We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not 2nd best”
Review of Hotel Telegrafo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Telegrafo
Ranked #9 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I was disappointed not to be able to book the Park Central after reading the excellent reviews but after the 1st day in the Telegrafo I realised that we much preferred the Telegrafo. If you want the glitz of a posh hotel them by all means stick with the Park Central where I had the best banana daiquiri of the trip but if you want more atmosphere then choose the Telegrafo. Our comfortable room was on the 1st floor at the front and I was apprehensive of traffic noise as my husband is a light sleeper. However it was just a quiet hum and ceased early in the evening. It was very pleasant to stand on the balcony, drink in hand, and watch the world go by. The breakfasts, although not outstanding, were more than adequate with a wide variety. Pastries were heavy but good bread for toast. The bar had a water feature which was cooling if the weather was hot and was more welcoming than the reastaurant and we ate there a couple of times. The food was good and very reasonable. We had coffee on a couple of mornings (coffee in Cuba is good and you can get fresh coffee everywhere) on the terrace at the front of the hotel. The pastry place next door that previous reviews have said was good was full every time and we never found a seat but the Hotel Inglaterra beyond it also has a terrace and does reasonable lunches (one sandwich which came in a baguette was enough for my husband and I too share after a big breakfast). There was often a Cuban group playing here a lunchtime. A small tip is to sit at a back table and you are less likely to be bothered by countless paper sellers. Mind you the 1cuc paper gives the seller a good income and, if you display the paper on the table, you won't be bothered again. We were even given a bottle of fizz, some chocolate and a card from the management for my birthday. A nice touch. Also try the bar attached to the National theatre a few doors along. It does a fantastic value tapas plate to share. Finally, the cheapest coffee of the trip was a little bar on the left-hand back corner as you face the Park Central. It is obviously one the locals use. Food available too but we only discovered the place on our last morning so didn't try this. Oh, and try the organised trip of the city for 19cuc. So much information it brings the city to life for you. If you are lucky enough to get Josh as your guide say hello for us. Enjoy Havana it's great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank suebmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2012

Telegrafo has an incredible location for those who wants to discover Havana walking.The rooms are nice and clean, with a great view (the front ones) to Central Park. The staff helped me with everthing I needed, including sending me to a better hotel (Saratoga) when they didn't have a room avaiable. However, for a hotel that claims to be a four-stars hotel, their services are poor. The breakfast is far from being an avarage one and there is nothing left in the hotel. I could possibly come back to Telegrafo, but I would definitely expect some improvements.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daniel_souza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Rooms were clean,bathrooms needed improvements.First room we had was a corner-room, with a moldy smell.
Power instalation was at 110 Volts; we only had 220 in the bathroom.
Staff was polite but distant.
Breakfast was good, for cuban standards.
Excellent position for exploring the city!

Room Tip: 220 v only in the bathroom!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ovidiu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We returned to Havana for one night and didn't want to pay full-whack at Parque Central or Saratoga and were pleasantly surprised by the Telegrafo. The lobby, bar and restaurant are all very nice and the decor is on the whole more contemporary than the Parque Central. The range of breakfast options is good and when we stayed, was really quick, as was the snack we had a lunchtime on the first day. The only downside is the rooms are smaller and consequently so are the beds. Also, our bed creaked like it was about to collapse, which wasn't conducive to a great night's sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill_Oxted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

just be sure to think "I am in CUba, not in a South Florida hotel..." and all is then ok. Of course the internet service is so slow you can watch the grass grow, the food is horrific except for the made to order eggs at breakfast, and everyone- i mean everyone- is a hustler in this part of town and in all such tourist places...but i would return here. there are better places and for more bucks, the one thing i found just pitiful was to be treated with such surliness by the bar staff and the morning meal wait staff. However, the quiet very obese young waiter on the veranda in the PM was sweet and warm to deal with. can't really say it for the others. And by the way, everyone speaks way more English than they want you to know! But remember- this is Cuba- a totalitarian state with little sophistication- in a time warp for sure until Castro and cronies pass on...and the embargo ends....

Room Tip: outer rooms are fun for the view of the action below but are noisy of course. Inner rooms are also n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank breggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed in the Telegrafo for first 5 nights of our Cuba visit Jan 2012 and found location was ideal for walking around Havana and the main historic sites. Room was good size, comfy bed, plenty of storage space, hot water/shower. Inclusive buffet breakfast good and plentiful but not as much fresh fruit as we had later in our trip. Loved the duo of saxophonist and keyboard player, at breakfast time. BUT oh dear the staff were grim - hardly a smile, they weren't rude but bordering on indifference at best. The Reception staff really couldnt be bothered to answer any question we had even though we were always polite and always tried speaking some Spanish. Dining staff were plodding and unhelpful. One evening, when only 3 tables were occupied in the restaurant, I asked if I could have some soup to take to my husband in our room - he had bronchitis - I was told yes, begrudgingly, but that I must carry it myself and must return the tray and bowl within half an hour! After travelling around, our last night in Cuba was at the Hotel Parque Central in Havana - oh what a difference, fantastic hotel and service with a smile.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

First and foremost, I will throw out there that if you are looking for a 5 star North American standard hotel, you should be looking in the direction of Parque Central or Saratoga. Their lobbies are gorgeous; however, you could be anywhere in the world. It is key to remember that you are in Cuba!

The hotel's location was amazing for our 7 day stay. It is a 2 minute walk from many tourist spots (Floridita, Obispo St, Parque Central etc) plus close enough to more residential areas for smaller restaurants and markets.

Our room was facing the main intersection and was loud. Cars started moving around 7 am but with the window closed, it didn't bug us much. The room was quite large with two single beds (we pushed together and didn't request anything different). TV had enough channels to get by plus the bathroom was a good size. Water pressure was a little lame in the mornings so we mainly did longer showers in the afternoon/early evening with no issue. Our maid was super friendly and we were very happy with her service.

The inside hotel bar isn't the best because it's inside but the bartender was super friendly and explained the science of a mojito. The outside bar of Telegrafo is great for people (or storm) watching. We mainly visited Hotel Inglaterra next door for their lively front patio and live music.

Breakfast was great. I don't understand how anyone could complain about it! Full selection of meats, cheeses, breads, fruit and cereal. Juices changed everyday, coffee got better as we stayed. The best was the friendly man who made eggs (any way you want). Grab a seat on the outside patio and it's perfect.

The reception staff were average - we had no issue; however my boyfriend speaks Spanish. If you only speak English, I would recommend that you take their service with a grain of salt (or sugar perhaps!). I had no issue but I can see why people may think they're rude.

Overall, we were very happy with our decision to stay at Telegrafo...and will probably return. Only reason I would change would be for a pool (Saratoga's rooftop one is stunning) but the price difference may not make it worth it.

Enjoy Havana :) The rum, music and people are fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quinn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,808 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegrafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegrafo

Address: Calle Prado 408, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $213 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Telegrafo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeneralThe historic city hotel was established in 1860 and was then located on Calle Amistad. Around 1888, it was relocated to its present position on the busy corner of Prado and Neptuno streets. In 1911 the hotel was completely rebuilt, and when it reopened it was regarded by the press of the day as the most modern hotel in the city and ranked amongst the top eleven hotels in Latin America. The hotel of today combines modern and colonial elements in its architecture to create a wonderful unity of present and traditional styles. On offer are a total of 63 comfortable guest rooms with excellent views out over the city. The inner courtyard with the original brickwork of its arches forms an interesting contrast to the new design features. The hotel has a large ceramic mural in the form of a collage, showing elements of Havana's colonial architecture and a fountain which appears to magnify the courtyard and its surrounding ruins. There are 54 standard rooms, three suites, and six junior suites available, in addition to a lobby area with a reception desk manned around the clock, a hotel safe, a cloakroom, a currency exchange facility, and lift access. Guests at this air-conditioned establishment may also take advantage of the restaurant, the snack bar, shop. Also available here is room service (charges apply), a public Internet connection (charges apply), and parking for those arriving by car (charges apply). MasterCard and VISA are accepted as methods of payment.Surrounding AreaA famous institution in Havana since 1888, this hotel has since the early 20th century been considered one of the best in all Latin America. It lies directly beside the beach and is only a few minutes on foot from the ''Museo de Bellas Artes'', the ''Capitolio'', and the ''Gran Teatro de La Habana'', famous for presenting the best opera and ballet performances in the city.Property-InformationThe elegant hotel restaurant specialises in Cuban and international haute cuisine. Its decoration creates a unique place with a classical ambience, ready to welcome guests back at any time. Its appointment with modern furniture creates a timeless atmosphere in the halls with stained glass windows. The restaurant is situated on the ground floor of the building and offers guests a breakfast buffet or an individual breakfast, lunch à la carte, lunch from a set menu (offered for groups), and a set menu in the evening.Room-InformationAll rooms are fitted with an en suite bathroom with a bathtub and hairdryer, centrally regulated air conditioning, a double or king-size bed, cable TV, a telephone, a room safe, a minibar, and either a balcony or terrace as standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telegrafo Hotel Havana
Hotel Telegrafo Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing