We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in Havana”
Review of La Rosa de Ortega

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Rosa de Ortega
Ranked #11 of 702 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We found this place via Tripadvisor and we are so glad we had the chance to stay here a few nigths during our trip to Cuba. The people working here are really really nice and serviceminded. Not anywhere close to the sometimes rude people we met at an all inclusive hotel in Varadero.

The host of the casa (I think her name was Sasha helped us out with taxis and everything we asked for). We stayed here 3 nights before a weeks trip to Varadero and since we liked rosa de ortega so much we ended up her also for our last night before flying out of Cuba. We found it very convinient going with the casas "own chauffeur" to airport very early in the morning the day we left Cuba. Big +++
We will recomend this place to friends going to Havana and we will for sure choose to stay here again if we come backa sometime!
Thank you!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fredrik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Owner at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Fredrik S

Nos sentimos muy alagados con su comentario. Nos satisface conocer que disfrutó su estancia en la Rosa de Ortega. Muchas gracias por compartir su opinión sobre nosotros en Tripadvisor. Regrese pronto.

Saludos,
Julia y Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for La Rosa de Ortega
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 531 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

This Casa is way above comparison with any other - in a class of its own. It is in a quiet neighbourhood outside central Havana, where you get the feeling of everyday life - not the tourist centred life of the city. The accommodation is wonderful, a retreat of the hustle, and the staff are just great. It is worth the taxi fares to get out of old Havana, and provides a blessed retreat in the evenings.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Owner at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hi Barbara.

Congratulations your comments about our B & B. We make every effort to ensure that our customers feel at ease, and your review confirms that we are on the right track.

regards,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here twice on our Cuba trip, and I would definitely go again. The first time it was a relief to escape central Havana, and the team are so kind and welcoming. The accommodation is clean and flawless. The neighbourhood is nice to explore, and the back garden has excellent skyline views. The second time we stayed, I was extremely unwell due to another casa, and everyone at La Rosa were so helpful and patient. Stay there, its great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Owner at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hi Poppy.

Thanks for sharing your opinions with our community. It is very pleasant to know that felt good in the two rooms together with our staff. This is our goal that clients feel at ease. Come back when you want.

regards,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a lovel stay for 5 days at this lovely B&B. The staff are so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Satchi was of most help in organising restauarnt bookings, taxis, packed lunches and laundry. The breakfasts were the best in Cuba and very plentiful. We will return when we next visit Cuba.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goddard4captain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Owner at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Estimated Goodard.

We are pleased that felt good during your stay at our B & B. We hope to return soon, our doors are always open for you

Regards,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We just came back from a wonderful 5 days staying at with Julia y Silvio at Rosa D'Ortega and can't recommend it enough. They have a wonderful home, the rooms and property are beautifully done; you can see the pride of ownership and dedication to pleasing guests. Julia, staff and family are very warm and helpful and so insightful in sharing information about Cuba, we learned a lot and felt like family when we were there. Julia also arranged a lovely English speaking guide for us when we were there who was most knowledgeable. The breakfasts are wonderful and plentiful; we were spoiled. We took Collectivos into Old Havana everyday, they were fun for a taste of Cuban life and very cheap (.50 CUC). We stayed in the green room on the top floor which was lovely, had a tiny patio to open the doors and had a new modern bathroom. It was a lovely 5 days and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a real taste of Cuba and local experience while enjoying a bit of luxury. ~ Thanks Julia and Silvio! Erin & Andy

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Owner at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Hi Erin

Our aim is to make our customers feel satisfied. Thank you very much for the comment. When you want you can return

regards,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Julia and Silvio are terrific hosts. They spent time talking to us and checked in to make sure we were having a good time. The staff are terrific - friendly and helpful. The house itself is just beautiful - a colonial gem with beautiful outdoor space and a great pool. We have stayed at the Nacional and the Havana Libre and this place beats them both. Breakfast everyday was lovely - juice and eggs and toast and coffee and fruit salad. Everything you could want. We highly recommend La Rosa D'Ortega.

Our experience in Cuba is always the same - the friendlier and more thoughtful we are, the better response we get from our Cuban hosts. Sometimes we feel that Cubans don't get enough positive feedback for the many positive features of their country - for us, Cuba is the best place to travel because they are trying their very best to ensure visitors have a good time, balanced with sustainable development and social justice. It is also extremely safe.

Room Tip: We were in the downstairs suites and they were both lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cupesupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Owner at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hello cupesupporter
When we receive a comment like this, surely feel that our work met the target, we really strive to achieve the level of satisfaction achieved with us. Today we are a little happier than yesterday, no doubt it inspires for further improvement. Thank you. Return when you want, we will be waiting.
Regards,
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

As a family we stayed in the deluxe rooms on the ground floor. The hosts Julia, Silvio and their staff were incredibly kind, professional and accommodating. La Rosa D'Ortega boasts incredible views over Havana which is perfect as breakfast is served outside in the morning over a covered area in the back garden. Help was always at hand when we needed advice on any of our issues in Cuba including arranging taxis to and from locations and booking special occasions such as a night at the Tropicana. We would recommended this place to anyone visiting Cuba and wishing to stay in a real slice of paradise tucked just a minor 10-15 car drive in central Havana. Definitely worthy of a stamp of approval.

Room Tip: We (family of 4) stayed in the deluxe room on ground level, looking onto the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio O, Owner at La Rosa de Ortega, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Hi Alex S
Thank you very much for your comment, let us know that our work has been useful and enjoyable for you.W e always strive to be so. Check back soon
Julia and Silvio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.4 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
4.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,427 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,355 reviews
3.6 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,722 reviews
3.9 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rosa de Ortega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rosa de Ortega

Address: Patrocinio No. 252 | corner to Juan Bruno Zayas. Víbora. 10 de Octubre, Havana 10500, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 702 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel du charme, located in one the highest points of the City and far away a few minutes from the Historical Center of Havana, we offer a quiet and relaxing place for you to stay. With comfortable rooms, veranda and a magnificent garden, you could find all you need to relax in a luxury panorama: the spectacular Caribbean sunsets and an amazing view of Havana City. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing