We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”
Review of Casa Colonial 1715

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Colonial 1715
Ranked #30 of 690 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stained in this Casa for 3 nights at the beginning of our vacation in Cuba and one more night at the end of it. Everything was excellent. The room was pleasant and very clean with a great bathroom, AC and vent. Breakfast was good and Roberto's flan excellent. We got good restaurant tips and explanations on where to go and what to visit. The owners were really nice in helping us fixing airport pick up and taxis. Roberto even borrowed us his Cuba street Maps for our trip!
The house is not only in the middle of the Habana Vieja but also only 5 min walk from the bus to Playa del Este.
We strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for the big room with the en-suite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    63
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
95
315
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed with Roberto for our first four nights in Cuba. Roberto kindly arranged for a car to collect us from Havana airport (recommended: 25CUC).

LOCATION: The house is on Calle Lamparilla which runs parallel to Calle Obispo - the main tourist bar/restaurant drag in Havana. Lamparilla ends in Havana Vieja which is a very pretty part of town and only about 5-10 mins walk max. Same time to Capitulo Nacional and the 5CUC tour buses. If you are in town for 2-3 days, you'll be pushed to find a better location.

THE HOUSE: it's spacious with tall ceilings, vivid teal walls and plenty of pictures, paintings and decorations. You certainly feel like you are in a family home. It's also very quiet which for a Havana back road is a much welcomed attribute (especially if you've come off a long flight). There is a separate, brightly lit area where you'd have breakfast (see food later). Our bedroom was the first on the left as you enter (see pics). The room is also tall with bright colours. There is a fan and air conditioning - both are fully functional. The shower is en suite (not all are) and was hot for our four days. There are plenty of plugs for hair drying, charging cameras, phones etc. Cuban plugs are the same as the flat dual American ones. The room was very clean, sheets and towels are provided (also clean). The room also stays dark in the mornings which is nice if you want to sleep in.

THE FOOD: we did not have dinner here. I don't know if dinner is an option but we decided to eat out while in Havana - we later discovered during our time in Cuba, eating in the casa is a GOOD choice so if dinner is available I encourage you to try it out. Breakfast is good with strong coffee, milk, bread, fruit, eggs, guava marmalade (try it!!) and caramel flan. This is very typical for casas in Cuba as we learned.

THE HOSTS: Roberto sat us down with our LP map and talked us through what to do, where to go and where NOT to go. Him and his wife were very protective of us and cautioned us about cameras, jewellery in Havana - all very sensible. At the time of our stay, Roberto's father in law had a stroke (he lives with them) so it was a very difficult time for the family. Nonetheless they looked after us and we couldn't have asked for more. They also arranged for our transfer to Trinidad on our departure. They are also well networked with other casas throughout Cuba so I recommend asking them for a good place to stay. If they are full they would probably be able to arrange for somewhere in Havana too.

Thanks again Roberto. All the best.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are en suite and others aren't so if you want an en suite room make sure to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcollens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The house is in the Old Havana, steps from the most atractions and restaurants. Roberto and Zoraida are fantastic, with a lot of good tips to give. The house is very clean and the room is big and silent. When I go back to Havana, I'll stay at Colonial 1715, no doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eduardo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed a total of 8 nights over two weeks with Zoraida, Roberto and their family. Arriving in the night after almost 24 hours of travel we were very weary and were happy to step into such a lovely and comfortable home with such a welcoming reception. Also having been doing the backpacking thing we didn't really have much prepared for Cuba so we were much appreciated when Roberto sat us down with a map and gave us suggestions and a basic orientation. I looked forward to the plentiful breakfast every morning i was there and will surely miss them now I am gone. On the language front, I only speak a little Spanish but I found that even the smallest of conversation and chit chat was very much appreciated. Roberto and Zoraida are very patient and willing to help. Much fun was had once we all got acquainted with each other - on a Friday evening a small salsa and reggaeton dance off occurred and it was a fantastic way to end our time with them. You'll find yourself right at home in the heart of Habana Viejo!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megatronic178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikast, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My 2 daughters and I stayed 3 nights with Roberto, Zoraida, Estelle and Papa.
The casa is located in the heart of Old Havana, and you can easily walk around the old town.
It is a very clean casa and nicely everywhere and you feel really wellcome in the family, and they will do whatever possible to help you best way.
The rooms are big, with nice beds and both aircondition and airpropel, possible to choose what to use day and night.
Roberto and Zoraida are good salsa dancers, and when Roberto`s friend came by, there was a small party, where we learned the basic steps of salsa. It was really great fun.
Also you are offered free water in the house, without the risk of getting a stomach ache.
Every morning we filled our water bottles, and therefore saved a lot of money to buy water.
When we go back to Havana, we would not dream of staying anywhere else other than Casa Colonial by Roberto and Zoraida.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BodilUlso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our hosts' first words were "me casa es us casa" and they really meant it. We felt right at home at Casa Colonial and were sad to leave. Both Roberto and Zoraida (and everyone else we met there) were incredibly welcoming and made great efforts to help us become familiar with the local area. The breakfast was wonderful and kept our hunger at bay until way into the afternoon; very good value. Neither I nor my partner are confident Spanish speakers but this didn't stand in our way; Roberto speaks a little English and was patient with our attempts at Spanish.
The room was comfortable and the house itself was beautifully traditional (wonderfully restored by the owners themselves - he was rightfully very proud.) It is also very close to the major sights in Habana Vieja (old town). In short, if you're planning a trip to Havana, forget the overpriced state-run or Spanish hotels and instead immerse yourself in a real Habanero experience. I guarantee you will not regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDAD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I recently stayed in Casa Colonial and had a wonderful time! Roberto and Zoraida were so kind and treated us like family. Our rooms were comfortable and clean and the casa is located in a safe part of town with close proximity to many local shops and sightseeing destinations. Each morning we were served an amazing breakfast with delicious tropical fruits and pastries. Roberto and Zoraida went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of including walking us to restaurants and helping us book other casas as we traveled to other provinces. We had a truly enjoyable experience with top quality service. If you are planning on staying in Havana this is truly the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#25 of 79 in Havana
738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#21 of 79 in Havana
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Hotel Ambos Mundos
#18 of 79 in Havana
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#17 of 79 in Havana
716 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial 1715? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial 1715

Property: Casa Colonial 1715
Address: Lamparilla #324, e/ Aguacate y Compostela | Habana Vieja., Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 690 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa colonial 1715 My house is your house. Colonial house doors are always open for the visitors from all over the world letting them now that here they are going to be treated like family. Location: Our house is located in one of the main streets of the old Havana (Lamparilla Street) just in the very heart of the historic center ¨UNESCO cultural heritage of human kind¨ Just standing in the front door you will have a view of the national capitol who is just 500 meters ahead, also very close is the Central Park, just 200 meters from our house is the Obispo Boulevard the busiest street in Havana were you can find ¨Floridita Bar¨, ¨Café Paris ¨,¨Lluvia de oro ¨ and ¨Bodeguita del Medio¨ also our house is very close from casa de la music, malecon, the most important fortress complex, the main squares of old Havana museums’ and art galleries all the beauty of the colonial times. Services we provide : In our house we rent 2 Rooms with all you need private bathroom (hot and cold water) air-conditioning and safety box warranting your privacyGastronomic services ParkingAirport pick up Price: • We charge 30 CUC per night (3 persons max per room (2 adults and a child)) • Breakfast 4 CUC per person• Lunch or Dinner 8 or 10 CUC• Car parking 2CUC per night• Pick up in the airport 25 CUC (in case you are not using this service make sure the driver take you to the right address. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing