We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serves the purpose”
Review of Hotel Telegrafo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Telegrafo
Ranked #11 of 81 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very central hotel that serves the purpose in a big city (Central and Clean). The style of the hotel is very colonial (lovely bar area). Nothing spectacular about the hotel otherwise.
The exchange rate provided in the lobby is very bad but their is a official currency exchange CADECA one minute walk from the hotel (for those who like to queue)

Room Tip: did not know their was a swimming pool and a fitness centre in the hotel???
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed here and also at the Hotel National. This place is my first choice. The staff are efficient and friendly, the rooms large, comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet is adequate and the elevator is slow.

The location is wonderful. Two block walk to the Capital Building, the Barcardi Building is close, Floridita (Hemingway's daquari bar) are close and you can easily walk to the Museum of Revolution.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Don_Francisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

...but only because of the lack of ocean view. Hotel Telegrafo is centrally located in walking distance to most places that one would have to catch a cab if they were staying at Hotel Nacional. Rooms are nice and kept very clean. Easy place to exchange currency. Restaurant and bar were adequate and handy. Safe located in roomy closet. Bathroom has shower in tub and also a bidet. If traveling with a group, the single elevator can sometimes be slower than one is accustom to...but, Hey, they have one AND it works! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laketramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived at the Telegrafo late evening, tired and stressed, as our luggage hadn't arrived with us.The receptionist was friendly and helpful. We had a beautiful room overlooking the main road ( room 309), the room was clean, a little in need of a lick of paint, but still very impressive. The beds were comfortable. The next morning another receptionist was only too happy to telephone the airport for us and try and find out when our luggage would arrive, another receptionist did the same the next morning for us, and later that day when we returned the smile on her face when she saw us come into the reception and she told us we had our bags was priceless. The bar staff were friendly and obliging, the doormen very friendly, the little old lady who looked after the toilets in the bar was always talking to me and smiling, have no idea what she was saying , but she was friendly! Our maid was lovely and made all manner of sculptures with the towels and bedspreads on our return to the room each day. I think it did make a difference if you could speak some Spanish, and if you showed people respect. We had breakfast each day , which was 'interesting' , the best thing to have was definately the omlettes, you wouldn't starve, just some strange combinations of foods on offer, we did eat there one evening, and the set meal was lovely. It's a great location, great being able to sit outside and watch all the cars and people go by, we will definately be going back there, it was so good. We spent a week in Varedero, and when we returned to Havana we had a few hours to kill, and we went back to the hotel and asked if we could leave our bags there, and they were happy to let us do so.
I would recommend this hotel to others for sure, great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jane2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is in a great location for exploring old Havana. The decor in the bar is great. You can sit outside at the restaurant & watch Havana go by. The food is just OK - best to go out the front door, cross the street to your left, & walk down the main street to the Italian/pizza place not even a block away. The rooms are a bit worn but clean & comfortable enough bed. Nice bathrooms with blow dryer. We had street side 3rd floor with great view of plaza a Ross the street. I was worried about noise & sleeping but it quiets down early enough to not be an issue. In many countries I would not rate this a 4 star, but for Cuba I think it is.

Room Tip: 2nd floor street side have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2togoNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the hotel. The rooms have extreme high ceilings. Clean, ok standard and fair price!
Service is below standard. They had a fit when i wanted to take a cup of tea to the room. the guy at the front desk was astonished that we would ask him to order a taxi. and make sure you have your own city map. Watch out for the cockroaches at the breakfast buffet and running across the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stststockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

What we as American expect to find in Cuba is so far from the truth. The Hotel was great, perfect location and fantastic people. It did lack the every haunting need for internet access and 24 x 7 connection to the world to tell everyone every stupid tid bit of useless information but then again after a few days that was OK. The Hotel went out of it's way to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#13 of 81 in Havana
1,681 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 81 in Havana
1,877 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 81 in Havana
3,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegrafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegrafo

Address: Calle Prado 408, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $80 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Telegrafo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeneralThe historic city hotel was established in 1860 and was then located on Calle Amistad. Around 1888, it was relocated to its present position on the busy corner of Prado and Neptuno streets. In 1911 the hotel was completely rebuilt, and when it reopened it was regarded by the press of the day as the most modern hotel in the city and ranked amongst the top eleven hotels in Latin America. The hotel of today combines modern and colonial elements in its architecture to create a wonderful unity of present and traditional styles. On offer are a total of 63 comfortable guest rooms with excellent views out over the city. The inner courtyard with the original brickwork of its arches forms an interesting contrast to the new design features. The hotel has a large ceramic mural in the form of a collage, showing elements of Havana's colonial architecture and a fountain which appears to magnify the courtyard and its surrounding ruins. There are 54 standard rooms, three suites, and six junior suites available, in addition to a lobby area with a reception desk manned around the clock, a hotel safe, a cloakroom, a currency exchange facility, and lift access. Guests at this air-conditioned establishment may also take advantage of the restaurant, the snack bar, shop. Also available here is room service (charges apply), a public Internet connection (charges apply), and parking for those arriving by car (charges apply). MasterCard and VISA are accepted as methods of payment.Surrounding AreaA famous institution in Havana since 1888, this hotel has since the early 20th century been considered one of the best in all Latin America. It lies directly beside the beach and is only a few minutes on foot from the ''Museo de Bellas Artes'', the ''Capitolio'', and the ''Gran Teatro de La Habana'', famous for presenting the best opera and ballet performances in the city.Property-InformationThe elegant hotel restaurant specialises in Cuban and international haute cuisine. Its decoration creates a unique place with a classical ambience, ready to welcome guests back at any time. Its appointment with modern furniture creates a timeless atmosphere in the halls with stained glass windows. The restaurant is situated on the ground floor of the building and offers guests a breakfast buffet or an individual breakfast, lunch à la carte, lunch from a set menu (offered for groups), and a set menu in the evening.Room-InformationAll rooms are fitted with an en suite bathroom with a bathtub and hairdryer, centrally regulated air conditioning, a double or king-size bed, cable TV, a telephone, a room safe, a minibar, and either a balcony or terrace as standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telegrafo Hotel Havana
Hotel Telegrafo Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing