We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Havana
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
549
44
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
549
44
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old havana the main house a lovely place to stay central havana large bathroom bed and breakfast visit cuba amazing hosts breakfast was delicious each morning casa particular lovely casa air conditioning fresh fruit recommend this casa julia bottega
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 602 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2015 via mobile

The piles of terracotta tiles stacked up high against the low walls that surround the property. The pristine outdoor toilet handily located between the sparking pool and the little outdoor bar. The fresh mint grown in an abandoned ceramic sink which flavours our not-so-sporadic mojitos. The thoughtful touches such as an umbrella outside our upgraded room when rain threatens. The rethinking of old materials so common to Havana, represented by the base of my bedside table...a little old black sewing machine. The sprawling trees with the ubiquitous red flowers which protect some of our sensitive Scottish skin from the unforgiving Cuban sun. The family dog, Brenda, who merges sleepy siestas with on-guard nighttime protection when we buzz for entry after exploring the ramshackle streets below the house. The view of Havana Vieja from the terrace, where we can see our first hotel, the Nacional, in very distant view, like the castle in Narnia, a historic landmark next to the Malceon, a place I am glad to be looking at from afar. The hotchpotch of delapidated houses and once-upon-a-time mansions, covered in part by technicolor dreamcoats of washing, buzzing with mothers shouting to tiny children to come into the shade. We are on holiday proper here. No-one bothers us, unless we want them to. Sashi can be radioed when my school Spanish fails to conjur up anything more than dos mojitos, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is served seamlessly...fresh fried eggs with warm brioche buns, strong Cuban coffee which I dip my sugary biscuits into, natural yogurt with a platter of local fruit. I ask where the papaya jam comes from. "We make it" says Sashi, as if, obviously we do...this is Cuba. Coming from the Cayman Islands where almost everything I eat is imported, my body delights in the local produce, and attention to detail. As an obsessive cleaner, I try and fail to find cut corners. Alas, La Rosa sparkles, in every way possible. We leave with heavy hearts, to genuine hugs from Julia and her wonderful staff, and a jar of the mind-blowing jam to take home. If you don't hear from me for a few days, you can guarantee I will be here, revelling in lack of internet and great sleeps, lying by the pool, with one hand in the water and the other clutching a drink, having travelled 45 minutes by plane and 50 years in spirit.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
7  Thank Angeladellascozia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015

WOW! Set the standard for Cuban hospitality and comfort!

We recently spent 3 nights at "casa de Julia" as our driver referred to it as. Everything was amazing about it. The rooms were clean and comfortable. AC was nice and cold, bathroom was spacious, and the people working there were very polite and friendly.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to change the last two nights of our stay and stayed at 5 star hotel. Other than the gigantic pool, the 5 stay hotel was several levels below what La Rosa de Ortega had to offer. We plan on returning to Cuba next year and we won't consider any other option than staying here.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcastaneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2015

I couldn't recommend this B&B highly enough. The rooms were fantastic (plus we got upgraded twice - at the beginning and end of our trip when we were back in Havana - at no extra charge). The staff were incredibly helpful and lent us their phone to organise things and assisted us in finding casas in other towns. It's slightly out of town but this can definitely be made into a positive as it is fun getting the old cars into town and if you learn how to do it the local way where they act as buses it is much cheaper to do (about 1 CUC per person into Old Havana).

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Owner at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2015

Hello Amelia C.,
How are you?
Thank you very much for the preference and recommendation to TripAdvisor's Friends.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a fantastic stay in our B&B, is the best result that we can expect.
Whenever you wish to return to Havana, count on us, La Rosa de Ortega, tasteful, will welcome.
Best regards from Cuba,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Julia runs a tight ship here. Professional security, filling breakfasts, great rooms, and modern bathrooms. You'll be hard pressed to find anything better in Havana. Julia is a gem herself, sharing her experience, her knowledge, and her time with wayward travelers, she goes above and beyond in making your time in Havana ideal.

Havana is smoggy and hot, but La Rosa de Ortega stands on a hill in the suburbs, away from the chaos, and you'll love it for the sanctuary it provides, from the pool to the quiet.

The only complaint we had, was that we had really weak water pressure, which was due to a faulty pump, and Julia saw to it promptly.

Our trip had all sorts of ups and downs, but La Rosa de Ortega was definitely the highlight. If we're ever in Cuba again, this will remain our go to for excellence.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianmF9533TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2015

Hi Ian M.,
How are you?
Thank you very much for so special review. We are delighted to know that you felt well attended, comfortable ... in La Rosa de Ortega, we work with love and dedication to make it happen.
We are very grateful to you for letting us be your "sanctuary" in Havana.
Come back whenever you want, the doors of La Rosa de Ortega are going to be always opened for you.
A special greeting from Cuba,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

Since leaving Cuba, the memories of the idyllic time spent with the hosts at Rosa have not faded. Our visit was over three years ago, yet as time passes I remember even more fondly the time we spent absorbing the warmest welcome we have received in all our travels away.

Perhaps it was the romance of the grand old building, lovingly cared for with bright colours both evocative and entrancing. The antique vehicle, rusted beyond repair that has been photographed by many intrepid traveller Or perhaps the mouth wateringly delicious food prepared, surprising guests with what was freshest that day.

Wandering the streets in the dying light of the day around the home we felt privy to an authentic experience of Havana. Whispers of music from crumbling houses, in brilliant shades of pastel. Laughter and chatter filled the streets, deep in the suburbs. Far from the bustle of down town, our afternoons were spent drinking rum under the large mango tree in the garden.

If you do stop in Havana, this is the perfect place to find some quiet, to contemplate the world around you and feel the warm embrace of Cuban hospitality.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank GypsyGirlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews