We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveler rating
529
44
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
44
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family suite an outdoor dining area slice of paradise old havana swimming pool beautiful casa restaurants within walking distance taxi ride central havana standard room recommended restaurants lovely pool the entire staff breakfast was amazing beautiful room amazing hosts visit cuba
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 582 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This Casa is gorgeous! Compared to the Hotel Nacional, which we also had the mixed blessing to stay in for a night, it fulfills all the expectations one has in a five star place. You have friendly and very helpful staff with good English language abilities. The two different rooms we had the pleasure to stay in were elegantly furnished and spotlessly clean. The four breakfasts we enjoyed were varied and tasty. The pool was clean and refreshing.
And there are all this little things like your luggage is carried to your room or you are provided with a Havana map including an introduction in recommended restaurants etc.
The view on Havana that you have from the hill top on which the casa is situated is impressive, but comes with the only thing one might consider a disadvantage, you have a 10 to 15 minute (7-10 CUC) taxi ride to most of the sights in Havana, but honestly, after a few hours in Havana we were glad about having such a quiet place.
We have also been to lower priced Casas in Cuba we enjoyed as well, but if you want to indulge yourself with a few more luxurious days the Casa Rosa D’Ortega is worth the extra money.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locomagito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Owner at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hello locomagito.

It is very comprehensive and thorough review about our B & B, thank you very much for that. Provide a service up to the expectations of our visitors is always the goal of our work. We are pleased to know that your stay with us as pleasant as it was described. Come back soon.

Regards,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning and at the end of our holiday. It had been recommended by friends and we were SO pleased we took their advice! It's a beautiful place with a lovely garden in a quiet residential part of Havana. Julio and Silvio were extremely welcoming and all the staff went out of their way to help in any way they could. The rooms were excellent, large, modern, clean and very comfortable. We stayed in many others places during our 3 week stay in Cuba and this was an absolute haven! Not just the place but the people! We were picked up and taken to the airport- all arranged by them and everything was made so easy. It's a great place to stay and we will definitely go back if we go to Havana again. Jan & Paul

Date of stay: February 2014
1  Thank jan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi Jan

Thanks for sharing with our community on Tripadvisor your experience with us. Meeting the needs and expectations of our customers is our goal. Check back soon

Kind Regards,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My stay at La Rosa de Ortega was a fantastic end to my holiday. The house is spacious and very clean with lots of accommodation to suit most people. My (single) room was a spacious room with a small double bed and large bathroom so a couple could easily stay there. The decor is in keeping with the property and very tasteful.
Food for me was among the best I had in Cuba - Thank you George and his kitchen assistants for making me wonderful vegetarian food.
The staff are all wonderful making this is an excellent place to stay
I spent my last day relaxing by the pool and Julia allowed me the use of a room to shower before leaving for the airport.
The area is safe and quiet with at least one wonderful restaurant close by - I only tried the one as it was simply too good not to return to. After the expense of the Old Town, I ate specially prepared veggie food (lots and beautifully displayed) for under CUC 6 - and that included my Caipirinha in pleasant and very clean surroundings.

Room tip: A suite would be very special or are in a group.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi Dorothy

We are very happy for your feedback. It is a pleasure to have served as hosts during your stay. It has been felt so it is comforting to our staff. Check back soon

Kind Regards,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It was a pleasure staying at Julia and her family’s almost castle-like house. We spent our first days in Cuba at the casa and it is hard to think of a better and more welcoming start to a new country. The breakfast is marvellous and so was the pasta and fish we had for lunch. The kitchen is closed at night but they prepared sandwiches and fruit for us when the jetlag prevented us from going out for dinner. Travelling as a family with children (7 and 10y) the garden and the swimmingpool make up a perfect oasis after a hectic day in Havana. You’ll reach the city centre in 10min and it costs around CoC 7. Compared to other casa particulares it’s more expensive, but you can’t really compare them since de Ortega plays in a different league.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarElsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Propietario at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hello StarElsa.

Playing in a different league is the bet, be genuine, competent and helpful is the via. Thank you for your compliments and comments. Check back soon and feel that if you should have jetlag, the sandwiches and fruits will be waiting for you.

regards,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We've spend 10 nights at La Rosa D'Ortega in the family suite (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a living room). The suite had all the comfort we needed !
The house is not in the center of La Havana but we enjoyed the view around the swimming pool, and it only takes about 10/15 minutes to get to the Old Havana (around 8CUC)
Julia and her staff are really nice and really helpful. We had a great time and we do not regret that we didn't try any other casa particular in La Havana.
They also probably have THE best breakfast ever ! I can only recommend this place and if I ever go back to La Havana, this is where i'm going !

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lea j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Owner at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi read j

Satisfaction, that's the word that comes to mind after reading your comments. Each day, when we started our service, our goal is to achieve a service that match our customers expectation, your opinion reaffirms that we are on the right track. Come back soon.

Regards,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews