As for the taxi service from Habana to the casa, ignore the previous comments. All guests are now provided with a detailed map with instructions in Spanish to provide to the driver. Not only did we experience no problemo, we had the same drivers several times and became acquainted with them as well. In addition to the use of taxis, we highly recommend ‘City Tour’ in a classic American car with Marcia, who speaks impeccable English, and her wonderful driver and husband, Jose.

We only wish there were more than five stars in this rating system as we want to give them 100! To our now friends: Javier, Julia, Silvio, Sasha, Mercedes, Jos, Selena, Judith, Hanoi, Marcia, Jose, and, of course, Brenda---MUCHO GRACIAS---and, we will see you and be in touch soon.

La Rosa D’ Ortega is a ‘must-place’ to stay on the planet.

Room tip: Ask for Room # 5 or the Apartment with an unbelievable Jacuzzi.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornucopia2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Guys!.. we are so lucky finding is our way people like you: warm, tender, funny and friendly. My staff felt in love with you two ! they were so proud to have the opportunity to attend you on any way that they really tried to improve every single thing to please you.
Thanks for comming, or maybe better: thanks for staying in our hearts.
Julia, Silvio & La Rosa de Ortega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

This was our second visit to this bed and breakfast, and we were quite excited about our stay. Rooms are clean, service is polite and courteous, and fairly accessible price wise.

No complaints about the facilities. It is under construction and a few of the items show there wear, but nothing terribly bad. The pool is great and the breakfast menu is delicious.

So why the 3 star review she last year we gave them a 5 star and we returned?

On our second night my wife while taking a shower, had he shower door slip of the hinges and break. It shattered all over the floor and gave her a few minor cuts. We promptly reported this to the staff who came in to clean up. By luck our little one did not want to shower with mom otherwise she would have been in there as well.

On our way to check out on our last day, the owner pulled me aside and asked if we would pay for damages. I told him we wouldn't as it was a maintenance issue and he can't expect guests to pay for repairs on his property, unless it's an intentional damage. Needless to say the conversation did not go well. Even more disappointing was the lack of concern they had for my wife. Not once did anyone come to ask if she was okay or needed medical attention. Not once did Mr Dario ask about her well being. Yet he did manage to ask us to cover the cost of the repairs for his lack of maintenance.

Overall I would like to recommend this amazing place to stay. Rooms are nice, amongst the nicest we saw in Cuba and service is on par with most international standards. Just be aware that if something breaks maintenance wise, there is little regard about your wellbeing and you'll be expected to pay for damages.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank jcastaneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016
Google Translation

Javier, lamento que una relación huésped-anfitrión que parecía tan amigable, terminara tan mal, no es nuestro estilo.
A su esposa la vimos salir perfectamente, y los cristales de las duchas estan preparados para no provocar mayores accidentes en caso de rotura, honestamente no creimos que fuera necesario preocuparse por mas.
Usted mismo nos dijo que hasta ese momento en su apartamento funcionaba todo bien. El apartamento es nuevo, asi que no es cierto que estuviese falta de mantenimiento, no hay evidencia de otras fallas y hasta hoy estamos convencidos de que la rotura fue provocada por algún golpe, así que basados en las buenas relaciones, le ofrecimos la posibilidad de que usted, de propia voluntad, cooperara con la solución del problema, por demás, de bien difícil reposición para nosotros.
En fin, nos sorprende que haya escrito una opinión como esta, sin tener la razón.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit to Cuba and we really didn't know what to expect in terms of accommodation. We discovered La Rosa de Ortega on TripAdvisor and reached out to them via email. Silvio's response was almost immediate and he worked patiently with us even as our dates changed. Just based on this initial correspondence I felt confident that we had made the right decision, even if the B&B wasn't centrally located. Once we arrived and saw the absolutely beautiful home, so well appointed, so well maintained and staffed by the most professional, polite and helpful people, I knew there was absolutely no where else I would have liked to spend my time in Havana. The rooms were out of a dream, beautifully decorated with a mix of antique and modern touches, the bathrooms were all modern and so clean, the touches in the common rooms made you feel like you were stepping back in time, and every morning breakfast was a delicious feast. The only drawback would be the distance from the city - you'll spend a good bit in taxi fare going too and from Old and Central Havana but there's always the option of the 'taxi collectivo' that are half a CUC per person if budget is an issue. Overall, La Ortega de Rosa beyond exceeded my expectations and I'll recommend it to any and everyone who asks about accommodation in Havana!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank amsylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Hello amsylvester,
How are you?
We greatly appreciate the opportunity you offered us to be your hosts in Havana, was a really pleasure!
Thank you very much for your review, recommendation and photos.
Best regards from Cuba
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

This was our first 'casa particular' in Havana and really set the standard high, even though it is more like a hotel. We stayed in the bungalow suite which is a seperate building from everything else which we loved as we like to be by ourselves! It was over two storeys and was huge! Julia and Silvio were lovely and very welcoming even when we arrived very late due to our taxi driver getting lost! The place is quite difficult to find but when you arrive they give you a map with a tip for the taxis which works a treat. My spanish is very poor but the tip that they write is:

Tomar la Avenida de Sta Catalina hasta la Funeraria (esq. Juan Bruno Zayas) subir buseando la avenida de Aeosta, en la cuarta cuadea en la cima de la loma se encuentra la casa.

Just thought that might be helpful for people trying to find it for the first time!

Breakfast was lovely, the pool is great and a wonderful view of Havana especially at night time!

There are quite a few animals around, lovely dog and cats but also some roosters which were a bit noisy sometimes just before the sun came up!

A little pricier than all the other places we stayed in but it is a very luxurious place!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccap805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2016

Rebecca, you were so kind and warm.. that it was really easy to have you at home.
We enjoy so much what we do that our job is more like a divertimento!!!
Thanks for comming, and be sure that you will be welcome anytime.
All the best.

Julia y Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews