We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for Havana. Suite was lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Telegrafo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Telegrafo
Ranked #8 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great base for Havana. Suite was lovely!”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

After arriving late at night following 3 flights from Los Angeles we just wanted to get to our room and have a shower and sleep.

Hotel lobby was nice and reception friendly. We then opened the door to our room and were delighted to find we'd been upgraded to a lovely suite overlooking the Parc Central - fantastic and greatly appreciated! There was also a bottle of bubbly, chocs and flowers (it was our honeymoon but we didn't get this treatment everywhere). We sat and drank the bubbly taking in the experience of watching the Havana nightlife from our room - this was a dream come true for my wife.

The suite was large, quiet and clean.

Breakfast was also a surprise and we were very impressed by the buffet spread and the chef on hand to cook eggs however we wished.

Staff were friendly and always offered to get us a taxi if required, but we also enjoyed walking around Havana.

Some tips;

(a) Arriving in Havana - we came via Cancun and bought our visa/travel card at Cancun airport for US$25. Change money at Havana airport. Taxi to town costs CUC25
(b) Getting around - taxis cost CUC5 while the city tour bus is a good start to get your bearings, it also costs CUC5 and can be caught across the road from Telegrapho
(c) Drinks/Bars - we enjoyed mojitos in the garden of Hotel Nacional, afternoon drinks/music at Ingleterra, cocktails in the lobby of Hotel Florida, more mojitos at La Bodeguita del Medio and daquiris at La Floridita (most expensive place)
(d) Tropicana - despite the negative reviews we'd seen on TA we decided this was a must see. I think you have to go with an open mind as we loved it and had a great time with a bunch of Russians at our table. Yes, it's expensive by Cuban standards at CUC70 and a taxi is CUC15 each way but it's a must see!
(e) Vinales - we also took a day tour here for CUC55. Was nice to see another part of Cuba but I'm not sure I'd recommend this tour - was a long day
(f) Restaurants - the only place I'd recommend was Sociedad Asturiana Castropol at 107 Calle Malecon where we had a great bbq platter. Neptune y Prado next to Hotel Telegrapho was disappointing with poor service. Also tried a local restaurant on San Rafael but it was dreadful and they ripped us off!!!
(g) Jazz Club - was okay but didn't get going till ~11:30pm I think

Room Tip: If you're going for a special occasion tell them and you may be lucky and get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IslanderOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    621
    262
    68
    36
See reviews for
159
657
77
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We stayed here earlier in November. Location is ideal, as the old town is a pleasant stroll away down characterful streets, and the Capitolio, Parque Central and Cigar Factory are right by the hotel.

Breakfast was plentiful and the omelette/egg station was a good bet. Our room was dated, but serviceable and clean. There are no plugs in the sink, but that is standard apparently! Beds are not as comfortable as they could be, but perfectly good enough. Plenty of hot water.

They did try to overcharge us for bottles of water they claimed they had supplied to our mini bar. The exact same trick was tried with my friends room too. We just refused to pay for anything we hadn't had, and the issue was over.

Exchange rate for cuban convertible pesos is better in other hotels (e.g. Parque Central Hotel over the road).

Mojito's in the hotel bar were awful. Recommend the rooftop bar at the Hotel Parque Central instead.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Hotel Telegrafo lies on Parque Central, right on the boundary between Havana Vieja (the main tourist area) and Centro (quite a few museums, galleries, theatres etc. amid major public buildings & businesses). There is an argument that this location would be perfect for a second visit to Havana, because on a first visit most of the "must-see" attractions are in Vieja. Having said that, La Floridita is one block away and from there it's a 10-15 minute walk along Calle Obispo to the core of Vieja. One hidden bonus is that if you're hiring a car to go further afield the road outside the hotel leads directly to the Bay Tunnel and thus onto the ring road, allowing access to the major routes out of Havana without blundering about in Havana City's notoriously poorly signposted streets.
The hotel itself is run by Habaguanex, the top-end state hotel chain which belongs to the Office of the Havana City Historian. Thus profits from your stay go directly to the restoration of the city's many wonderful buildings - this is how the Telegrafo's own renovation was funded, and they've done a very nice job.
Reception staff were quick and efficient on our arrival and our second-floor rooms were quite spacious and fiercely air-conditioned. The bed, however, was just okay and some of the decor was a bit tired. The bathroom didn't look that great but there was plenty of hot water and everything worked. Our rooms were at the back of the building and had no view, although on the plus side they had no problem with noise from outside - Parque Central is busy day & night.
The hotel is built around a vast central courtyard/atrium housing the bar. I'm afraid this is fairly characterless and the mojitos scored poorly on our assiduously maintained Mojito Index. Maybe the good barman was on his day off; other reviewers have been more complimentary.
Breakfast is buffet-style and plentiful if uninspiring, although the freshly-cooked omelettes were good. Service is very variable - one morning fine, the next day surly and uninterested.
Overall, we liked the Telegrafo and would stay there again. There are a few issues which, if addressed, would move it up a notch in quality but it's decent value for what it offers.

Room Tip: For stunning views across Parque Central, choose a room at the front. For peaceful sleep, the West-f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vandervecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor. It was adequate. The breakfast was the best that we had at any hotel in Cuba. The staff was friendly and ready to help. It is a long walk from the pedestrian (and prettiest ) part of old Havana, but it has easy access to transportation and the tour bus has a stop across the street. We did not have any problems with the shower. For a Cuban hotel, it was not bad. (we have to understand that our expectations have to be lowered when we go to Cuba)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed at the Telegrafo and had a fantastic view from my room in 106, should I return in the future Havana, definitely request the same room. I found the staff very helpful and friendly. Couldn't work out how to use the safe and had help in no time. There were a selection at breakfast for everyone, even a picky eater like myself. Most impressed with the creativeness of my towel each day. To the Staff at Telegrafo from reception to room attendance; Well Done.

Room Tip: if you like the hussle and bustle and a good view to watch it all, then room 106 overlooking Parque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simmondsjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Arrived after 8 hr flight shower did not work no plugs so a bath was out as well moved to another room still no plugs but could shower noisy room over looking bar on level 1 bed side lights did not work and very thin 4ft mattress for 2 people.
Returned to hotel after a few days at cayo coco still no plugs this is our 3rd room there cracked sink bath needed re-glazing safe did not work room thermostat broken bedside lights not working.
Checked out at 12 asked if we had any confirmation about our pick up to airport was told no asked again to make sure and another receptionist overheard and gave me a letter that we should have been given at check in we should have met our rep at 9.30 am that morning so missed them.
Food is not great tea is like dish water mattresses are thin and covered in plastic.some staff are friendly but on the whole not helpful at all.
the only good thing about the hotel is the location so my advice is to spend a bit more and upgrade to
Parque central

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

I stayed here mid October and was happy with the hotel. I had requested a room overlooking the square and this had been complied with, the room was a good size and kept very clean. The male reception persons I found especially good, the youngest helped me with a dodgy computer and the older man lent me an umberella when I was locked out of my room and wished to go out.(one problem with my room 311 was the door lock kept breaking and each time took half and hour at least to be tinkered with, so if you are going soon beware of that room.) The breakfast was good for Cuba but I found the coffee a very mixed bag, one day good, next very thin. But for me the placement of the hotel was the best thing about it, situated in the centre and within walking distance of most of old Havana.

Room Tip: Best rooms for me were on the front, back rooms face into an enclosed courtyard which can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daytripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
1,519 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
3,509 reviews
5.4 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#20 of 78 in Havana
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegrafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegrafo

Property: Hotel Telegrafo
Address: Calle Prado 408, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Telegrafo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeneralThe historic city hotel was established in 1860 and was then located on Calle Amistad. Around 1888, it was relocated to its present position on the busy corner of Prado and Neptuno streets. In 1911 the hotel was completely rebuilt, and when it reopened it was regarded by the press of the day as the most modern hotel in the city and ranked amongst the top eleven hotels in Latin America. The hotel of today combines modern and colonial elements in its architecture to create a wonderful unity of present and traditional styles. On offer are a total of 63 comfortable guest rooms with excellent views out over the city. The inner courtyard with the original brickwork of its arches forms an interesting contrast to the new design features. The hotel has a large ceramic mural in the form of a collage, showing elements of Havana's colonial architecture and a fountain which appears to magnify the courtyard and its surrounding ruins. There are 54 standard rooms, three suites, and six junior suites available, in addition to a lobby area with a reception desk manned around the clock, a hotel safe, a cloakroom, a currency exchange facility, and lift access. Guests at this air-conditioned establishment may also take advantage of the restaurant, the snack bar, shop. Also available here is room service (charges apply), a public Internet connection (charges apply), and parking for those arriving by car (charges apply). MasterCard and VISA are accepted as methods of payment.Surrounding AreaA famous institution in Havana since 1888, this hotel has since the early 20th century been considered one of the best in all Latin America. It lies directly beside the beach and is only a few minutes on foot from the ''Museo de Bellas Artes'', the ''Capitolio'', and the ''Gran Teatro de La Habana'', famous for presenting the best opera and ballet performances in the city.Property-InformationThe elegant hotel restaurant specialises in Cuban and international haute cuisine. Its decoration creates a unique place with a classical ambience, ready to welcome guests back at any time. Its appointment with modern furniture creates a timeless atmosphere in the halls with stained glass windows. The restaurant is situated on the ground floor of the building and offers guests a breakfast buffet or an individual breakfast, lunch à la carte, lunch from a set menu (offered for groups), and a set menu in the evening.Room-InformationAll rooms are fitted with an en suite bathroom with a bathtub and hairdryer, centrally regulated air conditioning, a double or king-size bed, cable TV, a telephone, a room safe, a minibar, and either a balcony or terrace as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Telegrafo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegrafo Hotel Havana
Hotel Telegrafo Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing