We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good central hotel”
Review of Hotel Telegrafo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Telegrafo
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Havana
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good central hotel”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. We were given a suite of rooms which included a lounge area, a shower room, 2 toilets, a dressing area and the bedroom. We had simply booked a double room so this was a bit of a surprise! The room was comfortable, but like the whole hotel a little dated. The air con was a bit noisy but welcome given how hot it was. It was an internal room with windows over the central space but this was not a problem and no doubt quieter than those over the very busy and noisy street. The hotel is ideally located right in the centre by Parque Centrale , within easy walking distance of the historic part of town with all its bars and restaurants. The staff were helpful and friendly. The bar which included seating out on the street was a great place to have a drink and watch the amazing old cars go by, only downside was the outside bit was often closed, no real problem though as there are plenty of other options all down the street. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, there was also a chef cooking eggs to order. Booked on the internet this was a great location and good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    630
    269
    72
    37
See reviews for
166
671
77
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The location cannot be beat and the price is great. Make SURE you ask for a room with a street view. Half the rooms in this hotel are inside rooms which have windows that look out into a covered courtyard and are depressingly dark. Also, on the weekends the courtyard has a band until 11:30 PM. Shouldn't be a problem in "stay up late" Havana, but a warning, none the less. The water pressure is great in this hotel, the hot water plentiful, and the bathrooms modern. Safes are in the closets in all the rooms and there are wall mounted hair dryers and bathroom amenities (shower cap, extra soap, shampoo etc) . The electricity is 110 (USA Standard) but there is a 220 plug in the bathroom. There was only one reachable electrical plug in my room, so I suggest taking along a power strip if you have cameras/computers etc. BTW, this is a universal rule--I carry a small universal power strip everywhere I travel.

The maids leave your towels in all sorts of animal shapes on your bed : ) Suggested tips for maids is 1-2 CUC/day (around $1.30- $2.30). Don't leave stuff in lieu of a tip. They have tons of left over toothpaste etc. They really, really appreciate the money. (and thus the effort in the towel menagerie that will great you each evening : )

There is one ancient CRT in the lobby that always has someone sitting at it, so don't depend on this hotel for internet connectivity. You can buy internet cards in the business center at the Park Centrale hotel and use their lovely lobby for Wi-Fi while sipping a Mojito. ($7/per one hour card--Wi-Fi is gold in Havana)

So, if you are on a budget and you want a great location, this hotel should serve you very well. However, if you have a bit more money to spurge, stay across the street at the Parke Centrale Hotel and enjoy great rooms and the rooftop pool--and it's still inexpensive by US standards. I have stayed at the Park Centrale in the past and it is great. This stay I was with a photography group when I stayed at the Telegrapho and they determined the hotel--I survived just fine.

Room Tip: Again, I will mention, make CERTAIN you get a street view, not an inside room. Also, the first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
278 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We travelled to Cuba through Friendly Planet’s Colors of Cuba People to People Exchange Tour (fully licensed by the US Treasury Department – only way for regular US Citizens to tour Cuba). We stayed at the Hotel Telegrafo upon our arrival into Cuba and returned to it after our visits to Trinidad and Cien Fuegos. The hotel is in Old Havana just down the street a few blocks from the Cuban Capital Building. The lobby, halls and rooms are nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable but the pillow was very thin. For the first visit we had an inside room that overlooked the bar area – this can lead to lots of noise depending on those in the bar and/or if there is live music (the area is an open space that goes from the bar on the lowest level to the roof – a sound tunnel). The only complaint about the room was that the large shower head was too close to the wall and the shower curtain didn’t hang properly so we ended up with water all over the bathroom floor. We were in Room 202 for this stay.

The breakfast buffet has good breads, yogurt, cheese, cereal, and some of the fruit is good – some it was just not ripe enough. For vegetarians there is far too much meat on the buffet. The tea is not good- recommend that you bring your own – the coffee was weak so if you like it strong either find some good instant – like Starbucks – that you can bring or try and enjoy the weak coffee. There was live music – as with every meal we had – at the breakfast.

On our second stay at this hotel we had an exterior room – Room 208. This room had a view of the street outside the hotel and it was an amazing view of all the old 1950’s cars driving past – Cadillacs, Fords, Chevys, Pontiacs, Edsels, Aston Martins – in various condition, colors and styles – convertibles, hardtops, station wagons, etc. What a sight we could have watched it for hours. This room was very comfortable – with the exception of the very thin pillow - and unlike Room 202, the shower was good and we did not have water all over the floor. The AC worked great in both rooms.

We ate dinner twice at the hotel. The 1st time was our 1st night in Cuba and we had pasta with a marinara sauce – it was good. The 2nd time was upon our return from Cien Fuegos as the Paladar that had been planned by the tour (all but one meal was included in the tour package) was closed for an undisclosed reason. The 2nd meal was not as good as the first – this time the only option for vegetarians was rice with potatoes (oily) and some veggies unless we wanted an omelet (which we didn’t).

With just a few minor issues, overall this is a good hotel to stay at. The Cuban people are very friendly and try to be helpful for the most part. If you get a chance to go to Cuba, on a people to people exchange tour, I can recommend it. It is an eye opening visit, especially the sense of community evident throughout those areas of Cuba we visited and the harmful impact of the US economic war blockade on the Cuban people.

Room Tip: You want a room that overlooks the street in front of the hotel to watch the cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We have booked a double bedroom at this hotel but was told on check-in that only twin room was available, and the receptionist insisted that it was called 'double room'. The room was filled with smell of smoke and in need of serious upgrade.

After staying in the nearby Iberostar Parque Central Hotel which only cost slightly higher(about GBP£15 per night), we felt the saving was really not worthwhile ( Iberostar was fully booked on that day).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellen_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Yes that is the reason for selecting this hotel its bang in the centre all the places you will want to see are walkable. It's not 5 star but its a decent and clean hotel, the only hotel I have ever stayed it that has live music for breakfast a female duet on sax and keyboard!

Pleasant rooms and some mañana staff bit short on enthusiasm and energy, but hey it's Cuba so that's normal. We did 3 night, 2 dYs before taking a flight to the other end of the island for the resort part of the holiday.

You just have to do Havana before it changes or totally disintegrates and sure as hell it will do one or the other there is no place on earth like it. The Telegrafo make a perfect venue for this, give it a go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited for one week in April 2013. Excellent Bed & Breakfast. Fantastic central location (if you stay at the Nacional you have to get taxis everywhere). Brilliant bars within 500 metres. Very good chamber maid.

Room Tip: 2nd floor chambermaid (Elaine) is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingswinford west midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for seven nights in april, first floor at the font overlooking parque central, couldn't fault it.maid excellent clean room food good.only downside no drinks served outside after ten due to the restaurant closing.looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roycran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,603 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,565 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#15 of 79 in Havana
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terral
Hotel Terral
#7 of 79 in Havana
466 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegrafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegrafo

Property: Hotel Telegrafo
Address: Calle Prado 408, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Telegrafo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeneralThe historic city hotel was established in 1860 and was then located on Calle Amistad. Around 1888, it was relocated to its present position on the busy corner of Prado and Neptuno streets. In 1911 the hotel was completely rebuilt, and when it reopened it was regarded by the press of the day as the most modern hotel in the city and ranked amongst the top eleven hotels in Latin America. The hotel of today combines modern and colonial elements in its architecture to create a wonderful unity of present and traditional styles. On offer are a total of 63 comfortable guest rooms with excellent views out over the city. The inner courtyard with the original brickwork of its arches forms an interesting contrast to the new design features. The hotel has a large ceramic mural in the form of a collage, showing elements of Havana's colonial architecture and a fountain which appears to magnify the courtyard and its surrounding ruins. There are 54 standard rooms, three suites, and six junior suites available, in addition to a lobby area with a reception desk manned around the clock, a hotel safe, a cloakroom, a currency exchange facility, and lift access. Guests at this air-conditioned establishment may also take advantage of the restaurant, the snack bar, shop. Also available here is room service (charges apply), a public Internet connection (charges apply), and parking for those arriving by car (charges apply). MasterCard and VISA are accepted as methods of payment.Surrounding AreaA famous institution in Havana since 1888, this hotel has since the early 20th century been considered one of the best in all Latin America. It lies directly beside the beach and is only a few minutes on foot from the ''Museo de Bellas Artes'', the ''Capitolio'', and the ''Gran Teatro de La Habana'', famous for presenting the best opera and ballet performances in the city.Property-InformationThe elegant hotel restaurant specialises in Cuban and international haute cuisine. Its decoration creates a unique place with a classical ambience, ready to welcome guests back at any time. Its appointment with modern furniture creates a timeless atmosphere in the halls with stained glass windows. The restaurant is situated on the ground floor of the building and offers guests a breakfast buffet or an individual breakfast, lunch à la carte, lunch from a set menu (offered for groups), and a set menu in the evening.Room-InformationAll rooms are fitted with an en suite bathroom with a bathtub and hairdryer, centrally regulated air conditioning, a double or king-size bed, cable TV, a telephone, a room safe, a minibar, and either a balcony or terrace as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Gaviota Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Telegrafo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegrafo Hotel Havana
Hotel Telegrafo Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing