We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Havana
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
549
44
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
549
44
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old havana the main house a lovely place to stay central havana large bathroom bed and breakfast visit cuba amazing hosts breakfast was delicious each morning casa particular lovely casa air conditioning fresh fruit recommend this casa julia bottega
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 602 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit to Cuba and we really didn't know what to expect in terms of accommodation. We discovered La Rosa de Ortega on TripAdvisor and reached out to them via email. Silvio's response was almost immediate and he worked patiently with us even as our dates changed. Just based on this initial correspondence I felt confident that we had made the right decision, even if the B&B wasn't centrally located. Once we arrived and saw the absolutely beautiful home, so well appointed, so well maintained and staffed by the most professional, polite and helpful people, I knew there was absolutely no where else I would have liked to spend my time in Havana. The rooms were out of a dream, beautifully decorated with a mix of antique and modern touches, the bathrooms were all modern and so clean, the touches in the common rooms made you feel like you were stepping back in time, and every morning breakfast was a delicious feast. The only drawback would be the distance from the city - you'll spend a good bit in taxi fare going too and from Old and Central Havana but there's always the option of the 'taxi collectivo' that are half a CUC per person if budget is an issue. Overall, La Ortega de Rosa beyond exceeded my expectations and I'll recommend it to any and everyone who asks about accommodation in Havana!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank amsylvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Hello amsylvester,
How are you?
We greatly appreciate the opportunity you offered us to be your hosts in Havana, was a really pleasure!
Thank you very much for your review, recommendation and photos.
Best regards from Cuba
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2016

This was our first 'casa particular' in Havana and really set the standard high, even though it is more like a hotel. We stayed in the bungalow suite which is a seperate building from everything else which we loved as we like to be by ourselves! It was over two storeys and was huge! Julia and Silvio were lovely and very welcoming even when we arrived very late due to our taxi driver getting lost! The place is quite difficult to find but when you arrive they give you a map with a tip for the taxis which works a treat. My spanish is very poor but the tip that they write is:

Tomar la Avenida de Sta Catalina hasta la Funeraria (esq. Juan Bruno Zayas) subir buseando la avenida de Aeosta, en la cuarta cuadea en la cima de la loma se encuentra la casa.

Just thought that might be helpful for people trying to find it for the first time!

Breakfast was lovely, the pool is great and a wonderful view of Havana especially at night time!

There are quite a few animals around, lovely dog and cats but also some roosters which were a bit noisy sometimes just before the sun came up!

A little pricier than all the other places we stayed in but it is a very luxurious place!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccap805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2016

Rebecca, you were so kind and warm.. that it was really easy to have you at home.
We enjoy so much what we do that our job is more like a divertimento!!!
Thanks for comming, and be sure that you will be welcome anytime.
All the best.

Julia y Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2016

Gorgeous hostal with swimming-pool. This hostal is about 10min with taxi from Havana but really worth the ride. The first day we even walked to town but ...it's about 2hours so It's nice for one time because you can see how people are living but taxi is a better idea :-). We booked the mastersuite but received an upgrade so we had a kind of penthouse ....and this was heaven. I never had such a beautiful room in my life. Windows all around, a terrace as big as the room with a view over Havana ....wonderful!!!!! Because of the lovely terrace with fantastic sunsets we never went to visit Havana in the evening so maybe that's a pity so I suggest to take 3 nights in this hostal and 1 night in a casa in town.

Room tip: penthouse is perfect but I think all the rooms are very lovely
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathaliekellens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

Nathalie, we are so glad that you really enjoyed our place!!
I think that our city, but specially our place is more about sensations than any other thing, so it's great to know that we have so sensitives guests like you, visiting us.
Thanks a lot for your highly favorable review, it's an incredible boost to continue our work!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Amazing casa to start! Calm relaxed clean and with a swimming pool! Friendly staff and good massages and food. Recommended! We were very happy to start our round trip there. They provide excellent pick up service from the airport.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Thanks, Charlotte!!
So honoured by your words!! we are so proud as you talk about our place so good!
You can be sure that we fight every day to give the best to our guests.
This is an incredible input to reach more energy to go ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

When looking at reviews for this Casa Particular we kept wondering how it could have no negative reviews. How could no one have disliked it? The truth is, there are things you could complain about, if you wanted to. We didn't have a shower curtain, there was a tiny stain on the ceiling. Why don't people pick at these minor faults? Because for thirty bucks you get to stay at a GORGEOUS place with an AMAZING pool, helpful staff, a lovely lounge to relax in and the NICEST PROPRIETOR EVER. Oh, and there's AC. That's important. Seriously, I can't rave enough about the pool, the food, the view over Havana or Julia herself. There's a reason this place has such great reviews. Go stay and you'll find out.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

Gracias, Margaret!! this is so beautiful!! maybe the secret is that even if we know that we are not perfect, we work hard on it!!! and we promise we will keep trying!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews