We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Havana
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
549
44
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
549
44
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old havana the main house a lovely place to stay central havana large bathroom bed and breakfast visit cuba amazing hosts breakfast was delicious each morning casa particular lovely casa air conditioning fresh fruit recommend this casa julia bottega
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 602 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

My 19 year old daughter and I stayed at La Rosa twice during our recent holiday in Cuba, and it truly was our oasis of calm.
We spent 3 nights in the outer bungalow (tucked away from the main building), before heading off to explore Varadero.
On our return, we spent x1 night in a standard room in the main villa before flying out of Cuba. We loved our time here, and can't speak highly enough of the owners and staff. We ate breakfast daily, and ordered lunches most days as well. The food was some of the best we ate in all of Cuba. The staff organized a wonderful 1/1 walking tour, and booked cabs and transfers for us (as we don't speak Spanish). La Rosa truly felt like home, and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this location to others. Yes, it's a 15 min cab ride from Havana, but this proved to be a blessing, as it allowed us to truly get away from the noise and madness of Havana city. The roads surrounding the villa are dreadful, but once you enter through the gates, you won't regret it.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank kiwi1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

You and your daughter were one of sweetests persons we have ever met! It's great to know that you had a nice time in our place, we really enjoy trying to please our guests.
Thanks for comming, once again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2016

The Casa was lovely, the room was charming, the staff were so helpful and friendly. We stayed here on out last evening, as a bit of luxury after traveling around cuba for the previous two weeks. The room we had was so nice, four poster bed, great bathroom, could have asked for more. The team were also really friendly and helpful as well, ordering taxis and giving directions. The only downside was the location, 10 mins out of central Havana.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2016

If you are going to havana Look no further for a place to stay! AMAZING!
Such a beautiful place hosted by helpful, friendly relaxed, professional, beautiful people.
It was such a pleasure to stay here after two weeks struggling around cuba! They made our final days in Cuba trouble free.Thank you!

Set in a quiet residential area this amazing home has been lovingly restored to accommodate a number of individual, carefully decorated rooms. the bed was very comfortable. and our room had a small juliet balcony that overlooked the entire city.
The stay here was certainly the accommodation highlight of our trip. We did not want to leave!

The communal areas include an outdoor dining area and a fully stocked bar that is manned until 11pm. All you eat and drink is added to your bill at super reasonable rates. The pool is clean and just perfect after a long day site seeing. It was hard to beat watching the sun set over the city whilst sitting by the pool with a mojito in hand. Bliss.

So many nice little touches going on here that i can't begin to tell you them all now. You'll just have to go and find out yourselves!

We hope to vist again. Sending you guys a million good wishes. xx

Room tip: had a snoop, they all look great.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeviFoxfires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2016

La Rosa de Ortaga was the perfect beginning to fall in love with Cuba and their lovely people! Julia, Silvio and their crew, really built up a paradies in Havanna. They cared so much and helped us so much to have a perfect stay at Cuba. Thank you so much to Julia and Satschi to arrange the rest of our trip in the perfect way. Thank you to Julia and Mercedes and all the others of the crew to be so warm hearted and lovely with us. Thank you to make the contact for us to Marol and Dayami, the perfect guides in Havanna! The food was excellent, so various and healthy, rooms and the whole complex are built up with so much love and an excellent taste with all perfect details. I hope, I will be able to come back soon! Many greetings to all my lovely friends!

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dagmar161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2016

A beautifully restored B&B about 15 mins taxi ride from Old Havana. It was the perfect start to our holiday giving us the chance to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy centres of Havana whilst still being able to easily reach them. We could relax by the pool in the morning, have a delicious lunch at the house and then head into Old Havana for a bit of sight seeing and dinner. Or the neighbourhood restaurants we were recommended were excellent - La Fondita de Heredia is particularly worth a mention...delicious food and very contemporary. The rooms and the rest of the house are beautifully furnished with antiques. The bar/restaurant ( breakfast & lunch only) in the garden was very well run and with very generous freshly prepared food. Julia and her team were friendly and helpful. I could go on...we loved it so much.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews