We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay here”
Review of Hotel Telegrafo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Telegrafo
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Telegrafo, 3 at the start of our trip and 2 at the end. We were very pleased with our stay. Both rooms were very large and comfortable. They had 2 huge (more than 10' high) windows that opened to beautiful, cool breezes. They overlooked a main street and park, and it was fun to watch the old cars pass below. All rooms are different - some have 2 bathrooms, some overlook the inner "courtyard". The room selection seems to be random - some singles in our group got a room with 2 bathrooms. The beds were extremely comfortable, the pillows sparse. The rooms were spotless. There's a safe in the room.

The front desk is efficient, if not particularly friendly/welcoming. It's easy to exchange money at the front desk - ask for the denominations you prefer. The doormen open the door for you when they feel like it.

The buffet breakfast is good, with fresh omelettes made to order. The dinner, not so. Eat your lunch and dinner elsewhere. The Hotel Parque Central is across the street (they have a great bar on the top floor).

If you are hankering pizza, there is a good place to get pizza or pasta across the street (I can't remember the name of it, but it's across the small street to the left as you leave the hotel). But beware, they like to add-on things that you don't order (bread, for example. if you didn't order and don't want it, refuse it) and will also serve more expensive soda (coca-cola instead of the local cuban cola, or perrier instead of regular bottled water).

The Malecon is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the main street on the 3rd floor - that will give you the ability to watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elaine212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Brilliant location, clean, pleasant staff, 24 hour bar for drinks and snacks, 24 fx, big rooms with beautiful high ceilings. Only spent my first night here but would recommend this hotel to others.

One negative point- The location is very good but the hotel is on a main road and the windows are not sound proof.- recommend to take ear plugs to block out city traffic noise. Other than that a nice place to stay :)

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor, has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasMoon1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently spent 5 nights at Hotel Telegrafo. Very pretty hotel and nicely appointed rooms. Ours had a small balcony which was handy for standing outside and watching the activity in the square. Beds were comfy. They also have dual voltage which was great. Breakfast buffet was very good and the mai-tre d went out of his way to find some powdered decaf coffee for me. He found enough packets to last all week! The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, right on the square and in the middle of everything. Walking distance to good restaurants and sight seeing. The rooms are spacious and bath is nice size. Housekeeping did a good job and each day when we came back she had created a new look with the bedding. That was a fun surprise each day. I would highly recommend this hotel. It also has AC.

Room Tip: having a balcony was really nice. Although our room overlooked a busy street the traffic slowed down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed the first two days here.
The hotel location is in front of Parque Central, convenient area in Havana Vieja.
It seems the hotel was renovated years ago so the room I stayed was beautiful and clean.
The windows of the room were inside where the cafe is located on the first floor so until the cafe is closed, it is kind of noisy.
Several computers are in the lobby and it is the only way to access the internet in Cuba it seemed. Any of my devices did not work.
The second day, when I came back to my room, there was a thank you note and from the person who cleaned the room. That is nice I think.

Room Tip: Rooms are street side may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piccola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for our first night in Cuba. The room was really big and comfortable, the staff were really helpful and we were given a free bottle of rum on arrival for having filled out a really short online questionnaire before arriving. There was a big choice of food for breakfast

Its location is definitely its strongest point as you really are right in the centre of Havana. The tourist desk at the hotel was great and organised our bus to Trinidad and a really nice car tour of Havana itself.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grizzlybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We only spent one night here but it was conveniently situated, the building was nice, the room was comfy and spacious, and the breakfast was fine. We found that it lacked the warmth and service we received in casas (like most Cuban hotels), and it doesn't have the frills of some of the swankier hotels in the area, but it's a safe option if you want a base in central Havana.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is located in the centre of the main tourist area of Havana and most sights are within walking distance.

We stayed at the hotel for three nights bed and breakfast. The bar and restaurant area of the hotel was quite quirky with wall murals and mosaics and the breakfast was good. The two ladies playing Frank Sinatra songs while we ate breakfast added to the unique character.

The rooms were quite spaceous and the bathroom was clean and functional. This hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roaming1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,844 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegrafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegrafo

Address: Calle Prado 408, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $80 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Telegrafo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeneralThe historic city hotel was established in 1860 and was then located on Calle Amistad. Around 1888, it was relocated to its present position on the busy corner of Prado and Neptuno streets. In 1911 the hotel was completely rebuilt, and when it reopened it was regarded by the press of the day as the most modern hotel in the city and ranked amongst the top eleven hotels in Latin America. The hotel of today combines modern and colonial elements in its architecture to create a wonderful unity of present and traditional styles. On offer are a total of 63 comfortable guest rooms with excellent views out over the city. The inner courtyard with the original brickwork of its arches forms an interesting contrast to the new design features. The hotel has a large ceramic mural in the form of a collage, showing elements of Havana's colonial architecture and a fountain which appears to magnify the courtyard and its surrounding ruins. There are 54 standard rooms, three suites, and six junior suites available, in addition to a lobby area with a reception desk manned around the clock, a hotel safe, a cloakroom, a currency exchange facility, and lift access. Guests at this air-conditioned establishment may also take advantage of the restaurant, the snack bar, shop. Also available here is room service (charges apply), a public Internet connection (charges apply), and parking for those arriving by car (charges apply). MasterCard and VISA are accepted as methods of payment.Surrounding AreaA famous institution in Havana since 1888, this hotel has since the early 20th century been considered one of the best in all Latin America. It lies directly beside the beach and is only a few minutes on foot from the ''Museo de Bellas Artes'', the ''Capitolio'', and the ''Gran Teatro de La Habana'', famous for presenting the best opera and ballet performances in the city.Property-InformationThe elegant hotel restaurant specialises in Cuban and international haute cuisine. Its decoration creates a unique place with a classical ambience, ready to welcome guests back at any time. Its appointment with modern furniture creates a timeless atmosphere in the halls with stained glass windows. The restaurant is situated on the ground floor of the building and offers guests a breakfast buffet or an individual breakfast, lunch à la carte, lunch from a set menu (offered for groups), and a set menu in the evening.Room-InformationAll rooms are fitted with an en suite bathroom with a bathtub and hairdryer, centrally regulated air conditioning, a double or king-size bed, cable TV, a telephone, a room safe, a minibar, and either a balcony or terrace as standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telegrafo Hotel Havana
Hotel Telegrafo Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing